We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bantry Bay all the way!”
Review of The Bantry Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bantry Bay
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Bantry Bay Hotel is a pure joy to stay in. The location is heavenly - scenic but central. Everything you need is literally on your doorstep. They have lovely food and it's available all day. The service is incredibly friendly. Other restaurants abound in the area but the hotel restaurant excels in quality. The food is simple, wholesome and well-presented.

There are occasional music sessions in the bar with a wide variety of very talented singers and guitarists and some good accordion players. It finished up by 11.30pm and was great fun. Just down the street from the hotel you can take boat trips to Whiddy Island at the pier,
and there are lots of different sea-side walks all within walking distance of this hotel. The sunsets were just beautiful.

To summarise - I can't wait to go back. The staff were very kind and obliging and made me feel very welcome at all times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alejestem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Whilst the hotel room is clean and roomy, for the 80 euro charged - per night double room (incl breakfast) it is expensive and you wont receive much value - parking is in the street, WiFi not available in rooms and and a fair bit of outside noise (street facing room) and creaky stairs and ceiling. Have stayed in similar hotels for 15 -20 euro less. Right at the start/finish of tourist route, the hotel is average and seems to be cashing in.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed in this nightmare of a hotel last Saturday 24th August 2013
There is a night club within the building booming out loud noise until the early hours of the morning with shouting and screaming teenagers outside the hotel also the smoke detector went off at 2.30 in the morning.
When we complained that we hadn't had a wink of sleep all night
We was told what did we expect when staying in the town centre
SO IT WAS OUR FAULT

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian o, Owner at The Bantry Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Michael K,
Thank you for your recent review of the Bantry Bay Hotel. It is most unfortunate that your experience with us was such a negative one and this is something which we find most regrettable.
Street noise is a recurring problem at weekends in the Wolfe Tone Square area of Bantry owing to the high incidence of hospitality businesses (including our own nightclub) in this area and also the square’s popularity as a gathering place. This problem is largely confined to Saturday nights and is most pronounced during the summer months.
It is precisely because it is a recurring problem that we make all prospective Saturday night guests aware of the street noise issue so that they can make an informed decision as to whether to stay with us or not. Some decide that they would prefer to stay somewhere quieter while others predict that they too will be letting their hair down and so decide to stay.
While, presumably, you considered these factors and decided to stay, I apologise if the staff member you spoke to on Sunday morning conveyed to you that somehow you were at fault because you didn’t fully appreciate the potential for street noise on Wolfe Tone Square as outlined to you.
As for the late night alarm, it was a hotel guest’s attempts to have a furtive smoke in their non-smoking bedroom which triggered it and, again, I apologise sincerely for the disturbance.
In conclusion, I express once more our regret at your disappointing experience. However, I do think it is important to acknowledge the honest and proactive way in which we communicate with our potential customers on this difficult issue.
Yours sincerely,
Vivian O’Callaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in the Bantry Bay Hotel for one evening. The staff were helpful and friendly. They even rang the manager at home to help sort out my wireless! The room and facilities were in good shape and condition. The value was the most astounding, as I got a value price, that even Travelodge would be shouting about. And to top it all, the great price also included the full Irish breakfast which was in reality an all you can eat buffet. A great way to start the another day of trekking around the Beara peninsula, or the Ring of Kerry (both within easy reach of Bantry town).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Corlione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian o, Owner at The Bantry Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Corlione,
Thank you sincerely for your recent review. We work hard to ensure a positive guest experience and it is most encouraging to get good feedback.
Our thanks again.
Yours sincerely,
Vivian O'Callaghan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in a twin room 9 August 2013. Spotless room with a great shower with lots of towels. Late breakfast freshly cooked and served by a lovely friendly lady. Definitely recommend this hotel however please note you need to be in the full of your health as we stayed on the third floor, no lift!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We called in for lunch here last week while on a day trip to Sheeps Head. The typical Irish "Summer" had returned, but a warm wlecome awaited us in the bar, where we ordered from the Bar Menu. The waiting staff were very attentive, and what seemed like a mother and son (proprietors?) were behind the bar also. The place was quite busy at lunchtime, and there was a good mix of "locals" waiting for the bus back home, Irish visitors such as ourselves, and US, and European tourists. Food was very filling, tasty, and served with a smile by staff who were interested in what they were doing. When settling the bill, the lady behind the counter engaged in polite conversation, and hoped that the break in the weather was only a temporary thing (unfortunately not!). The menu was extensive, and the specials were plentiful also. One thing I noticed is that they advertised speciality/artisan local beers. If I wasn't driving, I would have liked to sample some. I would recommend a visit here for a tasty lunch with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Crimson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed in the Bantry Bay Hotel last weekend with my partner and we would both recommend staying here.Located in the town centre the rooms are dated but this adds to the charm of the place as we got a proper old-fashioned welcome and felt very well looked after by all the staff we met. This is hard to come by these days and most hotels, even when they are friendly and welcoming, still leave you with the feeling that you are only passing through. Not so in the Bantry Bay Hotel. It is obvious that the staff are well looked after by the owners because they all seem happy to work there and are delighted to have you to stay, even if only for one night. The food was traditional but delicious and there is a huge choice of craft beers and ciders in the bar.At only 90 euros for B+B per couple there is nothing to complain about in the Bantry Bay Hotel and we look forward to returning there again.

Room Tip: As mentioned in other reviews there is no lift so if you have mobility problems request a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,228 reviews
1 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
647 reviews
3 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
529 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
427 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bantry Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bantry Bay

Address: Wolfe Tone Square | Bantry, West Cork, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range: $93 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit The Bantry Bay on Wolfe Tone Square and enjoy the great atmosphere in our bar, restaurant, and nightclub. At the Bantry Bay, you're just a moment's walk from the famous Bantry harbour, local shops and restaurants, and Bantry House. There's a warm welcome to be found here for anyone looking to enjoy fresh local food, great company, and - of course - a warm Irish welcome. The Bantry Bay - formerly O'Callaghan's Hotel - has been a favourite for West Cork's locals and tourists for decades. Whether you're enjoying our hospitality with friends in our traditional Irish pub, listening to local musicians, hosting a celebration to remember in the function room, or enjoying a night out in the WILD nightclub, you'll have a wonderful time right here in the heart of Bantry. Start planning your visit to our beautiful part of the Wild Atlantic Way! All rooms are currently under renovation and will be open for July 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bantry Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Hotel
Bay Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing