We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel with Staff to match”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed her for 3 nts from sep 1st-sep 4th wit my wife and small child (14 months old). After long drive from another location, we found this hotel situated in beautiful location on the bay front and with secure under ground parking. The staff on the front desk were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room which was bay facing, the room was modern and spotless. The room was small with a baby in tow, but was completely our own fault for not booking a bigger room. We dined in the hotel on every occasion either for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food in the bar and restaurant was excellent with staff to match Small touches like staff (Aideen) remembering our baby's name evey time we entered the restaurant. The hotel is in a perfect location for everything you need to do i.e. sightseeing, shopping, eating out.

+ staff
service
food
location
modern hotel
cleanliness

- baby pool was cold.
no air conditioning in some rooms

Room Tip: Ask for room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieOffaly_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear ollieOffaly_Ireland

Thank you so much for your kind Tripadvisor review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you noted the small things especially Aideen noting your child's name every night. I really do believe that it is the small things that matter and that if we can get those right then people feel really satisfied just as you did. I will look into the child pool issue you raised also and see if we can change it.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is probably the best place to stay in Bantry. The view is stunning and ever changing with the weather, the sea, the ships and birds. relatively quite and good parking for the car. The food in the restaurants is good and Breakfast unmatched.

Room Tip: Take the sea side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanzie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Tanzie1952

Thank you for such a lovely Tripadvisor rating and comment about your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. Obviously the changing views got to you. I am always in awe of the same and continue posting them on our pages which always get comment. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed-roomed suite with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. There was ample room and the view overlooked the sea. The hotel is in an ideal location and within walking distance to shops/bars/restaurants and ferry to Whiddy Island. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free car park is just across the road. We went for a family wedding and the function room was lovely with beautiful views. Within the hotel there are lots of individual library/lounge areas for lounging on comfy sofas. The bar is open till late and the lunch time meals were big and tasty. Good value for money. Didn't use the spa/pool so cannot comment. Breakfast fine. Very flexible to accommodate guests who turn up after the official breakfast opening times. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor, rooms 219 and 220. Make sure you get sea view rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ingrid252525

Thank you for your very kind review posted on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at The Maritime. I am delighted with your comments, most particularly about the staff and their friendliness. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us while at the wedding, that you have recommended us, and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

I will be passing your review out to all the team and I am sure they will be as pleased as I am.

Again my thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in the maritime hotel with an ulsterbus coach tour. my sister was on a visit from Canada and both of us thought the hotel was excellent. Our twin room was large and very comfortable.We would have loved a room overlooking Bantry Bay but that did not spoil our stay in a very hospitable hotel.The staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother to them. We were booked on a half board basis with the tour and we found both breakfast and dinner good.The public areas of the hotel were always clean and bright and we would recommend this hotel and any ulsterbus tours as they always choose good hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay if you don't mind a bit of traffic noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear maureen c

Thank you for the very kind review you posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. Your comments regard the team here are most welcome and will be passed on. I can assure you that your praise for Ulsterbus is most welcome as they do tend to choose good properties and have excellent tours.

Again my thanks

Fionnbar Walsh
Operatioons Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here in July for part of the West Cork Literary Festival. The hotel was a perfect venue for many of the festival's events, with rooms for audiences of different numbers. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The bar was lively and it took a while to get served but the food service was prompt, prices reasonable and the dishes delicious. The bedroom was large, with a lovely bathroom and good air-conditioning which was very useful as the weather was very warm. The hotel is in a great location on the quay, with an underground car-park. The entrance to the car park is not where you would expect - it is on the other side of the road to the hotel, where you might think there is just water.
I very much enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Margaret58

Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review about your stay with us in the Maritime hotel for the West Cork Literary Festival. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience both of the hotel and the festival.

I was particularly pleased with your comments regarding the promptness of service and the friendliness of the staff. I will be passing your comments on to all the team and I'm sure they will get as much satisfaction as I did from them.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in the maritime recently for a weekend night with my girlfriend. A very nice hotel overall, modern but lacking a small bit of finesse at certain areas. There was a beauty pageant in the hotel on the night we stayed but thankfully noise wasnt a problem. Breakfast was nice with a good selection, very friendly staff in the dining room and leisure facilities, rooms were clean and bathrooms slick, good entertainment options on the television.

The only down side of this trip was a member of the reception staff who was abrupt, rude, unfriendly and not very thankful at times when we spoke to her in person or telephone. Put a damp mood on our stay as all other staff were extremely kind, happy, welcoming and friendly.

Other than this i'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Crowsey

Thank you for your comments recently posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. I was delighted that for the main part you found the staff kind, happy, friendly & welcoming. I will be passing all your comments on to the team and will encourage all staff to live up to the expectations that most have set.

Again my thanks

Yours sincerely

Fionnbar Walsh
operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

While the hotel could do with a little upgrading of furniture, this is a really nice place to stay - the breakfast is fantastic, and the staff are really friendly. The leisure centre has a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym. We stayed in a suite which was very large and comfortable, but this is where the furniture is showing a bit of wear. However, this is our hotel of choice when we are looking for somewhere to stay in South West Ireland and I am sure that we will return again.

Room Tip: Groups of four should ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear BilliR

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us in the Maritime Hotel. I am delighted that you were so pleased with your stay and that nearly everything was to your satisfaction. I was particularly pleased with your comments on the friendliness of the staff and will be passing them on to the team here who will be as happy as I am.

Taking in your furnishings comment we have an ongoing renovation of same and without emptying the hotel we can only do this bit by bit! we are getting through it though...

Again thanks for your review and delighted to see we are your choice for the southwest!

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
499 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
417 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing