We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seaview House Hotel(Ballylickey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gougane Barra Hotel(Gougane Barra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
130
15
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
15
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbantry bayguest sitting roompatricks weekenddelicious breakfastlocation is idealwild atlantic wayroom was spaciousexcellent accommodationgreat advicesea view roomwonderful roomcomfortable staywonderful staylovely viewher husbandkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 150 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This B&B is in a lovely location on top of a hill with beautiful views of Bantry Bay.
We had a downstairs room with the bay view. The room was large, as was the bed, which was comfortable. The whole place is decorated to a high standard.
Barry, our host, was so welcoming it was like meeting an old friend. He seems to know everyone in Bantry by name.
The breakfast was good, I can recommend the full Irish and the Kippers.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: front room downstairs has the view but the rear room has the bath as well as a shower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi there, thankyou for your feedback, Barry is always delighted to meet and greet guests and is always researching the best places to send visitors for views, walking trails, motor cycling tours etc. - The fish is all locally sourced - mostly from the Central Fish Market owned by Colman Keohane, with a little fish Restaurant upstairs owned by Annmarie Murphy Colman's Sister. Much of the simply cooked fish and seafood comes from Bantry Bay, and the real story at The Fish Kitchen is told on the blackboard, where the specials of the day are listed. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arrived early and were able to use the guest lounge. Very friendly welcome from Jacqueline. Offered Irish coffee and bun! Spotlessly clean and well presented. 
Room compact with slopping ceiling so mind your head. Little space for luggage. Good size ensuite. Plenty of parking, TV, tea making, toiletries, hair curling tongs. Not much water pressure in the shower. 
Wifi problems at first, but sorted out later in the evening.
A short distance out of town with nice views of Bantry Bay, but not from our room. Nice breakfast with lots of choices.
Best thing about this B and B is the delightful host, Jacqueline. 

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rgjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate all feedback, and appreciate suggestions from Guests, however with regard to water pressure and the Internet Bantry the gateway to Ireland’s mountain-strewn southwest, an old fishing port, thriving market town, and heritage gem, sitting pretty amidst wooded hills at the head of Bantry Bay, hasn't changed much over the years and I doubt very much in the future!! which makes Bantry a very special place to visit even with it's poor water pressure and WiFi service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here whilst on a whistle-stop tour of south west Ireland. Josephine and her husband were so welcoming and helpful. Our bathroom and bedroom were absolutely spotless. A huge choice of things for breakfast, including continental type foods, as well as a very generous cooked breakfast. We will definitely return here. It was a perfect stay; I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thankyou so much for your comments, I forgot to mention while you were here another great place for food is the Bantry Bay Hotel, which is now under its third generation of O’Callaghan management, the hotel’s atmosphere is one of friendly informality, with a magnificent maritime-themed Bar. So next time you are here this is a place well worth a visit. Take care and may the sun shine warm upon your face, The rains fall soft upon your fields and, Until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This b&b is simply excellent! Large room, large bathroom, clean, beautiful view, excellent breakfast and extremely nice people. The only thing we regreted was that we have not booked for a longer period. Hope we shall repeat this experience in the next years!
Bentry is also a very pleasant town with excellent restaurants.
Would highly recommend Edencrest to anybody!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silva5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Delighted with your comments and that you wish to return to Bantry another year, next time to make your holiday special, why not check out Bantry.ie and see what's going on as we have lots of fun and activities for the summer for example in July we have the Literary Festival, town will be buzzing. This is a seven day long-established festival which will be packed with a mixture of free and ticketed readings; lectures; book launches and panel discussions. There will be a week-long schedule of 3 and 5 day workshops covering short story, poetry, non-fiction and memoir writing, travel writing, songwriting, and more. In August we have the Country Music BBQ Festival , with lots of great free outdoor music and free food!!! ; Looking forward to seeing you again in the future - May the road rise to meet you, May the wind be always at your back, May the sun shine warm upon your face, The rains fall soft upon your fields and, Until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I have a good bit of traveling under our belt and have stayed at various B&B's that are happy to take your money but, fall short on one feature or another. Not only does this fine Bed and Breakfast 'nail it' on every level but, the owners are sincere and enjoy their craft. The facility looks like it was built last month, yet Josephine claims they have been in business 27 years. Barry is retired from Law Enforcement and is knowledgeable about every corner of the Peninsula. The decor is gorgeous and the layout of this purpose built facility 'spot on' down to the closed-off breakfast room, large rooms & showers, to the custom built Waterford Crystal display in the foyer. The landscaping, the view, the location, the parking, the temperature in the room, the water pressure, cleanliness, service, and the quality of the breakfast were ALL Five Star. Driving past the 'other' B&B's we couldn't believe Edencrest wasn't rated. #1 by a mile. Josephine set us up with reservations at a fabulous Fish Restaurant downtown and even tried to help us find some antique shops... when our arrival at another B&B was disappointing in Kinsale, Barry got on the phone and located another great place for us to stay. Quite simply put, Edencrest should be the BENCHMARK for all folks who are in this business. Thanks so much for the great night....wish we could drag you all around Europe with us....
P.S. did I forget to mention Josephine's breakfast is 'over-the-top' in quality and substance....she deserves her own TV cooking show ! Scrumptious !

Room Tip: The tub was as big as a swimming pool, LOL
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephinewalsh, Owner at Edencrest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thankyou both for your kindness and general feel good thoughts of our B & B and the service we provide, even though we are in fact in business since 1995 it does indeed seem like it's 27 years !!!!! - You will also enjoy the experience of the Rock of Cashel on your travels - Especially the wall paintings!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews