We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Island View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island View House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Denis, the owner is very friendly! He gave us a great welcome and enough information. The rooms are cosy and especially: they have very good beds!! You can relax in the sitting room with a cup of tea. You should try fish for breakfast, since Castletownbere is a haven and the fishes are great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice place to stay in Castletownbere, only breakfast was just ok. I ordered an omelette which was greasy and was made rather as a pancake, also bread was dry and not fresh. But there was enough muesli, fruit and yogurts and also toast were very good. Beds very comfortable, we had a room with a double and a single bed so the size was ok, but I saw a room next door with a double bed and it was very small.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights - arriving late on Saturday evening but greeted by a smiling Denis who despite have a busy house made us extremely welcome!
The house is clean - homely but also tooled up for wi-fi - Denis is an exceptional host - he is never intrusive - attentive without making you feel watched! His breakfasts are just fantastic and meant that we couldnt/didnt eat for the rest of the day.
He is an expert on the Beara Pennisula and when asked gave us many interesting and useful tips.
He runs a very relaxed - home from home - nothing fancy just honest to goodness hospitality
at very good value.
The only down side - he wouldnt let me take his dog home - fell in love with him but he isnt for leaving Island View - he knows where the grub is!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house - no noise from traffic - all of the rooms looked really com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1981Lillian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convenient to downtown with plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. Room was clean but tiny - hard for two people to get around bags and each other. Minimal floor space for stretching after a long day's walk. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Service was efficient, helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNCHMSUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 4 day fishing trip on The Peninsular last weekend. Dennis welcomed us warmly even though we were late arriving (0015!!).
The breakfast in the morning was fabulous and enough food to see most people right for a week!!
The room we had was excellent, a single and a double bed, an ensuite, a table and chairs, a TV and tea and coffee making facilities just in the hallway.
The whole place was spotless and fresh linen provided daily.
The area is simply stunning, the fishing was wonderful and Dennis is without doubt an absolute gentleman. He provided us with plenty of information, and also allowed us use of a freezer in one of the outhouses, (essential for freezing freshly caught fish down)!
All that I can add is that I would not hesitate to stay here again and again, with the location being ideal, a 2 minute walk from the harbour and the shops (and Bars of course for a pint or two of "The Black Stuff). Dennis, thankyou again for making our stay absolutely memorable.!!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 in the bungalow at the back of the houes, but I really don't think it would ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobndebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After three days of walking the Beara Way in heavy downpour, we needed a place to relax for two days, and just to enjoy ourselves in order to stay motivated. The Island View House offered all this. Nice clean room, splendid breakfast, beautiful living room, and a location of the finest, quiet and overlooking the bay. The only flaw is an efficient but rather impersonal service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterp_knobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a long bikingtrip from Kenmare over the Healy Pass we were very greatful for having such a nice and warm welcome in Castletownbere. The room was nice and clean, we loved to have a chat over a cup of tea in the evening. We never had a fish for breakfast before! ;-) Thank you Denis, for having us stay at Island View!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownbere
0.2 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
209 reviews
11.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
17.0 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cottage Heights
Cottage Heights
#4 of 8 in Castletownbere
43 reviews
5.6 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House

Address: Knockanroe, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island View House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be assured of a friendly welcome and high standard of accommodation. Island View House is a relaxing, comfortable, friendly family run, with superb view's and ample parking facilities. Relax and take in the view from the Bantry bay guestroom. Ireland's No 1 breakfast with fresh fish on menu. Island View House aims to exceed expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Island View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing