We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Hospitality and Beautiful Scenery”
Review of Dromcloc House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromcloc House
Ranked #6 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Irish Hospitality and Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This B&B is also a working dairy farm and has a beautiful view of Bantry Bay, with cozy rooms, wonderful breakfasts, and the location is perfect for visiting Bantry, Sheep’s Head, Mizen, and Glengarriff. The owners are so kind and helpful if you have any questions regarding sightseeing, Irish History, or where to eat! It’s a lovely place and we would stay there again! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view of Bantry Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piratecat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dympie, Owner at Dromcloc House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay with us and thanks for initially choosing to stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your holiday throughout Ireland. Dympna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    39
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
71
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Dymphna and Johnny were wonderful: picking us up and taking us back to the bus station
in Bantry, calling the rural bus which passed at the bottom of their driveway to take us to Kilcrohane, and bringing us into town for shopping, The room was lovely,spotless, and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Johnny entertained us with his accordion one evening and I only wish this adjoining picture showed the beauty of this spot on Bantry Bay rather than one of some beds.
These folks were a "God send" for us as we approached Bantry not really knowing where we would be staying. A friend called and said he had made arrangements for us here and what a bonus!..They knew of some of our ancestors from Kilcrohane, Cork, and got on the phone to provide us with crucial information to aid us in our research.. This truly was one of those places which can honestly claim " a thousand welcomes" Thank you for your warmth and hospitality.

Room Tip: We loved the room with 3 beds upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 380Deanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I intentionally booked this B & B because it was a 5th generation farm house. As someone from Canada - you would be hard pressed to find a 5th generation building anywhere. I wanted to go somewhere that had character and charm and hoped this would fill my quest. It filled my needs well. The house is a few hundred years old with signs of lots of additions through the generations who lived here. The room we had was a modest size with a very small bathroom - only one person at a time and don't be too large getting in either. Dympna and Johnny are the hosts and they play their role well. They certainly have the Irish charm I fell in love with. The breakfast was served in a large family dining room with large windows to enjoy the sunshine (yes - we found sunshine in Ireland). Of course, we had traditional Irish breakfasts for eggs, bacon, sausage and lots of toast. The floors are a little uneven and I was OK with it however it may not be for everyone. The property overlooks Bantry Bay and the you can easily walk to the water's edge while being escorted by the family dog - he just wanted you to chase him but he would not allow you to catch him. The farmhouse is a working farmhouse and if you look in the backyard there is farm equipment and "stuff"; if you don't like it - stay in the front of the house and enjoy the garden with its lovely seating arrangement and enjoy the beautiful views from there. Finding the farmhouse was a little difficult as it was just outside town on an old road; luckily the local pub gave us directions. If you go, get directions ahead of time.

Room Tip: Johnny is certainly a good source of local information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScooterNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I wasn't pleased with my stay here. The bathroom was large , but had no electrical plugs. The bathtub was too big to get into for a shower. I couldn't wait to leave. My daughter felt the same way.
Sheila Smith

Room Tip: If you need to bathe, then don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corker2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dympie, Owner at Dromcloc House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay and I am sorry you were disappointed. If you had
mentioned this to us I am certain we could have arranged another room for
you. It is our priority to ensure guest have an enjoyable stay at Dromcloc House.


Yes the bathroom is large, our guests consider this to be a bonus and not
reason for complaint. The bath is standard i.e. at any hotel. An electrical plug/socket in a bathroom is illegal in Ireland
and is a breach of safety regulation so that is why you did not find one
there. (Shaver socket only permitted).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughgall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September and loved it. The bed was comfortable, and the room had a beautiful sea view. The moon shone obligingly. We found Dympna delightful, and her warmth communicated itself to the guests, so that in no time we were all chatting to each other over breakfast as if we'd known each other for ages. We liked the dogs and the new kittens too. The place is quiet and traditional, and a very short drive to the restaurants of Bantry. We recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianDrumherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Johnny and Dympna were wonderful. Room was a bit small but comfortable. Beautiful setting with great hospitality. Close to town.

We ran into some car trouble on our way here, notified Johnny, and he was kind enough to wait up for us and then help us to get settled in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent two nights June 22 & 23, 2013, at this very special place. Dympna and Johnny Crowley, the proprietors, were very welcoming, and went out of their way to make our stay very special. Johnny Crowley entertained us with some stories,, and with extreme concentration we were able to comprehend most of what he was saying. The rooms were very clean, and although the en suite bathroom was rather tiny it was very functional with an excellent shower.

The breakfast meals were superb. My wife, Daisy, was able to obtain porridge which Dympna took great pride in cooking to perfection. Of course I ate everything available (cereal, fresh fruit, scones,& yogurt, along with the traditional Irish breakfast served to perfection. Dympna did the cooking, and Johnny did the serving, thus taking credit for the amazing food and presentation.

The location of this B & B was perfect. A short drive into the quaint town of Bantry allowed us to visit The Bantry House & Gardens where the view, and the accompanying walled garden was a must see.. We also ate supper at the Bantry Bay Hotel where the food was excellent and reasonably priced. The Dromcloc B & B is located at the beginning of the Sheep's Head Peninsula, and the drive around this peninsula was one of the highlights of our 21-day trip. We were very proud that we, two senior citizens, were able to complete the challenging looped walk at the end of the peninsula. Also from our B & B we were able to drive around the Beara Peninsula. Both these peninsulas with their spectacular landscape & ruggedness were without a large influx of tourists. I must emphasize that the view from the Dromcloc B & B was itself spectacular overlooking Bantry Bay. A short 5 minute walk from the B & B, and we were able to walk along the shoreline.

Before leaving we were able to watch Dympna and Johnny's son, Enda, do the milking of their large Holstein herd. I must not forget to mention their very friendly and entertaining dog, Wally, who in our presence would constantly chase cows, chickens, or whatever farm animal he could find, and then return proudly for our approval. No doubt, when we return to Ireland, hopefully in the near future, we will make sure we again stay a couple evenings at least at this B & B.

Ron & Daisy Bell
Kitchener, Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bantry hotels
2.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#12 of 25 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.0 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Seafort Luxury Hideaway
Seafort Luxury Hideaway
#8 of 25 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromcloc House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromcloc House

Property: Dromcloc House
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside farmhouse bed and breakfast situated southwest of Bantry, Ireland overlooking beautiful Bantry Bay and Whiddy Island. Peaceful, quiet location at the beginning of the Sheepshead Peninsula. Highly recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dromcloc House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing