We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing atmosphere great staff and great food”
Review of The Brick Oven

The Brick Oven
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very relaxing atmosphere great staff and great food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the maritime so deceided to try the brick oven my son and his girlfriend had pizza my husband had lamb shank which fell off the bone I had warm chicken salad now my son did say he thought the pizza could have been a bit better but overall good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    165
    44
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Original atmosphere”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Very atmospheric and original restaurent.
Good food end good service.
The restaurent has a central location on Wolftone square.
Thats add to the good atmosphere and make it easy to find.
Have a cup of coffe and a muffin, while you plan you trips around the beutiful area around Bantry bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heavyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best brick in Bantry”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

These days you can find a pizza just about anywhere, but really good pizza needs really good dough and really fresh toppings and you don't get better for both than in the brick oven in bantry. Simply superb pizza and then they tell you that they also have Guinness on tap! Tir na nOg, eat your heart out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food,friendly waitress,a return visit planned fairly soon!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We visited on a busy Saturday night- a table of 2 - we were quickly shown to a table and given menus. Amazing choices with the option of a specials board as well-where do we start??? A pizza was ordered and a Smoked Chicken Salad with sides of home cut fries(the BEST chips I have had in ages!) and garlic bread with just the right amount of garlic to share between us. Despite the restaurant and takeaway pizza service being very busy we were quickly brought our food which was delicious and portions generous. Needless to say the pizza and garlic bread became takeaway as we couldn't manage them and wasting them wasn't an option! My partner swiftly spirited the pizza box gleefully back to the car anticipating a pizza breakfast in the morning!
A thoroughly enjoyable evening-the only negative and was no fault of the restaurant and totally out of their control is the table of 7 very vocal ladies that sat near us and totally drowned out our conversation on a couple of particularly raucous occasions! The plus was as soon as their food was served it was that good they concentrated on that and their table became quieter-a bonus!
A restaurant that is a must visit whilst in Bantry and even worth a short drive-please do it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dinner in The Brick Oven”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good choice of meals with a good variety to suit all tastes and price ranges. I had Linguini of seafood, while my wife had steak. Both of us would return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brick Oven also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing