We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight Of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight Of Our Trip”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The grounds here are full of lush greenery, wonderful views and character. The hotel is clean and the service was spectacular. The carriage house is charming and there is so much history in the tour. Breakfast was very nice. This is a family business and they take pride in showing their guests the treasures that exist on this property. Service was not in your face but very subtle. Perfect combination of history, relaxation and excitement. Truly felt welcomed while we stepped back in time to steal a glimpse of Irish history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again perhaps?
I will pass your comments onto my colleagues.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
116
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B and B for two nights. Helpful and friendly staff. Amazing breakfast, cozy reading spaces, brilliant billiards table, and gardens to die for! Loved the town, especially the quaint little bar celebrating their refrigerator's 70th birthday! Thanks to the staff at The bantry House for an amazing time!

Room Tip: the corner room overlooks the gardens and the bay.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello and thanks for writing such a glowing review. Sounds like you had fun in Ma Murphy's pub celebrating the fridge's birthday! great story!
Thanks again, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Although the house is very much work in progress the rooms are extremely well furnished and complete with every modern comfort expected. It was lovely to be greeted personally by Sophie - we were immediately made to feel welcome and not at all intimidated by the stately home status of the building. The views of the garden from Room 21 were superb.Access to the house and gardens is included in the booking. We were encouraged to enjoy the library room in the evening when the house was closed to visitors. A large fire welcomed us and I enjoyed every minute snuggled up in my snuggly armchair, soaking up the history of the place. Breakfast was served on a beautiful set of china with the family crest on. All in all my favourite place to stay ever.

Room Tip: We had twin bedded room number 21 which was very comfortable and had great views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthumberlandJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. What a lovely review it is too. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and relaxed in the Library in the evenings - its a pretty special room. Hope to see you here again, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a neat experience it was to stay in this fine B&B! It was our first experience with a B&B and our favourite one as well in all of Ireland!! The rooms were so comfortable and cozy, and the view out to the garden was spectacular!! Breakfast was delicious, as well as the eating area was an experience in itself. If you can book into this place, it is definitely worth your money as well as your time in Ireland :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrsgotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and lovely to read you enjoyed what we offer. Important that your first experience of a B&B is a good one and glad we managed that.
Thanks again, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Our room was comfortable and looked out on to the beautiful garden. Breakfast was yummy with scones that were out of this world. We felt very privileged to be able to stay at this magical place. Many thanks to Sophie anf her staff for a delightful stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our second visit within a year. This time we took an American friend whose comment was 'Wow - this is a dream come true!' Location, rooms, breakfasts, house, people - all excellent. It was a delight to meet Sophie and Dee again (wonderful hosts) and all the staff. We wish them every success. Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: Having stayed in, or seen, many of the rooms, it is clear they are to the same high standard; roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJWokingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello and so great to read your review. it was wonderful to catch up again last month and your surprise for your friend couldn't have worked out better!
Plans for next year yet???!!!

See you both soon I hope
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Staying at Bantry House is a unique experience. Not only are the grounds beautiful, and the house itself a wonderful slice of history (the B&B is run by a descendant of the Earl of Bantry who lives in the house), but the room we had was very beautiful, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean and updated (heated floor was particularly nice). You also had access to a wonderful library room, which put you right into the mood of the 19th century. It is located on it's own property so it was very peaceful and quite around the grounds, which added to it's appeal as a unique place to stay. Breakfast was very nice, as there are only eight rooms to let, it was very quiet at breakfast and service was very personal. Staying on-site afforded us an early morning access to tour the house, which was fascinating to see. Great experience if you can get a room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCL613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Hope to see you again another time
Best wishes,
Sophie Shelswell-White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
164 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast
Bantry House Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing