We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage
Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Cottage front door
A glass of wine on the patio
The fully equipped kitchen area
Dining & seating area
Sitting area
Dining & seating area
Double bedroomn
Access to the mezzanine bed loft
Mezzanine bed loft with twin beds
Shower room
Hungry Hill & local beach
Local sandy beach
View from the Buddhist Centre
Local view
Local view
The Healey Pass
Local view
Rush hour on Hungry Hill
Local view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
marthemar...
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family of 4 (with 2 boys aged 13 and 8) enjoyed a wonderful week in Four Directions Cottage. The cottage is old and extremely cosy, with wonderful attention to detail. The boys loved sleeping in the loft space and spent lots of time reading in their cosy beds. The location is perfect for walkers like us: a little further up the country lane where the cottage is situated starts the climb up Hungry Hill. We also enjoyed walking parts of the Beara Way on Dursey Island, and visiting lovely Derreen Gardens. The views over Bere Island from the cottage are amazing. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, and we really appreciated the small touches (fresh flowers in the cottage, starter pack with milk and bread, wood for the fire). Would love te come again one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham D
1 review
“Great stay, great value”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Four Directions Cottage was the perfect stay for touring the Beara Peninsula and surrounds. The area is full of scenic drives and walks without being overcrowded with tourists. The cottage contained everything required for our 10 day stay, as well as fantastic views and easy access to treks through the sheep grazing pastures and hills backing the cottage. Laraine and Mick were the friendliest of hosts and most helpful in advising about what to do and where to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetlandm...
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage vin a lively location”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just stayed in the cottage for a week. It was the first week of a 3 -week break and, if you love walking as we do, the location is superb with many good walks in the area with access to the Beara Way within a short distance from the front door.
The property is an old one but modernised to provide comfortable accommodation. There were just the two of us and we didn't make use of the bedroom space in the loft but any older children staying in the cottage would love to sleep there.
The view across to Bere Island, when the weather was kind, was excellent and having a drink on the two comfortable outside chairs, whilst gazing across to the island is highly recommended.
The hosts were friendly and welcoming and are rightly proud of how they have transformed the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Hi David and Fiona,
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a great review which is much appreciated.
We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and thank-you again for choosing to stay in our cottage.
Very best wishes,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Idyllic walk back in time!”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our stay at the Four Directions Cottage , even though it was lamentably only for one night, was one of our very favorite on our 20 day trip to Scotland and Ireland! The cottage, gorgeously restored, is nestled above Bantry Bay and below the atmospheric Hungary Hill- such a unique experience! Light filled, spacious for our family of 3, clean and cozy in the inside, rustic yet well manicured on the outside with its own garden and yard situated in quiet privacy. The beds were comfortable-our daughter loved the loft sleeping area! So did we! We almost had to fight her for it! There are plenty of books, games, and information on every local offering you can think of, in the cottage. Fresh eggs, milk, butter, jams, bread, tea and coffee to start our morning. This is simply the most perfect place to explore all that Castletownbere and the Beara Peninsula has to offer! It literally broke my heart to leave after such a brief stay…and I am left longing to return to this idyllic place. Thank you, Larraine and Mick, for your warm hospitality and for the wonderful cottage experience that you have created!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Hi Dana,
Wow! What a pleasure it was to read your lovely review!
It was most kind of you to write such kind and positive comments which are very much appreciated.
It was a pleasure to meet you all and thank-you too for being great guests.
You will always be most welcome back any time in the future if you decide to return to Ireland for another holiday.
All the best,
Laraime and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackPacke...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with breathtaking views”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage itself was ideal for our stay and equipped with everything we could want. It was immaculate, very clean and tidy, and very cosy and inviting.
What I'll remember most is the view - absolutely stunning!
We were glad we had a car to make the most of our stay. We drove into Castletownbere on most days for supplies and the odd pint. (I'd highly recommend Murphy's restaurant for food.)
The surrounding countryside is wonderful and wild, with amazing views around every corner. We even had a beach to ourselves one day - this is not a hugely touristy place, especially in low season.
We loved our week in the cottage and we hope to visit again some day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Hi Donna,
Wow! What a great review you have written for us. It was most kind of you to spare the time to write it.
We do find our reviews are always very helpful for future enquiries and bookings.
We are really pleased you have a lovely time here and you liked the cottage and the surroundings so much.
We hope to meet you both again in the future and wish you all the very best.
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kasander2...
Pulheim, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and most perfect hosts”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We, a family of 4, have spent 12 wonderful days in the Four Directions Cottage and we enjoyed it so much. It was clean, fully equipped and very nicely decorated. It is located in a very quiet area, ca. 900m away from the Ring of Beara. Laraine and Mick are the most perfect hosts, so friendly and helpful. There is a lot to see and do on the Beara Peninsula and most of it is within a 45 minutes driving range. A very beautiful walking loop on and around the hungry hill starts directly at the cottage. We recommend this place and would love to come back one day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Hi Karsten and Steffi,
It was great to hear you all arrived home safely.
Thank-you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were so pleased when we read it and we're always happy to know our guests have had a good holiday here.
Once again we do hope to meet you all again in the future.
Very best wishes,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two weeks in Berea Peninsula.”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Unfortunately, This the third time I have tried to put in a review. But, here I go again. Are stay was terrific. Lovely cottage with the most fantastic view. We stayed for three weeks and had the best time. The owners are lovely people, who were available if any problems arose. The cottage was as clean as could be. My husband likes to cook, but there was only one fry pan, so he brought one for frying breakfast eggs. Other than that the cottage is nearly perfect. Look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Hi Patricia,
Thank-you very much for your lovely review.
We are so sorry you had a problem getting it published. However it was very kind of you to write it.
We'd just like to say that if you had asked we would of course given you one of our own frying pans to use during your stay. But it was so generous of you to leave us a new one for the cottage.
We do hope you have a great time in Scotland and London and we very much look forward to meeting you again next time you come.
All the very best to you both,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing