We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at Home in Bantry”
Review of Doire Liath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doire Liath
Ranked #9 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2010

A very pleasant stay with our host making us feel at home and enjoyin her hospitality.
Excellent breakfast whic prepared us for a full days enjoyment.
Refreshment on arrival. Afternoon tea provided as needed

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

This B&B is OK although nothing special. Off road parking which is handy & downstairs rooms good for the less mobile. However its claims to be a 5 minute walk to the town centre are a bit misleading - a 5 minute sprint perhaps! Beds were fairly comfortable but our shower room was tiny to the extreme with no ventilation fan & it could have been cleaner. Breakfast was average. Owners were very pleasant. Overall I wouldn't say don't go but I couldn't really recommend it either - I'm sure there are better options in Bantry.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank remivanoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friliwili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantry hotels
2 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,253 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aran Lodge B&B
Aran Lodge B&B
#1 of 3 in Ballylickey
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Mirage
La Mirage
#12 of 26 in Bantry
32 reviews
2 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bru Na Pairc Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doire Liath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doire Liath

Address: Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doire Liath 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doire Liath B&B offers you a traditional irish family home welcome and is located on the outskirts of historical Bantry town centre (10minute walk) with its myriad of pubs, award winning restaurants and local hotels. Our B&B is situated in the heart of the three pennisulas - Beara Peninsula to the north and the Sheeps Head and Mizen Peninsulas to the south. This beautiful quiet place is a world away from the rat race, allowing you to relax and unwind and is an ideal base for a walking, cycling or driving holiday. We offer secure off street private parking for guests and you can also choose to walk along the foreshore of Bantry bay with its breathtaking views of the Caha mountain range, this walkway is accessed directly behind our home and is about a 20minute easy stroll to the town centre.We are ideally situated for exploring the nearby Mizen, Beara and Sheep’s Head peninsulas and can offer you packed lunches if you decide to spend the day walking or driving through the most spectacular scenery you will find anywhere in Ireland. Famous Gougane Barra is about a 20 minute drive from us inland through the spectacular “Pass of Keimeneigh” which literally means the “step of the deer” On arrival to our home we offer you complimentary tea/coffee with homebaking and afternoon tea in our garden or comfortable sitting room with stunning views of nearby Seskin Mountain. We are less then a mile from the Bantry Bay 18 hole golf club and the area also offers a variety of watersports, fishing, horse riding and sea angling. Doire Liath has an extensive breakfast menu with locally sourced west cork produce and freshly made soda bread and scones to give you a great start to the day. All our rooms have televisions and ensuite facilities or own private bathrooms and our comfortable lounge with free wifi access is available for you to relax and unwind after the day’s activities with tea/coffee or something stronger if you wish!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doire Liath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing