We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming & relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Welcoming & relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ten of us stayed here for my boyfriends surprise 40th birthday & it was the perfect location!! Everything was perfect!! :-) The rooms were spotless, the food was fabulous, the leisure centre was great fun & the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful to our every need!! An amazing, relaxing, enjoyable stay!! 10/10!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Barbara O,

Thank you for the review and for such a high rating. Delighted to hear that yourself and the family had a great time here. Be sure to return and come down to visit us again soon!

We look forward to welcoming you all back again!

Thanks again...

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    173
    126
    71
    60
See reviews for
220
203
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a family room, 2 single and one king size, rooms are clean and spacious with tea and coffee in the rooms. the bar/lobby was friendly relaxed and child friendly where we could sit dwn and enjoy the weekend as a family. The pool area was fantastic, with kids and parents enjoying it. All the staff were well turned out and friendly and helpful. We wanted a relaxing weekend and thats what we got. We will be going back again, soon I hope.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Niall,

Thank you for your kind words in your review. I am delighted to hear that you and the family had a very enjoyable stay. We are very family friendly here at the Westlodge.
Great to hear that you will be back to us again, sooner rather than later hopefully!

Thanks again Niall and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards...
John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

One could argue that rooms are not so trendy but they are clean and spacious.
We had a family room which was big enough with 2 double beds (the kids would have preferred 1 double and 2 singles).
We went to the restaurant once, where we had some good food and excellent service. The value for the price was well above average.
On the overall hotel with clean confortable rooms , extremely friendly staff and a casual but nice restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found the rooms clean and spacious but not so trendy, this we are working on at the moment as we are planning to revamp the rooms. Its good to hear that you found the service excellent and that the value for money was good.

We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Kind Regards...

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I welcome the opportunity to share my experience of the Westlodge Hotel. Having stayed there on a B/B basis at the beginning of this year for the first time, I found the bedrooms spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable. The Dining Room has panoramic views of the surrounding lush green countryside and of Bantry Bay and the breakfast menu is varied and tasty. I noted that the hotel provides packed lunches on request making it ideal as a base for touring the West Cork area either individually or as part of a Walking or Cycling group. Massage is available and the Leisure Centre has a nice Swimming Pool and a well equipped Gym.
In my view the biggest asset of this hotel is their caring, efficient and friendly Staff who made sure we were well looked after during our stay. As we were leaving on the Sunday my Companion suddenly took ill and needed to be hospitalised. I can honestly say that without the generosity and support of the Management & Staff, the whole situation would have been so much more difficult to deal with. They went above & beyond the "call of duty" in their efforts to be of service to us - even paying a number of hospital visits during the two weeks my friend was in ICU. So well done John Paul & all the Staff. You have restored our faith in the goodness of Humankind and we look forward to enjoying further times at the Westlodge where we know we will receive a warm welcome. You offer a pleasant and efficient service with attention to personal care which is greatly valued and appreciated.
We have stayed at the hotel a few times since that first week-end and each time have been happy with the consistency and standard of service extended to us and so are happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Cora,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words.

You are right when you say we are the ideal base to tour West Cork, with packed lunches on request and also drying facilities and of course the Leisure Centre to relax afterwards.

Also thank you for your kind comments about our staff here, without them The Westlodge Hotel would not be what it is and I have passed on your comments to all so thank you from all of us.

I hope David is well and we look forward to welcoming you both back here again very soon, the red carpet is waiting!

Please contact me when you both are returning and I will look after the booking personnally for you.

Kind Regards,

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 for my wife's birthday, I had asked for flowers and champagne to be in the room and chilled for our arrival. This was done, which doesn't always work from my experience so was pleased to get off to a good start.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
Although the weather was a wet we enjoyed our stay, there was evening entertainment which was enjoyable.
Food was good quality and the staff again were very efficient and friendly.
Overall everyone went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one, would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am glad to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we cant do anything about the weather here but when the sun is shining, there is no better place to be than Bantry looking out over the bay.

I hope you will return to visit us again and maybe we can do something about getting the sun to shine too for you!

Best Regards,

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it very disappointing. The whole place is very dated and in general poor condition. It was like being stuck in a depressing 80's time warp. The only Internet access was a coin operated computer in the lobby, where the printer didn't work. The staff were pleasant and helpful but the hotel really does need to improve the rooms and facilities so that it offers the basics you'd expect from the prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are in the process of updating our bedrooms at the moment as some work does need to be carried out. We also have Wifi in the lobby area and printing facilities are available at reception. I hope on your next visit you will notice the changes and also to our bedrooms.

I hope you will return to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards...

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bantry hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here in March 2012, the hotel is located a bit outside Bantry town, it would be a bit of a walk to walk back from a night out. The hotel has free parking and attractive grounds. The lobby is the most up to date part of the hotel, but still a product of its age. The staff were friendly and professional and we had no complaints about the service. The food was good and reasonably priced.

The room was on the small side and the decor was dated with wood chip wallpaper and cheap woodwork. That being said it was relatively clean, there was an oily spray on the mirror, that was missed with each clean of the room. The cleaner mustn't be as vain as me. The bathroom was clean but basic.

The hotel has a good pool, gym and leisure centre facilities.

Overall a good value basic hotel in a perfect location for exploring the sheep's head and Beara peninsulas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Paul C, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that you found our staff freindly and professional, it is our staff here that make the Westlodge Hotel what it is and I will certailly pass on your comments.

We are currently working on our rooms at the moment but we are getting there bit by bit.

The hotel is in a great position for those who wish to explore the Sheep's Head and Beara Peninsulas and with drying facilities aslo availiable, we take care of all needs.

I look forward to seeing you in our hotel again soon,

KIind Regards,

John Paul Carroll
General Manager
johnpaul@westlodgehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
12.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.2 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing