We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castletownbere, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SimonBenn...
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Four Directions Cottage. It's a very sweet place in a beautiful location with well-organized and well-maintained amenities. Steve White, the landlord, has put a lot of thought (seen in the details) into meeting his guests' needs.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seenitdun...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Probably thermost peaceful setting you could find.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This little cottage situated along a quiet single track road is a haven of peace and tranqulity. The views across to Bear Island are magnificent. Inside all modern amenities have been shoe horned in. We very much enjoyed our stay.

However, potential visitors should know that the cottage has no television reception (not a problem to us but it could deter others). Contrary, to the facilities list we would not deem it suitable for small children, as two of the beds are on a mezanine floor with no protective barrier, and not suitable for the infirm, as the parking area is accessed via a steep hill. Finally, (and this did prove an inconvenience for us), it takes a lot longer than five minutes to reach Casteltownbere. One has to negotiate a mile of bendy single track road and about four to five miles of main road to reach the town.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: The travel distance into the town.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments. However, information about TV signal, suitability for children or incapacitated guests, etc. is detailed on our website (four-directions-cottage.com) which guests have to visit to make a firm booking. It can't be shown on the adverts because of template restrictions. I have checked the 5 mins to Castletownbere and you are right. I have adjusted that to 6-7 mins which is the time I took to drive the route. Thanks again for pointing these things out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2018
Hi Stephan and Kristina,

Thank-you SO much for your great review!
It is very kind of you to take the time write such a informative and positive one with very kind comments. Our reviews are always really helpful for future enquiries and bookings.

It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're really happy to k ow you had a very good holiday here.
We do hope we will meet again in the future - you will always be most welcome back.

All the very best to you all,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolf W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterwdic...
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2018
Dear Peter,

Wow!! What a wonderful review you have written.
We really appreciate you writing it with such positive and kind comments. It is always very uplifting to read our lovely reviews.
.
It was pleasure to meet you all and of course you will always be most welcome to come back any time in the future.

Many thanks again for choosing to stay here.

All the best to you and your family,
Laraine and Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
Thank-you so much for your lovely review.
We love having you here and can't wait to see you again next year - you are really great guests!
All the very best for a good Christmas and a great 2016!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britta E
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.