We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled timeless elegance”
Review of Bantry House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bantry House B&B
Ranked #2 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Unspoiled timeless elegance”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The house and gardens are, or should be, a national treasure. What distinguishes it from other fine homes is its continued ownership and occupation by one family for several generations. The furnishings and rooms are exquisite, The dining room still has its chandeliers intact, still with candles and the most extraordinary sideboards, wine coolers etc. It has 180+ degree views over and across Bantry Bay and yet is adjacent to the town centre with its shops and restaurants nestled at the end of the bay. The gardens and lawns surround the classic structure providing a quiet and beautiful environment. Our room, with en suite, wifi etc. was large and comfortable. What a pleasure it was to wake up to those wonderful views, the garden and bay on one side and the magnificent and original stables to the rear. With hand tooled leather wall and door coverings intact notwithstanding their age, the silks around fireplaces marble columned grand library and drawing rooms, its special charm is its originality, having not been subject to the brutal modernisation suffered by other classic houses. Breakfast in the old coal cellar is delightful. Our stay at Bantry House was the highlight of our 8 days in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
121
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Bantry House was our second stop while touring Ireland. It is over the top for a B&B. The rooms and property are exquisite. Sofia and her family are very gracious hosts. They made reservations at O'Connors for dinner.
Our room had a great view of the gardens. We ventured down to the billiards room and study after the house had been closed to visitors for the evening.
The breakfast was well done on gorgeous plates.
We toured the grounds before setting off to see other places

Room Tip: Book early. This is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scubabob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Sometimes you break out and treat yourself and sometimes you regret it, but not this time.
The accommodation is really special, the bed luxurious, the shower decent and the breakfast matches the rest of the quality. For the rest of our trip around Cork/Kerry we stayed in "ordinary" but mostly very good B&Bs this was a very nice treat in the middle and the cost of €220 for two was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThomasFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a treat it was spending one night in this beautiful mansion. Our room was large, well decorated and had a splendid view of the Victorian gardens. We enjoyed after hours access to the library, snooker room, and lounge. Walks around the gardens and rolling estate were delightful. The "innkeepers" we're delightful and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Imagine spending the night in a house will furnishing form Versailles and gardens that even the Queen would admire. That is Bantry House. It's the real deal, a true historic home with art and furnishing to dazzle even the most jaded. This is not a "restoration", dolled up for tourists, but the actual ancestral home of the White family, who are kind enough to invite a few privileged travelers to stay. Don't plan to do anything else while you are there...just walk the gardens and enjoy the surroundings [and play a game of billiards in the original 1800's billiard room]. And, if you've been holding back on breakfast, do spurge here. One of the best in Ireland, and you dine on plates bearing the family crest. Also, make sure to arrange for a private tour from Sophie. There's just too much history here to sort out yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, but higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DivePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I cannot add much to all the other reviews only to say I too had a delightful stay; it really is so, so much better than any Hotel.
If you want slick and corporate - this is not the place; if you want a beautiful backdrop of an historic house and gardens with simple but sensitively created bedrooms, decor (and surprisingly good en suite bathrooms) put together with a excellent breakfast (Mary will sort you out if you have particular food requirements) then you will just love this house.
Its delightful the way the accommodation integrates with the house and gardens during the day and in the evening limited access to the snooker room/ serve yourself bar and little snug sitting areas work very well.
With the paintings (and Dutch? sketches in the small evening room, somewhat quirky) there is plenty to provide interest - and amusement, there are some very dashing gents and foxy ladies hanging on those walls.....
I found the little Icon bureau in the chapel room intriguing, am not sure how that came to be there.
All of this is of course is topped by the family, very down to earth and Sophie's natural ability to make you feel so welcome and at home as did all the staff. The directions I received from Sophie to explore the Sheep's Head peninsular were very helpful.
Its my personal view of course but I found the whole thing absolutely spot on.
NB There are no lunch and evening meal provisions (there is afternoon tea in the House) but there are a few varied restaurants down in the town, of those I tried, 'Conners' is pretty good.
Ray K London

Room Tip: My room was No. 20 very simple, comfy double bed and overlooked the garden - it suited me perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My fiancee and I spent time last October at Bantry House. We have a shared love of old houses and Irish history and this place is just amazing. You can feel the history and importance of this place as soon as you enter it. We had a little lunch in the on house cafe, excellent home made produce which was faultless. We were particularly impressed with the range of gluten free produce given my fiancee is celiac.

Cant wait to return here again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank C0lette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.4 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
169 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
495 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry House B&B

Property: Bantry House B&B
Address: Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast at Bantry House has 6 rooms and is located in the main house just off the library in the east wing. We offer 4 double rooms and 2 twin rooms all ensuite, non-smoking and with beautiful views of the garden. Two of our double rooms also look out over Bantry Bay. Breakfast is served on the ground floor offering a buffet selection of fruits, local cheeses and cured meats and cereal and cooked to order breakfast from the kitchen. Guests have exclusive use of a billiard room and can pour themselves a drink from the honesty bar and relax with a book in the library beside the fire. Guests can also visit the other main rooms of the house and the formal garden. A guided tour with Sophie Shelswell-White the General Manager and daughter of the owner can be arranged in advance by request. Guests can also book afternoon tea served in the library or outside in the garden. There is also a small day time room service menu available and drinks and treats on arrival can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bantry House Hotel Bantry
Bantry House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing