We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippy heaven!”
Review of Organico Cafe

Organico Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Organico Cafe serves an amazing range of delicious, heathy foods. (Just read the reviews!) Our menu is bursting with fresh goodness! We make everything in our own kitchen using fresh ingredients that are predominantly organic or locally grown. Our menu changes every day and includes incredible salads, amazing melts and comforting stews, with locally sourced meat and fish as well as a large range of vegetarian and vegan dishes. We pride ourselves on our coffee, which is an Irish artisan roasted award winning organic coffee and we have the biggest selection of drinks in west cork from over 20 different herbal teas, to matcha lattes to homemade keffirs and homemade mint hot chocolate! We serve raw milk, organic milk, coconut milk and soya milk. Our Cafe is modern, spacious and bright and is set out on two floors. We have a family friendly zone with a play area upstairs. We have free wifi and a relaxing couch zone. We serve breakfast till 11.30 (12 on Saturdays).
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hippy heaven!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Organico is a bright spacious cafe, upstairs with a health food shop downstairs. They have delicious home made cakes many of which cater for gluten free etc. I dined with kids, who couldn't get the usual pizza/nuggets here (thank God!) so they had a platter of a variety of salads (not leafy or green). I think there was carrot, ginger and seaweed, coleslaw and a couscous or rice based one. They enjoyed trying out these new flavours and textures. I had a larger portion of the same- absolutely delicious creative salads, with a good blob of hummus and nice brown bread rolls. I'm not sure if it's exclusively vegetarian or not (think so) but you won't even think of meat when you taste the gorgeous salads. The cafe has couches to relax in and plenty toys to keep the kids entertained, many people seemed to be busy on computers, so prob free wi fi. We had cherry choc cake and coffee cake which were fabulous, though a tad expensive. The only weak point I would mention is the staff: quite aloof and make you feel like you're annoying them when you enquire about menu. Overall, divine, innovative food in nice surroundings

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momo2836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Momo 2836,

Thanks for your review, the title of which make me smile (my father who started the Cafe would have smiled also!)

I'm sorry you found the service aloof - we do try to be the opposite! You must come again and visit us in our new downstairs Cafe - it's a very different and we hope much better experience than it was upstairs. For example you can see straight into the kitchen now (it used to be in a different building) so finding out what soup is on today is so much easier!

I am delighted though that you and your children enjoyed the food. We are always thrilled when kids eat our food as we are well aware of the challenges of feeding small people healthily. Well done you for bringing them up to be willing to try new things.

Thanks for your comments, and hopefully see you all again soon,

Warm Regards

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    52
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much improved Coffee”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Food is still superb and the new layout works well now people are getting the hang of where to go on entry. Am very pleased to say the coffee seems consistantly good now, including the new bulletproof variety, although it does carry a premium price. Highly recommend to anyone conscious of what they eat. Am not fond of the little open bowls of salt and pepper that people can stick fingers into, even if it is Malden salt flakes which are easily the best you can get ! Overall a great eating experience. Well done.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Dennis,

Thanks for reviewing us again, and for your repeated custom, which is hugely appreciated. We are very glad you like the new coffee, it's a high altitude organic bean, roasted in Wicklow, and since we got our new machine in November we have been much happier with the results - thanks for noticing!
I think you might be right though about the little bowls of salt and pepper (Irish Atlantic Sea Salt by the way! The Irish version of Maldon ;-)) Like a few other things we are trying out they may go by the wayside.
Please continue to give us any comments you have as we really do want to know what you think, it helps us to constantly improve our service and our products.

Warm Regards and see you again soon,

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownies to die for”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This newly refurbished cafe is just what Bantry needed. Great coffee delicious cakes and salads, perfect place to meet friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Maureen,

I'm so glad you think we did the right thing in expanding! It makes it all worthwhile to get positive feedback such as yours. Thanks so much and see you soon! (And glad you like the brownies too...;-))

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very bright airy restaurant, staff vey helpful and friendly. Food fresh and delicious. Free newspapers and wifi

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnCork63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Anne,

Thanks for your comments; I am really glad you like our new Cafe.

Hope to see you again soon!

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, worth a visit! ”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch on 10th July 2014. Cafe has been remodelled n looks great! Hannah n staff are very friendly n efficient. Food is superb...we had fab salads, frittata n coffee n tea...reasonably priced n generous portions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Female60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahJaneDare, Owner at Organico Cafe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for coming - we are delighted you enjoyed the food and liked our new Cafe.

Warm Regards

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Organico Cafe also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to Organico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing