We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb - cottage is secluded and extremely...”
other travelers have booked this property
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Four Directions Cottage with Hungry Hill in the background
Four Directions Cottage
Breakfast on the patio overlooking Bantry Bay
Cottage front door
A glass of wine on the patio
The fully equipped kitchen area
Dining & seating area
Sitting area
Dining & seating area
Double bedroomn
Access to the mezzanine bed loft
Mezzanine bed loft with twin beds
Shower room
Hungry Hill & local beach
Local sandy beach
View from the Buddhist Centre
Local view
Local view
The Healey Pass
Local view
Rush hour on Hungry Hill
Local view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
F K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb - cottage is secluded and extremely comfortable - with everything you could need available.”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If you are in need of a break and want a quiet spot to rest and recover then this is it. Superb location that provides wonderful views combined with all the comforts required to allow you to get away from it all but not having to rough it. The views are amazing and this little gem is ideal for a solo traveller looking for peace and quiet, couples seeking a romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of city life or a family of four who just want to experience country cottage living in one of the most beautiful and unspoilt parts of west Cork. The owners could not have been nicer and were welcoming and helpful but stayed away unless needed. The welcome pack of food was brilliant as it meant not having to shop on the drive down or worry about not having anything to eat when arriving late. WiFi , TV and heating meant I could both work and rest in a home away from home. If you are looking for a well fitted out cottage for a taste of country living on the Beara Peninsula then look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the views - sitting out in the evenings in the garden.
Liked least: Could not stay longer
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHillWalk...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Irish Holiday”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I and our baby daughter stayed at 4 Directions in August for 2 weeks. We had a brilliant time, the cottage is so cosy and well equipped. There was literally nothing we could think of that the house lacked and the location is breathtaking, I even took on the climb of Hungry Hill, the stunning backdrop to the house. We did all ten trips on Mick and Laraine's recommended list of things to do, just a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We can't live there :)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMIESHAY
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, beautiful cottage inside and out and the owners are two of the nicest people you could hope to meet”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't say enough about this location, it's a great spot to stay with breath taking scenery in every direction. Laraine and Mike couldn't have made us and our two children feel more welcome, they're a truly lovely couple who couldn't be more helpful, the standard which they keep the cottage is excellent. They both work extremely hard to provide their guests with a truly wonderful memorable experience while staying at their cottage. This was our second stay at Four Directions and certainly won't be our last.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snug and Cosy.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Four Directions for a week in July.From the moment we arrived we felt so relaxed in the little cottage.It provided us with everything we needed to enjoy our stay,a lovely welcome pack,such a comfortable bed,plenty of information on surrounding area and also surrounded by very beautiful scenery.Mick and Laraine were wonderful hosts making sure we had everything we needed without being intrusive.Overall it was such an enjoyable week and we would highly recommend this cosy cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence_M...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A marvelous holiday!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The first intention when we arrived was: "We are at home". The cottage's interior is a well done mixture between modern and traditional. Our hearty hosts Laraine and Mick prepared with dedication the cottage and provided a welcome pack with fresh bread, marmalade, eggs, coffee and tea. We appreciated the bunches of flowers freshly cut from the garden and we felt very welcomed. We had beautiful sunshine and warm weather and every morning we ate breakfast on the terrace and enjoyed the stunning view over the shore. A lot of information on the area with ideas and things to do were provided and both told us some ideas which we wouldn't have known from the guide books. The cottage itself is the perfect spot to discover the whole Beara-Peninsula as it is located on the Ring of Beara and near Castletownbere. We had a wonderful and relaxing holiday and would like to come back some day and definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace in front of the cottage with the stunning view over the shore
Liked least: Everything was fine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solarston...
Traunstein, Bayern
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A really really beautiful cottage in a quiet place. It is about 150 years old an new refurbished. Just what you should expect from a traditional Irish cottage! It has everything you need for a stay - washer/dryer, microwave, freezer, wood-burning-stove, electrical heating, sat-TV and a really nice welcome package with fresh bread, eggs, milk and marmalade. The friendly owners live just around the corner in a separate building are always there in case you need anything. The cottage is clean and tidy and the furnishing is nice, light and modern: White washed stone walls, white and cream coloured wood - we even had fresh flowers in every room! So this is the perfect accomodation for hiking and sightseeing tours on the Beara peninsula. If you are not used to broadband internet-connection day and night and if you a re searching for relaxation in a quiet surrounding with impressive nature just right outside the door - Four Directions Cottage should be your first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona U
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I fully recommend it and intend to go back there again one day”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a holiday that provides; stunning views, great walking territory (including a small mountain), coastal walks (with amazing sea views) and yet is still close enough to a small town which has great pubs and restaurants, then this area of Ireland is a MUST for you. Myself and three friends visited this part of Ireland and stayed in this cottage based on a recommendation from another friend who had stayed here before us. Waking up and returning home to this adorable little self-catering cottage was one of the best parts of the holiday. The owners are very friendly and provided us with a generous delivery of fresh soda bread and newly laid eggs, and with enough ready chopped wood to keep the cosy fire of our wood burner going all night. I fully recommend it and intend to go back there again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing