We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B in a good location”
Review of Cottage Heights

Cottage Heights
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Heights
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B in a good location”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst touring Ireland. The room was comfortable and clean and the view over the harbour was amazing. The breakfast compared to other B&Bs we stayed at during our trip was quite poor both in terms of options and quality. We also had to wait for 20 minutes when we arrived at the B&B (at the time specified) as there was no-one to let us in.

We had an evening meal at the B&B which also doubles as the 'Cottage Heights Restaurant' - the seafood was very nice although in hindsight potentially a little on the expensive side. It may be worth exploring local options in Castletownbere.

Tim and Mary were both friendly and really helped us out when we unfortunately had a puncture, arranging to have the local garage come and repair it for us.

If you are staying at Cottage Heights I would also highly recommend McCarthy's Bar in the centre of the town.

Overall, a comfortable B&B in a good location that was unfortunately let down for us by an uninspired breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'Sea View'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ansley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We, a group of five stayed there last week, arrived late in the day. They made every effort and provided us with clean and comfortable accomodations. We are not exagerating when we say that the food was the best we had in Ireland. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Cottage Heights for one night with relatives and we had a very pleasant stay. The B&B was wonderful and the rooms where clean and we had a wonderful view of the harbour. The food was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Mary and Tim are great host and hostess and very welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed going down to the Millbrook Pub. We will be returning on our next trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: Rm 4 has a door to the outside and view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My partner and I stay at Cottage Heights every time we visit the Beara Peninsula. Cottage Heights is a charming B&B which has spectacular views of Bere Island and Castletownbere Harbour. Mary and Tim are very welcoming hosts and go out of their way to ensure that our stay is always enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and most importantly they are spotless. There is also a restaurant at Cottage Heights. The menu is reasonably priced and there is a choice between a set early-bird menu or the A-la-carte menu. There is great choice in the menu. The food is delicious with very satisifying portion sizes. There is also an excellent choice of wines. The service is very efficient and friendly. For those looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with great food, reasonable prices and breathtaking views, Cottage Heights is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Cottage Heights for 3nights. Had a v pleasant stay. Both our rooms were spacious, v clean, and well supplied with extra bedlinen and towels.My room had a lovely harbour view. The restaurant was cosy and inviting,& had choice of vegetarian dishes which I was v happy with. Theres plenty on site parking.The location was perfect,it's v quiet and peaceful and just a ten minute walk from the town.The owner was v friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome.I would definitely recomend this B+B

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange11941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at Cottage Heights recently. It was fully booked while I was there,which is always a good sign. During dinner one evening I got chatting with a couple who told me every time they visit West Cork they stay there as they are guaranteed excellent service and food each time. I also had a v enjoyable stay , my room and bathroom were spotless. I dined at the restaurant afew evenings+was impressed by the varied selection the menu had to offer-something to suit everyone+plenty of it! Mary, the owner, was extremely hospitable and went out of her way to give me tips on places to go to make the most of my trip. Would definitely stay here if I travel to Castletownbere again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oufa_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I don't think they stayed at the same place I stayed. I was there with a Bike Tour group. Two lousy nights on beds that felt like box springs. Cob webs in the hall way and a shower that didn't drain, so it was dirty when I got there. The food was margninal...and the owner, Mary, seemed impositioned with the smallest of requests. The only time she seemed interested was when it was time to pay the tab. And did I mention the sewage draining across the driveway?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownbere
0.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
16.8 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
19.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island View House
Island View House
#3 of 8 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Hungry Hill Lodge and Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Heights

Property: Cottage Heights
Address: Derrymihan, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B accommodation with sea views & en suite rooms attached to our A La Carte restaurant overlooking Bantry Bay & Bere Island. Situated close to the centre of Castletownbere on the beautiful Beara penninsula this is an ideal base for exploring the West of Cork and Kerry. The restaurant specialises in locally caught seafood & has a special resident's menu of 17.50 for 2 courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cottage Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing