We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottage Heights

Cottage Heights
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Heights
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My partner and I stay at Cottage Heights every time we visit the Beara Peninsula. Cottage Heights is a charming B&B which has spectacular views of Bere Island and Castletownbere Harbour. Mary and Tim are very welcoming hosts and go out of their way to ensure that our stay is always enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and most importantly they are spotless. There is also a restaurant at Cottage Heights. The menu is reasonably priced and there is a choice between a set early-bird menu or the A-la-carte menu. There is great choice in the menu. The food is delicious with very satisifying portion sizes. There is also an excellent choice of wines. The service is very efficient and friendly. For those looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with great food, reasonable prices and breathtaking views, Cottage Heights is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at Cottage Heights for 3nights. Had a v pleasant stay. Both our rooms were spacious, v clean, and well supplied with extra bedlinen and towels.My room had a lovely harbour view. The restaurant was cosy and inviting,& had choice of vegetarian dishes which I was v happy with. Theres plenty on site parking.The location was perfect,it's v quiet and peaceful and just a ten minute walk from the town.The owner was v friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome.I would definitely recomend this B+B

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange11941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at Cottage Heights recently. It was fully booked while I was there,which is always a good sign. During dinner one evening I got chatting with a couple who told me every time they visit West Cork they stay there as they are guaranteed excellent service and food each time. I also had a v enjoyable stay , my room and bathroom were spotless. I dined at the restaurant afew evenings+was impressed by the varied selection the menu had to offer-something to suit everyone+plenty of it! Mary, the owner, was extremely hospitable and went out of her way to give me tips on places to go to make the most of my trip. Would definitely stay here if I travel to Castletownbere again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oufa_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I don't think they stayed at the same place I stayed. I was there with a Bike Tour group. Two lousy nights on beds that felt like box springs. Cob webs in the hall way and a shower that didn't drain, so it was dirty when I got there. The food was margninal...and the owner, Mary, seemed impositioned with the smallest of requests. The only time she seemed interested was when it was time to pay the tab. And did I mention the sewage draining across the driveway?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koeln, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

After a very long travel day to the area and an unfortunate experience at a reserved B&B, we ended up driving about looking for another B&B in Castletownbere. On the spot, we were welcomed to stay at Cottage Heights and were given a choice between two available en-suite rooms. I can honestly say right place at the right time indeed, for the choice of room was good, and one can not find a more welcoming atmosphere. This B&B has a small, cozy restaurant as well serving dinner. The meal portions were quite satisfying and tasted delicious. The menu choice served both of our dietary needs as one of us is a vegetarian. As in most B&B establishments, breakfast was included in our quoted rate, and I would like to say that the menu offers a traditional Irish breakfast along with a light breakfast for those on 'the go'. Overall, this is a B&B for those looking for a welcoming atmosphere, very tasty meals, a good night's sleep, and last but not least outstanding sight-seeing tips given by the owners.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were cycling the Ring of Bearra (prearranged individual tour, luggage was transported for us) and were booked in that hotel for 2 nights. We had the opportunity to stay there for a third night and spontaniously opted for it: If you choose that B&B, ask for the room with two windows and one door to the garden. Then you will get a super view on the sea, on the small island in front of the coast and a very, very nice garden - in addition to a bright, large room.
We loved that room and could have stayed there for some more days - wonderful!
Btw: Also the breakfast is very nice - a bit unconventional, as they also offer fish (among other options).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenja_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Lovely B&B and restaurant just a few mins walk outside Castletownbere. Views are spectacular customer service very good. Rooms lovely for a B&B great value for money! Restaurant is lovely in the evening food is excellant great choice from both an al la carte menu and very reasonable set menu. Setting is beautiful! Breakfast is also very good! This is one def not to be missed if visiting Beara will def be returning!

Room Tip: Book room 1 and book dinner at the patio table
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownbere
0.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
16.8 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
19.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Island View House
Island View House
#3 of 8 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Hungry Hill Lodge and Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Heights

Property: Cottage Heights
Address: Derrymihan, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B accommodation with sea views & en suite rooms attached to our A La Carte restaurant overlooking Bantry Bay & Bere Island. Situated close to the centre of Castletownbere on the beautiful Beara penninsula this is an ideal base for exploring the West of Cork and Kerry. The restaurant specialises in locally caught seafood & has a special resident's menu of 17.50 for 2 courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cottage Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing