We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - modern, clean, with friendly staff - so relaxing”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We visited this hotel as part of a coach tour from Belfast, the hotel is a lovely modern place with every facility that you could ever need nd is of a very high standard, the staff will go out of there way to ensure your stay is a good one. The restaurant serves really good food and you get plenty of it. Each evening there is entertainment in the lounge bar it finishes at 11pm so not problem and the turns are very good. The hotel has leisure facilities I only used the pool, jaccuzi, sauna & steam room but there is also a gym.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solusmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

First - Bantry town is a disgrace when it comes to litter and run down buildings. Cop on Bantry - have a little pride in yourself.
It is unfortunate that The Maritime is situated right in the middle of what is becoming a most 'untidy town'.
Having said that I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I expected wall to wall wedding guests and traffic noise from this hotel which is situaed right in the town centre facing the main street. What I eperienced was nothing like that.
Check in:
Efficient if a little unwelcoming
Car Park:
There is free car parking in the underground car park which is a bit of a trek especially if you have a lot of luggage. The car park is separate from the hotel.
The Hotel:
Located right in the town centre, the hotel has been cleverly built in to the side of the street giving it a long narrow shape.
The bedroom:
Our bedroom on the third floor overlooked the main street and bantry bay. Views were nice and street noise was very acceptable. The bedroom has everything you would need for a comfortable stay.
Bathroom:
Nicely appointed with both bath and separate shower cubicle. There is a separate dressing room.
Public areas:
Reception is very well appointed and comfortable.
The Bar is modern but not very special
Dining room is very comfortable
Eating:
Breakfast is standard buffet fare with about 4 other options cooked to order. The food is plentiful and staff are efficient.
Dinner: The menu is fairly adventurous if a little 'hotel like'. The wine list is good and reasonably priced.
Leisure Centre.
Lovely swimming pool with jacuzzi and sauna. Nice helpful staff there.
It is a one minute walk to Bantry town centre.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel and comes recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed in this hotel on the Sunday night with my mom. It was for birthday.
I had emailed the hotel and we were upgraded for free.
I work in the hotel business and to get this it was great! My mom was delighted!

Would definately come back with my partner.

Also had an Indian Head Massage from Santia (sp?) and she is A+!!!

Overall a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkDenise23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Arrived mid week without a booking anf there was no problem, the friendly receptionist had us booked in to two single rooms very quickly. The rooms were actually two suites... at 75 euro per night... best value i have seen in a long time. The rooms were great with seperate sitting area and all mod cons. I didnt have the breakfast because i was running late, but I heard it was very good. I will definitely go back here again. The only complaint is you have to pay for the internet... it should be free these days.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ostrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed at the Maritime for a 2 night weekend break as a birthday treat. We have no complaints whatsoever and had a wonderful stay. Our one-bedroom family suite (room 422) was terrific. It consisted of a living room with a dining area which had a table and 6 chairs. There was also a kitchenette which had a sink, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, teapots, cutlery and 4 no. cups and saucers. Two sets of patio doors opened on to a small balcony with wonderful views of Bantry Bay (the weather was fabulous during our stay). The settee converted into a double bed for our 2 children. The double bedroom was very tastefully decorated and wonderfully comfortable. Bathroom was very modern and well equipped. We had two TV's in the family suite. We ate in the bar on the first night. The food was really tasty, with a good choice on the menu and the food was well presented. The bar is really comfortable and modern and the staff are very efficient. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent. We were seated promptly without any delays and our tea/coffee and toast was delivered very quickly once ordered. Re-fills were also served promptly. We used the facilities in Club Maritime which we found excellent and spotlessly clean. We did not use the internet facililties. Throughout the hotel the decor is very tasteful and modern. The colour scheme is rather 'masculine' in that there is a lot of use of black, burgundy and dark greens in corridors and other areas of the hotel. As a result, the Reception Area seems quite dark on entry from the street. Underground parking is available but there isn't a barrier on entry/exit. Overall, this is an absolutely lovely modern hotel with excellent facilities, tasteful decor and delicious food. Staff were efficient and pleasant. Our family suite was superb and we will definitely return. Bantry is a lovely Irish town with a lot of interesting history and very friendly locals. Well worth a visit and we would highly recommend the Maritime Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I can't believe it has take me this long to post my review but such are the pressures of work.
My partner and I were looking for a mid - week break somewhere where there was lots to do and see but also for a hotel that if we didn't feel like doing anything we could enjoy just hanging out in the hotel using the facilities. The Maritime in Banrty was perfect. We found the hotel on the net, Bantry and the surrounding area was perfect for walking and hiking and the hotel's spa facilities clinched the deal.
We asked for and got a beautiful room with an amazing balcony overlooking Bantry, while the food in the restaurant was very good with ample portions and a good wine list it was breakfast that stole the show, Make sure you allow enough time in the morning to fully enjoy all that is on offer.
Fed for the day, we took advantage of the good weather and drove to Sheep's Head for a spectacular walk/hike. The scenery on this unspoilt peninsula was amazing, we spent the day out and about before returning to The Maritime for dinner. The following day the weather wasn't so good so we booked massages and spent the day being pampered followed by pool sauna etc. Fantastic! Friday night Liam O'Connor played in the hotel, guests got a discount on the tickets and we were treated to a breathtaking show. Finally, we decided to stay on for an extra night, the staff who this point had been faultless yet again exceeded all expectations and we managed to keep our room and balcony for an extra night.
I can't praise this hotel and staff highly enough, they made us feel welcome without falling over themselves and were helpful and knowledgable about the local area. the food was fantastic(did I mention breakfast) the pool etc great. What more can I say. GO!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Spent two nights in this hotel. Super rooms, super staff, fab facilities and good food.
Only complaint is that rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy at night, with passing traffic and late night revellers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkGirl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
645 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
504 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: $77 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing