We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For fish and shellfish fans this is a must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Irish, Fusion, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED UNTIL THE 28th OF JANUARY The Fish Kitchen is a family run business that prides itself in having a menu that is almost entirely all fish with the exception of sirloin steak. The Local fish shop downstairs, our main provider of fish ensures an excellent supply of the freshest fish in the South West. Where possible fish is sourced locally from the coops and trawlers of the South Western ports.We have the finest Mussels, Prawns ,Scallops and Lobster on our doorstep in Bantry Harbour, For further information on the source of our ingredients follow the link to our website.Our Food is Simple, Fresh and Locally Sourced.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For fish and shellfish fans this is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Fish Restaurant sits above a fish shop, which supply them with the freshest of ingredients. It really couldn't be better located.

The menu is simple and short, but with a variety of specials each day. Retro classics like Prawn Cocktail are included, as are local oysters and lobster. An option for non-fish eaters is also always available should it be needed.

We have been on numerous occasions, as a family, with friends and as a couple. It worked well on all occasions.

It is extremely busy and you will need to book for any evening of the week, especially in the summer. When we went on a Friday night, we saw many people turned away. The restaurant could easily triple in size and still fill all tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    98
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely - from beginning to end...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This charming second-floor restaurant in Bantry has lots of lovely seafood (and some options for those who aren't so inclined). The seafood chowder is marvellous - very rich and creamy. The crab salad is wonderful. The local mussels were steaming and the broth was delicious - with garlic bread to soak up the juices! The mains were all prepared with great skill. Tip - it's a tiny place so make sure to reserve. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Seafood Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The food around us going out to several customers just looked and smelled stunning. I had the chowder and my friend had the goats cheese salad. Both of us enjoyed it and have visited several times.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank afishcalledwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Given its size and reputation we hadn't expected to get into this excellent restaurant without booking so we tried another - however it was shut. We decided to give it a try and they fitted us in on the proviso that they needed the table @90minutes later. Not a problem for us as we are quite fast eaters. There were also a couple of tables of locals doing exactly the same as us.

In the event it wasn't rushed at all and we had an excellent meal of seafood, smoked salmon followed by mussels in my case.

Its easier to judge a place by how they handle things when things go wrong - in my case about 30% of the mussels didn't open at all. There was no fuss the owner simply replaced them.

There is also a decent selection of wine and local craft beers

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Oysters I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

While travelling the Wild Atlantic Way on an 8 day motorcycle tour we decided to base ourselves in Bantry. We found two places opposite each other which are an absolute must. The Fish Kitchen and the pub opposite, called The Anchor Tavern, check out Alan and Pat on a thursday night, great sing along.

The Fish kitchen was a real gem of a find, we are both massive fish fans and they had possibly the freshest and best prepared fish dishes we've had in ages. The menu wasn't huge but they had some outstanding recipes, all quite unique. Nothing over fancy, actually would describe it as normal food. We loved it so much we had to have a second night there and that was when I ate possibly the creamiest oysters I've ever eaten. I regularly go to Whitstable just for oysters but these were in a different league. The family run restaurant had excellent service and even though they were over booked each night. They always tried to accommodate ad hoc guests. I'm not usually in the habit of posting pictures but the Fish Kitchen deserves all the support I can give it as they really are a must visit for all fish aficionados.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing