We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just let the magic unfold”
Cottage & Studio, with views over Dunmanus Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage & Studio, with views over Dunmanus Bay
Outdoor solar-heated pool Cottage from the hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Cottage & Studio, with views over Dunmanus Bay
Outdoor solar-heated pool
Cottage from the hill
Studio from the pool
Cottage terrace &  BBQ area
Studio with sea views
Cottage with open fire
Cottage - kitchen with Rayburn range cooker
Cottage - sun room
The Cottage master bedroom, with king-sized iron bed, en suite shower room & sea views
Cottage roll-top bath
Cottage - twin bedroom
Cottage - single bedroom
Studio - open-plan lounge/kitchenette
Studio - kitchenette with hob, microwave, fridge etc
Studio - king bedroom with en suite shower room and sea/pool views
Studio - sun room with twin day bed, en suite shower and door to pool and patio.
Studio - en suite shower room (1 of 2)
Studio - sun room with pool views
Cottage - original stone walls
Sheeps Head Lighthouse
Sheeps Head Peninsula
Dooneen Pier
Sunrise over Laharandota
Old Grain Store & Durrus Quay, Dunmanus Bay
Dunmanus Bay - view from Reenmore
Dunmanus Bay - sunset from Blairs Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bantry, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mcb789
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just let the magic unfold”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Extremely efficient and helpful owner and caretaker. Superb cottage, lots of light, great in all weathers. It's almost as if the cottage belonged to a dear friend who had left everything well equipped, bright and cosy with just you in mind. It was uncanny - I almost felt that the guidebooks, artbooks and novels that were around had been handpicked for me. The surroundings - sea, hills, heathers - are stunning. Just let the magic unfold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmahnort...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Undoubtedly the best holiday cottage I've stayed in. Beautiful.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Laharandota is a gem of a place to stay. With a fantastic location - that would be beautiful in rain or sun ( we were lucky to get the sun), this is a remarkably special cottage. Julie, the owner, has filled the cottage with beautiful, tasteful items and everything you could possibly need is on hand. I have nothing negative to say about our stay here, as we couldn't stop talking about how lucky we were to have found it. From the stunning sun room, to the antique stove in the main bedroom, to the homely Rayburn stove and of course, the pool - that made us feel like we were in the Greek islands - Laharandota is as good as Ireland gets. We'll definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design, sea views, log fire, sense of luxury
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenyaz
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Magical -amazing, comfortable , breathtaking views”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

everything is thought of down to personal touch's -- the cottage and studio are beautiful -- a place i want to retire to --where you can leave the every day worries behind ---breathtaking views which can be explored on bikes -- a glass a wine in the garden --reading in the conservatory ---the amazing kitchen and stove ---- swimming pool with views all around -- you need never leave --- bit a trip to edge of sheeps head is and walk to lighthouse is well worth it :-) Julie makes eveything effortless

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing i disliked
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairecla...
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truely wonderful”
Reviewed March 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the Artist's Cottage was just perfect. The location is spectacular and the house is just beautiful with astonishing attention to detail. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A Little Bit of Paradise on Sheep's Head”
Reviewed October 9, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Our trip to the Artist’s Cottage was more perfect than we could have ever expected. Despite the bad weather, the cottage’s setting is breathtaking and peaceful, ample food for the soul. Inside the house is extremely inviting with comfortable bedding and a cosy fireplace with an generous supply of firewood. The bathrooms and kitchen are fitted out to the highest standards and those who enjoy cooking will relish the Rayburn stove and lovely Le Creuset and Chasseur cookware. I especially got a kick out of the self-closing drawers and cupboards! Even for those who are not usually partial to cooking up a storm it is hard to resist the country charm of the kitchen and the compulsion to prepare some freshly baked bread. Julie really thinks of everything to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible with board games, DVD’s, guide books and an iPod dock supplied. Unfortunately due to the weather we didn’t get to try out the swimming pool but hopefully we will have better luck on our next visit. I can’t recommend the Artist’s Cottage highly enough for anyone looking for a peaceful retreat whether it be to huddle with a good book by the fire or hike around the Sheep’s Head Way. The Artist’s Cottage provides the comfort and luxury of a fine hotel but with the freedom and privacy that you can only get from self-catering. Our holiday was just for myself and my husband but I can imagine it would be equally ideal for a family or group of friends. We will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laharandota is a gem of a property, beautifully furnished in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed October 5, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Our second trip to Laharandota was even better than our first. The Artists Cottage and Studio are so beautifully furnished with wonderful sea views, paintings by local artists, a conservatory to dream in. The area is rich with fabulous walks, stunning scenery and the Irish welcome is warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish decoration in cottage
Liked least: journey to Swansea
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crellis
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage, in a perfect location”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed at the cottage and annex for a week earlier in the month. It id just the most beautiful cottage and an inspiration to anyone who loves their interior design! That aside the location on the Sheepshead Penisula is just beautiful, with dramatic weather and big views on your doorstep. The weather was kind to us and we managed to use the plunge pool everyday, as my 3 year old son loved it. We walked to the end of the penisula which has the most stunning views. Highly recommend this cottage, I wish I could have picked it up and taken it home with me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful relaxed interiors
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing