We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality fish with great service”

O'Connors Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This is a very stylish restaurant. With modern decor. This is the perfect place to bring your family or business associate. We also have a private dining room.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Four of us visited O'Connor's for lunch on a very wet and windy day (it is Ireland after all). The experience really cheered us up and set us up for another 'good soaking'. Excellent and charming service from our waitresses and very good, very fresh sea food.
Three of us had a really good fish chowder and my wife described her squid with lime mayo as "fantastic". All our mains were really very good (especially the cod with a smoked tomato crust) and the portions were also very generous.
In our two weeks in Ireland we had some excellent fish and O'Connor's was certainly up there with the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 619 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice restaurant that was very busy on the night we visited. Large portions and the food was goof. Not very innovative, but well prepared.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been in some fine seafood restaurants and while not actually the best O'Connors is well up there. When you go for an Early Bird experience quality isn't the main consideration. You would like quality but the bill is the main yardstick of success. The calamari starter sort of set the tone. I'm sure the batter was somebody's granny's secret recipe but combined with calamari cooked to perfection the whole experience was exquisite.(I'm not going to put up with chewy rubber bands ever again) The pork belly was served on a medallion of black pudding on top of herb mash and I was surprised to learn that it wasn't Clonakilty Pudding. It was from a local supplier, McCarthy's, who also supplies their organic pork products. Unlikely that I'll be back to Bantry any time soon but O'Connor's is on my list of eateries and it probably should be on yours too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NorthDownDogMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very fine food. They had an "earleybird" menu of two courses for 22 euros that was very good value. The calimari was "melt in your mouth" good, and the seafood risotto just as good.

2  Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Forget about those tiger prawns that arrive frozen from Thailand, taste the real thing here. Roll up your sleeves and be prepared to get your napkin splattered as you enjoy a bowlful of the best cooked and sauced prawns I think you will ever eat. Yes they are served in the shell, and you have to do the work yourself, all the better you will be for that, and appreciate each morcel of tender prawn all the more. Perfectly cooked, each one slipping out of its shell perfectly slathered with a great hot, sweet, creamy sauce. Heaven.
All fish we had here was excellent. great service, friendly, efficient and with a local Irish touch.
The early bird menu up to 6.30 is superb value for such acomplished cooking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RamblingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic32, Owner at O'Connors Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to wright a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards patrick kiely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connors Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to O'Connors Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing