We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this needy home and stunning garden not to mention the view!!!”

Bantry House & Garden
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bantry House and Garden is a stately home in southwest Ireland situated right on Bantry Bay with panoramic views of the bay and the caha mountains. The estate is owned by Egerton and Brigitte Shelswell-White and is managed by their daughter Sophie and her partner Josh. It has been in the family since the 1700s. The house contains original furniture and objects d'art. The garden is laid out over 7 terraces with a fountain, large wisteria circle and 100 steps leading up to the woodland. The house, garden and tearoom is open to the public daily from easter to october. The estate hosts weddings, music festivals and fairs. We have a separate review page for our B&B accommodation.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited on a rainy day and sat in the beautiful, tasty tea rooms, not realising we could self guide ourselves around the house. What a great shame i didn't spend ALL our time allotted in the house!!such an interesting house with those furnishing and tapestries. Really worth your support as so worth saving! Everone trying so hard. Gardens lovely - even in the drizzle. Do take a moment to look out over Bantry Bay!

1  Thank chrissyBQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks for visiting and sorry you didn't have enough time. We have just been on a tv show on ABC Australia called Country House Rescue which might interest you.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 351 of 544 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unfortunately, the house was closed for a photo shoot the day of my visit, but the beautiful gardens were well worth the visit. The magnificent steps leading up from the garden have a fabulous view of the house and the bay. Don't miss the wonderful cafe!

1  Thank 12thNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

hello and thanks for reviewing. Sorry the house was closed to you that day, we hosted a fashion shoot for anthropologie. Perhaps its an excuse to come back to Ireland again in the future!
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Bantry House & Gardens are in such a beautiful position overlooking peaceful Bantry Bay, Whiddy island, & Kerry mountains & Hungry Hill in the distance. I walked the avenue leading to the imposing gates of the house and felt I was travelling back in time.The house was built in 1700 and contains many important works of art, the furniture and wall hanging some came from France after the revolution are simply wonderful. Beautiful Blue dining room with huge works at art I loved the portrait of Princess Charlotte daughter of King George1V, music/library room, bedrooms with four poster beds, also on views costumes worn in the period. The front of the house by the battlement or at the old canon guns that protected the house and bay in the past have stunning view, however to find the best views one has to climb up the 100 steps behind the house by the Italian Garden and lovely fountain and Wow what views simply breathtaking. In springtime the gardens are so colourful surrounded by azaleas and rhododendron. This house and grounds are so important full of history and I am sure the upkeep must be tremendous and a great task for the family who live and run the estate. Finally we visited the tea room there and enjoyed the cake and coffee - delicious. A visit to Bantry House is a must and not to be missed.

1  Thank clicker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing in such detail which is wonderful to read. I am sure we will see you at Bantry again
best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a nice stop on our way from Killarney to Mizen head. Walking to grounds you could feel what it was like back in all its glory. Again the views are awesome. Worth the stop if your just passing through.

Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks for visiting and glad you enjoyed our ongoing restoration of the garden. That's a great trip Killarney via Bantry to the Mizen.
Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have waited years to get here and it didn't disappoint. From the friendly staff to the uncommercialised visit to ten rooms in the house this counts as my favourite visit of the holiday. You are lent a folder with useful information about the objects in the rooms and trusted to get on with it at your own pace. My only regret was that photography was not allowed inside and that the guidebook which is available for purchase is not illustrated. The few postcards of the rooms really didn't do them justice and I would love a photo of the brilliant blue dining room to savour for years to come! We more or less had the house to ourselves which added to the atmosphere.

Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thanks so much for your glowing review. I would be happy to send you on a photo of the Dining Room if you would like to email me sophie@bantryhouse.com. Over the winter I am working on an illustrated booklet that will be for sale next year.
Best wishes,
Sophie Shelswell-White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantry House & Garden also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to Bantry House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing