We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful deli/coffee shop”
Review of Manning's Emporium

Manning's Emporium
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We specialise in the best local food that west Cork has to offer. Our menu includes tasting plates of local cheese and cured meats as well as a great selection of tapas dishes with a local twist. We also stock an extensive range of fine wines and local produce, cheese a speciality.
County Cork , Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful deli/coffee shop”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Have read the other reviews which say it all really. We like the slightly "trendy" ambiance. Like the idea of the books and newspapers which means that they welcome you to bide awhile without being rushed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    40
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“wonderful wonderful wonderful”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Have been coming to west cork forever and no trio is complete without a visit to mannings emporium. It has been turned into a wonderful coffee shop as well as keeping the deli intact, wesat outside with a delicious coffee and walnut cake and a lemon drizzle cake, both to die for, cappuchino thebedt I havetasted. Val manning pulled up a chair for a chat, a lovely man who knows his produce inside out, sources wonderful local food and persuaded us to buy a delicious oak smoked duck breast, produced in ballydehob. A true local hero, west cork would not be the same if it wasnt for our fix of mannings cheeses, home made breads and any other goodies.
Everyone, do not bypass this wonderful little store, ballylickey, west cork. On the road from bantry to glengarrif.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eibhlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a late lunch on a recent trip to West Cork on the recommendation of a friend. The food did not disappoint, wonderful cheese, bread and meats. More suited to the grown ups rather than for all the family based on the food offerings. Loved the food and would definitely return as a couple rather than with the kids.

Bathroom could do with a major overhaul though!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Ireland”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Mannings Emporium is a cross between a cafe, a delicatessen and a top end wine merchants. The coffee is excellent, the wine even better, and the cheese tasting platter is one of the best things you can order anywhere in Ireland: the cheese is local, and kept absolutely perfectly. Given the quality of all these elements, the price is remarkably reasonable. The staff are friendly and easy-going, but also efficient and knowledgeable. And finally, it is idyllically situated. A wonderful place to stop, and chat, and eat and drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatildaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“At your leisure?”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stopped at one of our favourite cafés for cafe and a snack on our way to Bantry. We had cafe and scones and cheese plate which we enjoyed. When finished we were browsing through the newspapers , and we were asked were we finished as there were people waiting for the table. In previous visits we always relaxed in front of the fire with newspapers at our leisure, but alas business only now...felt we were rushed out. Disappointed,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manning's Emporium also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to Manning's Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing