We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Breen's Lobster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The pan grilled fish is great. I had Haddock and it was the tastiest piece of Haddock I have ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    24
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sandwiches to Die For”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went to Ireland on a coach in June and had a trip to the Berra Peninsular. We stopped at Castletownbere for lunch and found it a pleasant place to stay. We only wanted a snack as we were half board at our hotel so we went into the Breen Lobster Bar.

We ordered chicken salad and ham salad sandwiches one with chips and one with salad (which we both like and share). The place was very busy with locals and tourists alike and all the staff were very friendly. We did not have to wait long for the food even though they were busy but I can honestly say it is the first sandwiches I have ever raved about in my 60 year old life. They were amazing full of meat and salad which included apple and a wonderful non-greasy dressing. The main meals looked very good also and would recommend this place to any traveller going there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johngillay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

on a coach trip around the Berra we stopped for lunch in castletownbere there was a good choice of plashes to eat has we only wanted a snack we went to the lobster bar we ordered sum sandwiches they where the best we have had in a long time i would certinley go back again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ward47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sandwiches to Die For”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We called into the Breem Lobster Bar for a snack as we were on a coach tour in the area at lunchtime.

My husband ordered two larger and ham salad and chicken salad sandwiches one with chips and the other with a side salad which we both shared. The bar was a very busy bar situated by the harbour and was frequented by tourists and locals alike.

The service was excellent by the friendly staff and when the sandwiches arrived the were excellent. It seems strange to say that you could get excited by chicken and ham sandwiches but they were wonderful. Packed with salad, meat and dressing and were the best I have ever eaten. The meals that came out for other clients looked just as good too.

A definite place to when touring in that area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johngillay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional haddock.....”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Late afternoon lunch - fish of the day was haddock, beautifully cooked with fries and nice salad. Others had chowder and crab sandwich - excellent.
Bathrooms clean, service very friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breen's Lobster Bar also viewed

Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 
Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 
Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 

Been to Breen's Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing