We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family of five”
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for family of five”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the Maritime Hotel for 3 nights last week and were very happy with the service, friendliness of the staff, central location, sea views and the excellent rooms to accommodate a family of five. We booked a 2 bedroom suite on level 4 which was very spacious, yet didn't 'break the bank'. The contemporary look and feel of the hotel, free Wi Fi, plasma screens and cinema nearby went down very well with our two teenage daughters! Our young son availed of the swimming pool daily. There are some good restaurants and pubs very close by including The Brick Oven (which also delivers pizza), The Snug (pub) and The Fish Kitchen. We would certainly consider revisiting next summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter & have lovely views. A main street runs in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MTMtraveller

Thank you for your very gracious comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay as a family with us at the Maritime Hotel. I am delighted that you found the hotel so good but also that you found Bantry such a positive experience. The two restaurants you mentioned I have also used with my family and can only concur in saying that they are both of a very high standard especially where families are concerned.

Again my thanks and we hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    386
    118
    36
    25
See reviews for
282
603
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely location, lovely friendly staff, but unfortunately could do with some extra soundproofing!!!!!!!!!! Went for a 3 day R&R but was woken at 6.00 very morning with heavy lorries bang bangin outside the window. I invested in some earplugs from the local chemist the next day!!! Yes, seriously that bad, which takes it away from the lovely friendly helpful staff, especially at breakfast , nothing is ever to much trouble. Treated myself to a facial & a salt scrub in the Spa which was worth every penny. Stayed in the Intercontinental Hotel in Park Lane London the previous week & the staff there should be sent to train at The Maritime as they are the best I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. Room was spotlessly cleaned every morning, even the housekeeping staff are a credit. Lovely location!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, no view but peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBannanieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear AnnieBannanieWales

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Maritime Hotel. I am delighted with the main body of the review review and will be passing your comments on to the team here who will appreciate them also I'm sure. I take all critiques seriously and would ask that if you do return and want a less noisy morning that we can reserve a 4th floor room or a room at the back facing the forestry of Bantry Gardens, an alternative is possible and given you had such praise for the rest of the facilities I do hope you will return.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent staff everybody nice and helpful, very good location it's a small town and hotel is short walk from the square, the food was lovely in the restaurant, excellent value all round, only thing we missed was the jacuzzi as it was out of order.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Michelle C

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the jaccussi was not working when you stayed with us but I am happy to advise that it is now back in operation and will hopefully be in action should you return for another visit.

Again my thanks and I will be passing your comments on to all the team here.

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for one night, but it was well worth it. Very friendly staff, very helpful too. Breakfast was top class and freshly made. Rooms were clean and warm.
Bar was airy and staff friendly. Resturant was great( same place for breakfast) looking out at the Bay.
Will stay again

Room Tip: Park underground then check in, saves you time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Robert M

Many thanks for your very kind review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. As I have said in previous replies I am very fearful of a full 5 Stars from anyone as it means we must live up to it again repeatedly......not always possible where people are involved! Anyway I will graciously pass your comments on to the team, with a caveat, and really appreciate them and hope you will be returning again soon.

Kind regards

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great value, clean and comfortable hotel. Pool was quiet. Great location for wandering around the town- very short walk without being in a noisy area. Theirs free wifi and there was no hassle getting its for breakfast that arent normally on the menu

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmed_0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear balmed_0ut

Thank you so much for your kind review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at The Maritime. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back in the near future.

Again my thanks for the positive review

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in the Maritime over the october Bank Holiday weekend had a great time loved the rooms and also the lesuire Centre was perfect.We had an evening meal there too in the resturant food was excellent however i found that the head waitress's or floor manager if thats what she is was very rude to a younger male waitress in front of us and never appolagised to him after he had given us our menu's and also it would be nice to be asked maybe from the head waitress if were enjoying our stay just to make a bit of conversation with you like normal resturant's do and for that reason we wont be eating in there again if we do decide to come back for a nights stay,and also the hallway's to the room's we found very dark overall a nice hotel.

Regards Darren

Room Tip: i stayed in room 425 lovely views from this bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Darren

Thank you for your comments which you recently posted on Tripadvisor. It opened my eyes to see how we could be so effective and pleasant in some ways but to falter in such fashion in others. Your comment regarding the restaurant will be top of my list for discussion with this department as it shows just how socially conscious we all must behave in our workplace, a message I am constantly trying to get across.

Your comments regarding the rest of your stay will be passed on to everyone also, just so that all the crew will see that this is such a balanced review.

Again my thanks

Yours sincerely

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked a 1 bedroom suite as we where traveling with 1year old son. So wanted to be able to stay up without distrubing him.
Suite was large, but found the finishing in the room average. (skirting only painted to the wardrope - not behind it)
The windows where MANKY could barely see out them.
And the traffic noise is terrible, it was so bad on the 1st night of our stay we had to move son to the hall way of the room as the noise was keeping him awake.
Bed was small & found the pillows hard. Towels provided in the bathroom where also very small.
Staff in the hotel where friendly. We used the Pool which was nice.

Room Tip: Though 1 bedroom suite would be more luxurious, but it was basic. There is a lot of Traffic noise, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydser05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimeManager_12, Manager at Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Lydser05

thank you for your recent constructive review on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately the Suite facilities you requested in order to accommodate your child separately are all facing to the front of the hotel which is facing the road. We do have quieter rooms to the back of the hotel which are not suites therefore we would not have been able to fulfil your other request. The hotel windows are regularly cleaned but as with any coastal hotel we have an ongoing battle with the elements which bring salt in with them thus causing some difficulties. I will ensure that we are monitoring this and cleaning them more frequently.

I was pleased that you had kind comments to make about the staff and will be passing them on to the team also.

Again my thanks for your comments

Yours

Fionnbar Walsh
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
626 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
180 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
479 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
510 reviews
20.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa Treatment Rooms and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing