We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot in a lovely town”
Review of Island View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island View House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The perfect B&B for a traveler looking for a personal touch with the best Full Irish on the Beara Peninsula, and the best homemade brown bread in the world. Room was comfortable with a great shower, and the living room with coffee/tea any time of day and beautiful view of the harbor was the perfect spot after the day's activities.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a perfect B & B for exploring the surrounding areas, and owner Denis is an avid walker and only too happy to assist with advice and directions. Previous reviews referring to the quality of his panfried fresh fish for breakfast were entirely correct, and after 7 days in a row of full Irish breakfasts I was happy to try the fish for a change and it was really excellent. The room was comfortable and one of the other guests commented at breakfast that she had experienced the best sleep of her month in Ireland. There is wifi and also a laptop for guest use in the lounge. Perfect location for walking down to the justly famous McCarthy's Bar - where on the last Thursday of each month you can experience a session of folk music in the back room from local musicians. To find the B & B keep an eye out for the Hole in The Wall bar as you drive through town on the main road, and there is a small lane way with an equally small sign with Island View B & B on it just beyond the bar. I would highly recommend Island View to anyone heading to Castletownbere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Dennis, a great host !
Great room, had room 1 with a view of Bear Island ¨
the best breakfast you could wish for. You must try the fish dishes that Dennis serves.... unbelievable.
His homemade bread should be patented !
Free Tea, coffee and Internet access available in Lounge !
Unfortunately only here for two nights. Would have loved to stay longer...
Hopefully will be able to return again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were on a biking trip of the South West of Ireland and our stay at Island View was really excellent.
Our room was en-suite, spacious and very comfortable.
The breakfast was outstanding with a choice of full Irish; freshly caught pan fried fish -which was gorgeous; pancakes and lots more.
We were made extremely welcome and treated as part of the family.
Nothing was too difficult for our host.
I would highly recommend this accomodation.
Thank you for a great stay
M

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I cant say enough good things about this B&B. Food was great, and Denis, the host, is extremely warm, generous and helpful. He even took the time to help us with a bit of genealogical research and connect us with people in the area. Truly one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiredrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Very nice place, a good home in the beautiful beara peninsula! Nice choice of five irish breakfast, very clean room and we got a very luxurious bathroom with whirlpool. Insuite tv and free wifi. The host is a very friendly man with a great passion for hiking.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tokkeherfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Island View B&B in Castletownbere for 5 nights May 26-31, 2010. This was our 5th trip to Ireland/England and was our third time staying with Denis Hanafin at Island View. Denis never disappoints. His breakfasts are the best. We mean that quite literally. We travel extensively in Ireland and the UK and there is no better breakfast anywhere. There are several major choices on the menu, all prepared by Denis who is professionally trained. They include a magnificent white fish fillet which is totally unique to Island View. We have never had a similar breakfast anywhere. There are waffles, pancakes,omelets and the usual cereals, etc. He bakes homemade brown bread. He cooks and presents any of these dishes with great skill and good cheer. We are avid hikers, expending a lot of energy during the day and the breakfast still carried us through to dinner time.

This visit we had the Dingle Room which is one of his nicest rooms and has a lovely view out to Bere Island. But all of his rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and extremely clean. The B&B is quiet and situated on a very nice and private property.

Island View is literally behind the main street and is a 2 minute walk to the shops, pubs and restaurants. You cannot get a better location in Castletownbere.

Denis caters to outdoorsy folks, especially hikers and bicyclists. He is very knowledgeable about places to hike, bicycle and the ferries to Bere Island.

In addition to all of those good things, Denis is an exceptionally nice man. We saw him help out some German tourists who had a sudden death in their family and had to get to the distant Cork Airport ASAP. My wife and I also experienced our own emergency when my wife needed medical attention in this quiet and rural part of Ireland. Denis made the necessary telephone calls to the on-call rural doctors service. The doctor quickly responded and opened up the small clinic in town on a Saturday morning. We were very grateful for Denis' help in a very stressful situation far from home.

Castletownbere and the Beara are among our favorite places on the planet and we look forward to returning there and staying at Island View again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DnAAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownbere
0.2 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
219 reviews
5.6 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Cottage Heights
Cottage Heights
#4 of 8 in Castletownbere
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
101 reviews
0 mi away
Rodeen Country House
Rodeen Country House
#8 of 8 in Castletownbere
14 reviews
2.1 mi away
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Castletownbere
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House

Address: Knockanroe, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Price Range: $67 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island View House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be assured of a friendly welcome and high standard of accommodation. Island View House is a relaxing, comfortable, friendly family run, with superb view's and ample parking facilities. Relax and take in the view from the Bantry bay guestroom. Ireland's No 1 breakfast with fresh fish on menu. Island View House aims to exceed expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Island View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing