We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Myself and friends stayed here in the self contained bungalow for two nights. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. The host Josephine was marvellous and even baked us an apple pie to welcome us! The house is well appointed and in a beautiful location, the beds and bathrooms are great as is the well furnished kitchen. The house has so many personal touches such as games and books for guests that we're thinking of another visit. Bantry is the perfect west cork getaway and Edencrest is the perfect place from which to launch your adventure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenRoberts1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
104
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Four of us stayed here, in a three bedroom bungalow for self catering. We were very happy with the size, comfort and set up of the property and were made very welcomed by Josephine up on arrival. Irish coffees were offered and on our first morning Josephines husband Barry brought us freshly baked crossaints for breakfast. They gave us great advise on where to eat and what to see. We all felt that this was a lovely place to stay and hope to come back one day. The walk into the centre of Bantry took us about 20 minutes and we had fun trying out the towns fitness equipment that is placed along the seafront walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

A great B&B on a great location, with beautiful view over the bay, perfect rooms with very good beds and with a very nice bathroom with a shower and very large bath, and what a breakfast! We for sure will be back when we are in this part of Ireland again! Bantry itself is a very nice place also, next time we will be sure to stay at least two or three days to see even more. Josephine and her husband made us feel very welcome, and we enjoyed out stay here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Unfortunately we had a very negative experience at the Eden Crest B & B. MInus a few small issues, the house itself was fine, we rented a three bedroom house on the property with kitchen and sitting/dining area. There were some minor issues like not having enough plates and glasses, let alone matching but the view really was terrific. Are experience turned dramatically sour upon departure. We realized that the owner was going to use our departure as an excuse to gauge us as much as possible. Originally in the rental agreement there is no mention of additional billing for heat and electricity but since we were billed in our last house (which we were clearly informed of) a week prior we didn’t take much notice. The house we rented the prior week had a clear meter reading of less than 10 Euros. Upon departing Eden Crest lodge we were not shown the readings on meter and our bill was about 50 Euro’s and they would only take cash. We though it was high but accepted it as the house was larger and we spent more time there. But they refused visa although they clearly had the means to accept it for room payment.
What really ruined our entire experience was the “health and safety violation” our 18 month old committed. Yes, that’s right, you just read that correctly. Our son ripped the tail off a dingy door stop cat that was filled with kitty litter. The bag of litter was not pierced but the tail was ripped. We told the owner up front that we had damaged the cat and were prepared to make amends. However, never in my wildest dreams did i expect him to match through the house examining each room for 10 minutes looking for things to charge us with (nothing else was found). After telling him about the door stop he declared it a health and safety violation and demanded 20 Euros or about $30. Now, this is where I blew my top. I accept that we damaged the cat and it is not unreasonable to ask for it’s replacement value, however 30 dollars for a dingy kitty litter filled door stop was absolutely offensive. We had been so careful with their home all week and tried our best to respect it and i felt it was appalling to take advantage of every given opportunity to grab a penny when possible. Now, I have attached a picture of the offensive door stop so please view it and make up your own mind about whether you think it’s worth 20 Euro’s or $30.00. Also for those of you concerned about the welfare of this poor decrepit door stop which was then further desecrated by having it’s tail ripped off, have no fear, my mom stitched it back on and gave it to my aunt who ironically runs a B & B in Enniscorthy and said she would treasure it as a reminder of how to treat her guests! The cat now has a distinctive place of honor.
The part that i would like to warn all potential guests of the Eden Crest Lodge is this The owner made it very clear that the ran his B & B as a home, not a business, and expects all guests to leave the property is EXACTLY the same condition or pay a steep fine. So, now you have been warned, stay there is you must, but god help you if you break one of the 4 mismatching wine glasses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regretful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It is a shame that after a wonderful week in Bantry that your stay ended in such a way. However on the positive side of things, you are a brilliant story teller, and may like to come back to Bantry for the Literary Festival on the 7th July and explore the 'Short Story Workshop' This unique 5 day workshop will be led by Karen Joy Fowler, winner of the 2014 Pen/ Faulkner Award for best American novel and Nebula Award for Best Short Story. The workshop will guide you through finding your voice and the development of the fundamentals of characterisation, setting, structure and timing..
With regard to house rental and metering of Oil, Electricity and damage, this is normal Policy. I have contacted the Company you booked the holiday home with, for them to contact you to clarify same as they should have on booking.
With regard to Ware, our house is fully equipped for self-catering.
The Cat we are delighted to hear has been elevated from lowly door stop to a position of pride of place in Enniscorthy !!! Wishing you the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

i didnt stay here. booked it for the parents who were heading to a wedding. on there request asked me to give it top marks. best breakfeast they have had while away. beautiful location, top quality service......they will return

Room Tip: drive the caha's pass to get to bantry.....well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend in Bantry. We stayed at the Edencrest b&b as we had a wedding in Bantry which we were attending. From the moment we arrived we received a warm and friendly service. Josephine and Barry made us feel so welcome in their lovely bed and breakfast- it was like a home from home. The facilities were brilliant and the room was clean and tidy and had little extra toiletries which is a nice touch. We had a room with a view of the sea which was beautiful. The breakfast menu was fantastic- it's just a shame we were not there longer to sample more on the menu! I would definitely recommend this place to stay. It's just a short walk to Bantry bay where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. We went to O'Connors restaurant which had delicious food. Thank you to Josephine and Barry for such a wonderful stay. We hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Josephine is a wonderful host and welcomed us into her home. We had an upstairs room on the right at the top of the stairs which had stunning views of the bay. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was perfect . The shower in the en suite was a little smaller than usual but the en suite was lovely .Overall excellent value and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thankyou for your response, we try to offer our guests the best 'in 'B & B experience in an Irish family home, as well as knowledge of what's on in the area, for example this June Weekend, the Wild Atlantic Way festival.This festival was setup by 5 enthusiastic young locals who wanted to see people out and enjoying everything beautiful Bantry has to offer. The committee have no affiliation to any organizations. And is proudly supported by The Bantry Port Company limited. Sailing, Fun & Games for everyone on sat 31st of May. Superstars sport event on Sunday 1st of June. - Maybe instead a quiet, delightful afternoon tea in the Ewe Garden Glengarriff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
1.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
504 reviews
6.0 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#5 of 25 in Bantry
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencrest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencrest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glengarriff Road | Glengarriff Road,, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edencrest Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrity Singer /Strictly Come Dancing Star Daniel O'Donnell and his lovely Wife Majella stayed with us as part of their UTV B & B show. Enjoy the B & B experience in our home with views of The Atlantic, Bantry Bay,Beara and Sheeps Head Peninsulas as part of your trip on the Wild Atlantic Way. Edencrest an ideal base with ensuite rooms, fresh toiletries and towels on a daily basis, Tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TV and free Wifi. Guest lounge with 60" TV., Buffet contintental, and freshly cooked breakfast made to order, with a choice of cereals, juices, cold meats, cheeses and home-baking with Tea/coffee also a choice from our extensive Menu from Traditional Irish breakfast to Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs to an Omelette of your choice. Garden with private and secure parking. Edencrest also offers a Lodge next door with rooms and self-service breakfast available. Special rates for weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edencrest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing