We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trawl & Trend - CLOSED

Trawl & Trend
Cuisines: Irish, Spanish, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We went for the fish but got steaks as they were doing a steak night. We were delighted though as the steaks were the best we have had in years. Nice trendy restaurant and the staff were very engaging and obviously very passionate about food. Would definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Maeve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Makes the right noises but the breakfast failed to back it up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place has received some attention and (pun aside) is one of the trendier places in Bantry. The vibe is good. The décor is right and nods are made in the right direction to what is currently in vogue. The owner / manager is engaging and informative and it's a generally welcoming place.
We went for breakfast and the food was disappointing. I got muesli instead of the granola on the menu with no explanation offered. The pancakes were odd, more like cookies, and the syrup served seemed to be golden rather than the advertised maple syrup. This is very unusual in my experience for a place that is generally perceived as good.
Ultimately the food must work and if it fails to then the rest really doesn't matter. A bad day?Maybe, but on the basis of this experience some questions need to be asked.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch with great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been to Trawl and Trend a few times for lunch now and have tried a few different things on the menu and I must say that I have never been disappointed. The food is always so flavoursome and you can tell the ingredients are fresh. From the fresh homemade breads to the artisan coffee and the rosemary infused water, attention to detail is a priority at T&T. The service is always great and Gareth is normally on hand to provide a great welcome as if you were coming in to his own home! The atmosphere is very relaxed and chilled out. Its a great place to meet friends or bring the family and the staff are so accommodating to kids of all ages. I couldn't recommend Trawl and Trend highly enough and it would make a great lunch spot to break up your day if you are travelling on along the Wild Atlantic Way because not only will you walk out refuelled and refreshed but the guys in there are fountains of information on all the local activities, places to stay, whatever you need! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Over-stretched?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were attending the music festival in Bantry and had understood that the restaurant could provide a quick meal in the early evening before the concert. In the event, it all turned out to be a bit of a rush with confusion over our order, and a lot of waiting around. Basically this is a tapas bar, and there were some interesting combinations and possibilities on the menu, but some of the fish was a bit lacking in flavour. Patatas bravas were good, though!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steak night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 10th July 2014 for dinner. The food was exquisite! Nicest steak we have eaten for years and the staff were very helpful n accommodating. Treat yourself if you are visiting Bantry. Locals are lucky!

Helpful?
Thank Female60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trawl & Trend also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing