We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Bantry”
Review of Doire Liath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doire Liath
Ranked #11 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
chicago
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Bantry”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Doire Liath B&B, and absolutely loved everything about our stay. Therese was so warm and friendly. We were greeted with tea, coffee and scones upon our arrival. Our room was lovely and easily accommodated my husband, myself and our adult son. The beds were very comfortable and the comforters very warm and cozy. Our room was spotlessly clean and it was great to return each evening after much sightseeing and driving in the area. It immediately felt like home and we were very comfortable there for our 3 day visit. We would wholeheartedly recommend this b&b for anyone traveling to Bantry.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Even though we arrived early the welcome and refreshment we received on arrival was extremely pleasant and we were immediately treated as one of the family.
Our room was not en-suite but we had easy access to the bathroom.
The breakfast was a very good full Irish breakfast.
Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This bed and breakfast was truly a home away from home. We felt welcomed from the minute we arrived when we were greeted by tea and home baking. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We really enjoyed the town itself where we had an amazing meal in The Fish Kitchen and had great craic in the local pubs such as Ma Murphys and The Quays as well as the nightclub Cargo. All were reccommended to us by Therese the wonderful hostess. The next morning we awoke to the delicious smells of home cooking and the breakfast which followed certainly lived up to these beautiful aromas. We felt completely relaxed in the sitting room area where our cups of tea and coffee were never empty.We'll definitely be returning here soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iblonderishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Having travelled all over the world I like to find a nice surprise once in a while and this I found in Bantry. "Doireliath B&B" is a little oasis, still offering old time charm and welcome without the feeling that you are intruding on a family home, from the moment of arrival and being greeted by Therese with a warm smile and welcome with wonderful homebaking and good coffee, through to the splendid breakfast and excellent local information compiled in a booklet and left in the bedroom for guests to read, we had the feeling of being somewhere special, where time didn't matter. We stayed there 3 days and were lonesome leaving. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the sitting room for guests was so relaxing with afternoon tea being served in real china cups. Fabulous!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Lovely, cosy, homely and very friendly B and B. The welcoming hostess cooks up a storm of a breakfast. There is a nice breakfast menu to choose from.. yum smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. She is obviously a lady who takes pride in what she does and she does it well. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It's like staying in your favourite aunties house. It is just outside the town.. a good five minutes walk but you get to pass Cafe Organico on the way in. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

A very pleasant stay with our host making us feel at home and enjoyin her hospitality.
Excellent breakfast whic prepared us for a full days enjoyment.
Refreshment on arrival. Afternoon tea provided as needed

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

This B&B is OK although nothing special. Off road parking which is handy & downstairs rooms good for the less mobile. However its claims to be a 5 minute walk to the town centre are a bit misleading - a 5 minute sprint perhaps! Beds were fairly comfortable but our shower room was tiny to the extreme with no ventilation fan & it could have been cleaner. Breakfast was average. Owners were very pleasant. Overall I wouldn't say don't go but I couldn't really recommend it either - I'm sure there are better options in Bantry.

  • Liked — Off road parking
  • Disliked — Shower room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantry hotels
1.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,127 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
93 reviews
2.0 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 25 in Bantry
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doire Liath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doire Liath

Property: Doire Liath
Address: Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Doire Liath 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doire Liath B&B offers you a traditional irish family home welcome and is located on the outskirts of historical Bantry town centre (10minute walk) with its myriad of pubs, award winning restaurants and local hotels. Our B&B is situated in the heart of the three pennisulas - Beara Peninsula to the north and the Sheeps Head and Mizen Peninsulas to the south. This beautiful quiet place is a world away from the rat race, allowing you to relax and unwind and is an ideal base for a walking, cycling or driving holiday. We offer secure off street private parking for guests and you can also choose to walk along the foreshore of Bantry bay with its breathtaking views of the Caha mountain range, this walkway is accessed directly behind our home and is about a 20minute easy stroll to the town centre.We are ideally situated for exploring the nearby Mizen, Beara and Sheep’s Head peninsulas and can offer you packed lunches if you decide to spend the day walking or driving through the most spectacular scenery you will find anywhere in Ireland. Famous Gougane Barra is about a 20 minute drive from us inland through the spectacular “Pass of Keimeneigh” which literally means the “step of the deer” On arrival to our home we offer you complimentary tea/coffee with homebaking and afternoon tea in our garden or comfortable sitting room with stunning views of nearby Seskin Mountain. We are less then a mile from the Bantry Bay 18 hole golf club and the area also offers a variety of watersports, fishing, horse riding and sea angling. Doire Liath has an extensive breakfast menu with locally sourced west cork produce and freshly made soda bread and scones to give you a great start to the day. All our rooms have televisions and ensuite facilities or own private bathrooms and our comfortable lounge with free wifi access is available for you to relax and unwind after the day’s activities with tea/coffee or something stronger if you wish!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doire Liath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing