We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have spent a week here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could have spent a week here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travelled around Ireland for 2 weeks in May 2012. The entire country is gorgeous, friendly, easy to tour by car and so worth seeing. The Irish are so warm and friendly especially to Americans. We stayed in many wonderful hotels and B & B's but I must say our favorite was Bantry House. It is located along the southern coast in Bantry Bay and is a good location to use as a base for The Beara Peninsula (Do not miss- better and less crowded than the Ring of Kerry) and many of the other charming towns along the southern coast.

The Bantry House is a stately historic home that has been in the same family since the 1700's. It is now run by the owners daughters and son in law. They are an absolutely delightful family, so warm and friendly. They make all the difference because they are helpful, kind and seem to be unaffected by the incredible surroundings they have grown up in. The gardens alone are worth the visit to Bantry. But staying there makes a guest feel so very special as you are one of only a few guests staying in the home at night and you have the place to yourself so you really feel like you are living in a dream. Its like a mini version of Highclere Castle (Downtown Abbey). The rooms are lovely, enormous, have modern baths and have gorgeous views of the bay or the gardens, (we had both-just awesome). At night you have full and private use of the library and a drawing room with a roaring fire, and an honor bar. The antiques in this room will cause jaw drop. The breakfast is fantastic with a buffet of everything you could want and in addition they offer a hot dish. The breakfast room is charming and luxurious too. They do not serve dinner but there were several excellent restaurants in town which was a very easy and pretty walk from Bantry House.

All in all this was one of the great experiences of our trip to Ireland and one we will never forget. We felt it was also an amazing value for the type of property this is. Elsewhere the price would be double what we paid. We loved that there were only a handful of rooms so it was not crowded with tourists. Highly recommended to anyone with discriminating taste.

Room Tip: Upper floor with view of Bay and Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thesurfmeetstheturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We hope you will be able to visit us again. We are now getting ready for another busy season!
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
116
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Book a B&B room at the Bantry House. limited rooms so book quick. clasical and spacious rooms with modern bathrooms. Groundfloor: Biljartroom with fireplace. Good breakfast in nice athmosphere. Friendly personel who know how to welcome guests and proud about their location. Nice garden, unforgetable views (even in the rain).
In the morning (after you slept here,had breakfast) visit the museum and it feels like you lived here as a Duke.

Room Tip: limited rooms (believe 7) so book quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Mark U,
i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us last year and thank you for reviewing. Hopefully next time you come to visit the weather will be a bit nicer!!!
Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Bantry House is a treat--gorgeous and stately with gardens and bay view to calm one's soul. Breakfast was wonderful. The hospitality was gracious. This is a must-stay spot for any traveler to the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to enjoy a turret room with views on 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
dear Jane P
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon,
Sophie Shelswell-White, GM Bantry House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

A wonderful ,historic house in a fabulous location.The B&B rooms are finished to a very high standard,the breakfast is excellent and the service second to none.We would love to return to further explore West Cork and would definitely make this our base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill50p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear gill50p
lovely to read your wonderful review and let us know when you plan to come back so we can make sure we have a room for many nights for you!
Best, Sophie Shelswell-White, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent three wonderful nights in the historic surrounds of Bantry House.The house and grounds are beautiful but they have also played a significant role in Irish history and it is to the credit of the Shelswell-White family that they have worked hard to maintain it and the valuable objects it houses while still retaining the feel of a family home, which of course it is first and foremost. The guest accommodation has been elegantly and sensitively renovated. My room was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the hundred steps. I spent each evening snuggled up in front of one of the fires in the library of the house which becomes the guest sitting room when the house closes to the public in the evening. This stunning room has to be seen to be believed. Guests have complimentary access to the house and grounds and no-one who stays here should miss out on exploring this piece of living history. The breakfast is ample,tasty, of very high quality and beautifully served.The smell of the freshly baked scones as you come down the stairs in the morning will remain with you and the ladies in charge of the kitchen and breakfast room are treasures. The family, Sophie, her Mom and sister whom I also met are among the warmest and most welcoming people you could hope to meet. You feel like a welcome guest and if only for a short time part of history. I cannot recommend Bantry House highly enough. It is the perfect place for a romantic break, a relaxing stress free weekend, a base for exploring West Cork or just a treat for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear mollym1962
It really was a pleasure having you to stay. I m glad you felt so comfortable and relaxed which is exactly how we want our guests to feel. Looking forward to seeing you again one day!
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sadly only one night at Bantry House as they had no vacancy for a further night. It was such a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful house. A bonus were the log fires blazing at each end of the library which was for the exclusive use of the guests after the public had left for the day. Our bedroom (one of the large ones) was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and we were sad to leave after a walk in the gardens. The family can be really proud of what they are doing and we sincerely hope they make it even more successful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJWokingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MJJWokingEngland
Please do come and stay again and Ill make sure we have a room for more than one night! I am glad you enjoeyd your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband & I arrived in Bantry for 1 night during the middle of our honeymoon. We were both just enchanted by this beautiful house & its lovely gardens, which are very whimsical. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed, but I knew that going in & wanted to splurge a little. I'm so glad I did because we definitely loved this little oasis of a stop in between Kinsale & Dingle. We also enjoyed Bantry, which was more lively than expected, although it was a Friday night.

Our room was adorable & the bathroom had heated floors, which we both were obsessed with :). Also, we had a gorgeous view of the gardens. We did walk up all the steps & it was worth it for the pictures & view that it provided. Breakfast was delicious & the people we met were very friendly.

We would definitely return & would love to renew our wedding vows here in 10 years :). It's just a lovely place.

Tom & Katie Morley

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room here! We just had a standard room & it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House B&B, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Morley
thank you for such a smashing review and I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Congratulations and looking forward to seeing you again on you anniversary!
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast
Bantry House Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing