We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Fish, Perfect Scone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Restaurant

Murphy's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sherkin Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Fish, Perfect Scone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We read the Irish Times "Best Vacation Spot in Ireland" series and the journalist wrote that the fish served at Murphy's have walked in from the sea next door and said hello ... that was our experience as we ordered the Seafood Platter ... wonderful. Better still were the scones John Murphy sent us traveling with the next day. I HAD to ask John for the recipe (and he provided it). Best of all was the conversation with John and the walking/hiking advice he gave for his favourite Beara Peninsula walk, which we took. A great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    76
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good if you are hungry but not for gourmet lovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

In fairness to the quiet atmosphere aspect it was easter friday and ireland is a dead duck anywhere on that particular day. At least they were open and willing to feed some late arrivals. A throw back to the 70's or 80's on the food front which almost made me nostalgic in a prawn cocktail blue nun sort of way....Some of you will know what i mean by that. The food was grand but nothing to rave about. We were satisfied upon leaving and it did not damage the finances too much so no complaints. Not for the food critics or gourmet lovers but grand for everyone else looking for fair value, me included. Service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gexto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Personal, clean with prompt service: excellent fresh fish and a good price. Highly recommended. I noticed it was full with locals eating as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mosdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Foid great
Service great
Staff great
Loved every thing about the place
The owener could not do enough gave us info on the area and the town .also sang a soung and told us some jokes and storys about the area and town

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niallwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Being in castletownbere for 2 weeks in october and still here being in this little restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner all the food is homemade and very nice the scones are to die for the seafood just from the sea to your plate fantastic i recomend it, the service is good and the staff very friendly we are stilt in town andwe will visit again x

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Restaurant also viewed

Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 
Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 
Castletownbere, County Cork
Castletownbere, County Cork
 

Been to Murphy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing