We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, funky hotel :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maritime Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice, funky hotel :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel is located in a beautiful part of Cork. The staff at check in were very helpful. Rooms are spacious & spotless. There is a pool at the hotel which is lovely but the air conditioning is not working in the gym.

There was a plentyful breakfast the following morning. All the food was fresh & very tasty! The atmosphere in the bar is really relaxed & the decor is fab. Highly recommend a stay at the Maritime.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    361
    108
    35
    23
See reviews for
245
559
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Overall a good place for a few nights - bar staff good, restaurant staff not so good. Standard room a little cramped but offer of use of suite for 30 euro per day. Decor a bit garish and
corridors very long and gloomy. Underground carpark contained large puddles of water so
watch where you walk!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank NODirection75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Im changing tact here from previous reviews ive written and get straight to the point by giving praise where its due and highlighting the negative.Here goes.From the outside the hotel isnt too appealing and once in the lobby the feeling continues due to the extremely dark colour scheme - this would look much nicer brighter.The various corridors that led to the suite we booked were on the other hand very tastefully decorated.We upgraded to a suite for the 3 nights for half price.The room itself was huge and nicely laid out comprising lounge/dining/kitchen area with sink/fridge/microwave tea&coffee facilities cups,plates etc.Do not drink the tap water they should put a sign up to warn people.The bedroom down the corridor was also nice and the en-suite bathroom.We had double doors in the loung area & the bedroom that led out to a balcony overlooking the water and the main road but as the hotel is north facing if its sun youre looking for you wont get it here.In fact none of the pubs/restaurants up from the hotel receive sunshine due to their positioning,shame.Back to the room, the balcony doors themselves are wooden and the locking system does not do a great job of drowning out passing traffic below.The bed itself and all the other facilities were perfect and we slept well.We had 2 dinners in our package one in the dining room which is lovely especially at night and the other meal had to be taken in the bar (not so great,no need to expand here).The food itself i would give 8.5/10 very tasty.Facilities and the pool is beautiful but the gym a little cramped and i think its open to the public also.Breakfast experience a bit mixed.You could be left waiting indefinitely to be seated.Tea & coffee served almost instatnly with toast-i learnt to hold off on the toast untill the food arrived.The 2 ladies that were running the restraunt do work hard but are a little overworked i would say.The continental breakfast area needs to be kept replinished also - I ate early both mornings and could never get a scone amongst other items.The hot breakfast cooked to order was delicious though.We ate in the Brick Oven up the road on the 3rd night,nothing special i would say.Whilst having a drink in the Snug bar further up along i saw a very reasonably priced menu and extremely large portions being served.Weather was great when we were there and there is a nice walk to be had directly across from the hotel and also take a stroll up to Bantry house-there is an entrance just below the hotel on the town side.Overall a pleasant stay and just a few minor things management could look at.Hope this review hepls you and the management.At your service D & T.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMonkiesDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just back to work after a weekend away in the Maritime in Bantry and it was lovely. The room was fab with loads of space, it was like having 2 seperate bedrooms as i did a good deed and slept in the large sitting room on a surprisingly comfortable camp bed. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the menu was excellent and the food was delicious. We had spa treatments on the Saturday and they were heavenly! Thank you to Laura for sorting everything out for us, Richard in the restaurant was a complete gentleman and Wolfgang was hilarious. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for 2 nights. I cannot praise the Maritime enough. The service was fab, all the staff were wonderfully polite. Our room was on the top floor and had a balcony overlooking the bay, though small it was absolutely perfectly formed and super comfortable. The location of the hotel is just right it's not in the middle of the town but its just outside and has an underground carpark. The Carpark is the only off putting point the entrance is rather ugly but i could totally overlook it. We had spa treatment on the Saturday the girls in the spa were lovely as was the lad on the desk of the leisure centre which was absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely return to this hotel the food was fabulous also we had dinner on the saturday night.

Room Tip: Go to the Leisure Centre!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abitofanoddball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay at Maritime Hotel. We booked a double room for two nights B&B (dinner on one of the nights) for £109 each which is great value!

The decor in the hotel is beautiful and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large with comfortable bed and looked out onto the harbour area which was beautiful as the sun went down. We were very lucky having long days of sunshine in March! Very powerful shower in the room and separate bath which is what you need after day walking round Sheeps Head peninsula. Choice of movies on the TV was limited. Would be nice to see more variety considering how sleepy Bantry is in the evening.

Breakfast was very good and the service was prompt. However we were not convinced that they were serving genuine Clonakilty black/white pudding and Durrus cheese as described on the menu. i don't remember Durrus cheese being like cheddar? However it tasted great!

We had dinner on our second night which was also very good and again the staff were very friendly.

One tip for any other travellers is don't expect much to be open in Bantry after 9pm...especially in March! We tried to find somewhere to eat at 830pm on our first night. The only place that was open was The Snug a few doors down from the hotel which came as a recommendation from a friend. Doesn't look much from the outside but the food was amazing! HUGE portions!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyheigue, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

One night stay. Marvelous experience at this 4 star hotel. The staff pleasant and friendly. The food in the Ocean restaurant was excellent and we were in and out in 1 Hr and 15 minutes for a 3 course meal. Despite the presence of lots of children (14 at our sitting) the rooms were very quite. The receptionist was way above average in her manners and helpfulness. Our room was on the second floor and it was very clean and the shower was powerful and easy to use. The so called Library was a very interesting spacious room to sit in. The room opposite with views of the Harbor was a large sitting room. The Car park is huge underground reached by a lift from all the floors. They have their own bottled water which is lovely and it is filtered on the premises. Very Nice Experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosesWarudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
14.1 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
12.0 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel

Property: Maritime Hotel
Address: The Maritime Hotel The Quay, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting alongside the quay below Bantry House, The Maritime Hotel and Suites is built to four star specifications while the interior is finished in a modern nautical style. The hotel consists of 110 luxury bedrooms including a mix of 1 and 2 Bedroom Family Suites, the majority of which overlook Bantry Bay. A large function room provides excellent conference, wedding and banqueting facilities with a capacity for up to 270 guests as well as a range of conference rooms of varying capacity. The hotel also has a state of the art leisure centre, You Time Spa and an underground car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel Bantry
The Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing