We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful BnB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful BnB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

A group of us stayed here in the middle of a long walk on Sheep's Head. This is an absolute gem of a place. The welcome could not have been warmer, nor the view from the double rooms and the garden more spectacular. I only wish we could have stayed (much much) longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
82
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend & I must say we were extended a warm welcome from proprieters Julie-Ann & Charlie, nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts were also very informative & provided us with details of what was available to do in the area. Our room was beautiful with lovely clean crisp bed linen and the views out the windows were just breath taking. The b&b is situated ideally for walkers and the scenery was incredible. Breakfast in the morning was perfect and Julie-Ann's homemade scones were delightful ! I can highly recommend this b&b and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was sad to leave this B&B -- on our 10 day trip along the Sheep's Head Way, we stayed at several different B&Bs, but Seamount took the top spot. Charlie, the owner, was knowledgeable of the walkways and the area sites, and welcomed our group of 12 with hospitality only the Irish could do so well. We stayed two nights. My husband and I had a cozy little room that was well worth the money. Breakfast was wonderful and our group even opted to have dinner prepared for us one evening which was more delicious than going out to a restaurant, which we did several times throughout our trip. Since we were the only ones staying there, we put the tables together in the long dining room and shared a very nice meal with lots of coffee and tea, accompanied by dessert and talk afterwards. I took a walk on the grounds and took in the wonderful view - lovely! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A group of five Sheepshead-walking women stayed at Sea Mount for two nights. The rooms, the food, the conviviality of other guests was excellent. When we showed disappointment that the scones we anticipated at our arrival had been eaten by other guests, our hostess was diligent about making sure we always had plenty of them the rest of the time. Our host was very knowledgeable about the history, geology and local lore, and shared them generously as he drove us around a bit. We would all heartily recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a single night midweek. The location of the house is just spectacular. As with many old houses in this area, the house is located to minimise the effects of wind and to maximise any sun. It's nestled into a hollow by the coast, but our room still had an amazing view back over the Durrus and Beara peninsulas. The bedroom was beautifully decorated, but the bathroom was a tad small. But all very clean. Be warned - there's no tv, at least in the room we had, but it didn't make a difference and was actually a pleasant surprise. For those with withdrawal symptoms there is a tv in the lounge downstairs. Breakfast was lovely. The hosts are lovely. Chatty, without being too intrusive. The man of the house is very much involved in walking/hiking, and is a treasure-trove of information. This is an ideal spot for a general break away from the general mayhem and would also be excellent for any hikers - they are clearly very welcomed here. The location is fantastic. And we'd also recommend a trip south over the mountain to a galvanised pub called the Ahakista Bar or more commonly 'The Tin Pub'! It's a fantastic spot. This area in general is the epitomy of that sometimes elusive Irish hospitality and charm. There is no better place in the country for a break away.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exile2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Seamount Farm is an out-of-the-ordinary Irish B&B experience. The location is stunning and the rooms comfy and clean. We really appreciated the peaceful location and opportunity to relax while enjoying the Sheep's Head peninsula. Charlie is very knowledgeable about local hiking and even loaned us a walking stick for our fabulous hike out to the Sheep's Head lighthouse. Don't miss Dun Oir pottery just down the farm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen55057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The B&B was in an amazing location. Our room overlooked the ocean and their beautiful garden. The rooms were decorated nicely and kept very clean. They were always willing to give us information about things to do and places to eat in the area. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mef789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
7.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
8.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.8 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.6 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
8.2 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Seamount Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Seamount Goats Path Road | Glenlough West, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing