We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
1 review
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We booked the Seamount Farmhouse B&B for two nights as we were travelling easily from Dingle towards Cork. Previous TripAdvisor contributors have not exaggerated about this place at all. This is a real B&B gem, run by two very guest-oriented people.
Whatever you wanted to know or to be explained about the farmhouse, the environment a.s.o. no effort was spared to provide the answers. I was asked to join a group of local walkers, what I did. This weekly trip (on the Sunday) this time went around Whiddy island (Bantry bay) and included detailed historic and geographic details by the guides Tommy and Charlie (the B&B host). A very interesting walk and a great day. Don’t miss this B&B if you are in the vicinity!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
81
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed three nights in this really nice B&B seamount farm on sheep head. When you arrive, you get hot scones and hot tea. The hosts are very helpful to chose the right walking tracks and even assisted with walking sticks - thank you again! Definetly a place to return to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuhausen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

The best B&B I have ever stayed in. The room was very nice and lovely decorated with high quality furniture. Moreover the room and the bathroom were very clean and in perfect condition. The breakfast was really incredible and rich.
The hosts were very polite and gave us a warm welcoming with offering tea and coffee.
The scenery around the house is stunning beautiful and the location is perfect for a recreative holiday. The next bigger town is Bantry which is just a 15 min drive away.
The only negative thing was to stay only 1 night there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias_Neuhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the world
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were not very impressed with our stay at the Seamount Farmhouse for several reasons. First of all, we were charged a high price for our stay because they did not have any family rooms available and had to put us in two separate rooms. The bill came out to 118 euros a night which was the most expensive B&B of our vacation and it just was not good value to us at all. If I were them I would either have found a solution to board us at a cheaper price more consistent with their standard offerings, or suggested us to stay elsewhere.

In addition the location is not for everybody-- it is about a 20 minute drive to the nearest restaurants in Bantry. With two small kids we would have liked to eat somewhere closer to the B&B if possible. A travel guide mentioned that they served evening meals but that was not the case-- they only serve breakfasts.

We did not find their breakfasts very exciting, in contrary to what other reviewers have said. And the service was somewhat simple and not very welcoming.

However we recommend this place to people who plan to hike or bike the Sheep's Head and are traveling without young children and would enjoy the isolation and silence and surroundings of this beautiful peninsula.

They also do a very good job of keeping their rooms very clean and ordered.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

You could not ask for a nicer place to stay. The rooms were spotless with a high quality of furniture. A wide choice of breakfast which was excellent. The hosts Julia and Charlie could not be more obliging, very friendly but also very professional.
The location is on the sheeps head peninsula about 12 kilometres out of Bantry.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe17
Level Contributor
180 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

My stay at this bed and breakfast couldn't have been better, except for maybe staying a week instead of one night. Charles and Julia have a wonderful bed and breakfast, and go way out of their way to make guests feel at home, from providing tea when we arrived to providing carrots to feed the donkey and pony. They shared the history of the property, which has been in Charles' family for 7 generations!
The rooms are very nicely appointed (including hair dryers!), clean and beautiful. The sitting areas for guests were very comfortable and cozy. My room overlooked the paddock where the donkey and pony stayed and I took so many pictures of them in the morning that I was almost late for breakfast! And the gardens surrounding the home are beautiful also.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

Because of a mix up at the airport, we didnt get to bantry until about 1030 at night and then we got lost. When we found a phone, we called and not only did the owners give us directions but they drove out to meet us so we could follow them back. When we arrived at the BB, we were offered delicious scones, tea and coffee. Our room was perfect. Very clean and had everything we needed. The window overlooked rolling green hills and water, everything Ireland is known for. Absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were very kind. My husband purposed to me there. Very romantic.
Bantry has the small, country town vibe. It has a great Italian restaurant, good pizza place, movie theatre, laundry place, internet cafe and great people.

  • Liked — Hospitality, the view and peace
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
7.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
8.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.8 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Seamount Goats Path Road | Glenlough West, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing