We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Westlodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westlodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Like other reviewers, found the hotel rooms to be a bit dated, but this was made up for by the excellent staff, who were always so friendly, helpful and natural.

The facilities in the hotel are great - lovely pool, sauna, jacuzzi, etc. Gym is grand, a little bit old, but does the job. Lobby and bar are great, lovely, big and spacious. Breakfast is generous and lovely. Food in the bar was great too (especially sticky toffee pudding) and very generous portions and fabulous service. Resident's bar is good craic too. Location is good too, just outside the town and very handy for touring. Free wi-fi throughout is a bonus. Lots of information available too on things to do and staff seem very knowledgeable.

Rooms are fine, just a bit dated. Beds are comfy (one duvet was stained though) and the rooms are very big and spacious. The bathrooms are very dated, with old fashioned taps, crazy showers, no free toiletries (well one small bottle of stuff between three of us) and plastic beakers. BUT we did pay next to nothing for the room (hostel prices) so I really really can't complain on this basis.

There were 9 of us staying and they gave us 4 rooms next to each other. We really did have a lovely time and would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loukkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    173
    126
    71
    60
See reviews for
220
203
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

we were looking forward to our trip to ireland,which is lovely,we stayed at the westlodge hotel were the rooms do need updateing,bathroom good size but no were to put anything,towels on the very small side,haveing a shower you all so had a bath {water came out of shower and taps,could not stop it }dinning room was lovely nice views breckfast was ok,but dinner was some thing else not much was put on the plates and if you asked for more veg or extra rolls you didnt get them,but saying that we would probly go back if they up dated areas of hotle.

Room Tip: have twin rooms more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Ok, I will preface this review by saying I have stayed in a variety of accomodations over the years, from hostels to 5 star hotels, so I am going to give a fair review based on the fact that is a 3 star rated hotel.
My initial thoughts from the outside of hotel was that it was very well presented, the sign over the door for reception was a little old fashioned and could do with replacing, I'm sure it wouldnt cost much to do this. On checking in, we noticed a lovely seemingly refurbished lobby area and the receptionist was very nice.
After this, things went slightly downhill. The hotel is laid out a little oddly I thought, having to go through a maze of upstairs, downstairs to get to our room and with no offer of help for our luggage. The lights in the halls seem to be on a timer also so they can be quite dark. Our deal included a bottle of wine which was in our room when we got there,a nice red wine but neither of us drink this so we asked if we could switch it to a white bottle-didn't seem to think this would be a big deal as there is a bar in the hotel.(And surely we should have been asked what our preference was?) The receptionist seemed a little put out by this request and said she'd ring us back! when she eventually got back to us to say it was ok, she asked could one of us come down and collect it as there was no one around to bring it to the room-I figure this is ok as its a 3 star hotel and there did seem to be very few staff on when we arrived.
The room itself...... I don't know how to put this kindly...it was extremely outdated, smelled of must, the carpet was filthy and when I opened one of the drawers underneath the tv I was almost overpowered with the stench of what smelled like vinegar. The bathroom left a lot to be desired, cracked moldy ceiling, very thin towels and no place at all to put your toiletries. The tv had about 3 channels, 2 of which you could barely see the reception was so bad. As for sleep quality, the walls were paper thin, I got no sleep at all the first night we were there.
Now, for the positives! we ate in the bar our first night there and the food was lovely, big portions and great value for money, and again the staff were lovely. There was some entertainment which for some reason was being held out in the freezing cold lobby area so we gave it a miss. The hotel also has a lovely pool and sauna area and also a small but functional gym area. Also take a walk around the grounds outside the hotel, they really are lovely
Location wise you are in a good spot for touring around beautiful west Cork, Bantry village itself has some really lovely craft shops, resturaunts and bars,recommending The Snug and The Brick Oven.
All in all, the Westlodge has great potential but is in dire need of refurbishment which I know isn't probably possible in this economic climate, which is a shame as it has a lot going for it. Will I be back? Probably not, sorry Westlodge

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights in this hotel and have enjoyed every minute. No mattter what your needs whether dietery or anything else you require to ensure your comfort whilst staying is all catered for.

The staff seem to have a permanent smile on their faces. Don't know if thats due to their wages or just a natural thing but I go for the latter. They are friendly, helpful and if I could would have stayed on a bit longer.

Again thank you all at Westlodge for making my stay brilliant and also the entertainment wasn't bad

Room Tip: Pick a double room . Plenty of space and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just returned frm a 2 nite break. First impressions was a dated reception area. Went 2 check in2 a family room the corridors are very dark and there is a musty old smell combined with a strong smell of smoke! The family room was very small and very old. First nite there the smoke alarm went off at 3am the same thing happened the 2nd nite!! That plus we cud hear sum1 in the next room snoring so needless 2 say we didn't get much sleep!! It wud b a great hotel if someone would put money into it maybe they shud take a 5 min drive down the road to the maritime for sum ideas!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bantry hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The family room was tiny , hard to access [ up a stairs along a corridor and then down a stairs] not easy with 3 kids . buggy and cases. the corridor to the room was dark and VERY old fashioned. Thank God we were there for only a few days. Kids club was good during he day , but in evening and at night the only thing for kids was an unsupervised video.The food and the staff were super BUT unfortunatly the accomodation was dismal.
We wont be going back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My fiancé and I were very excited to get a deal at the Westlodge so we could explore the Beara peninsula. The hotel turned out to be very dated and we were thankful we had paid so little. The lobby and leisure centre were fine, and the staff were helpful and friendly, but the room was very poor.

Lighting in the corridors was extremely dim. The door to the room was like something from a cheap hostel, using a key rather than a card and in the dim light was hard to open. The double bed was small and uncomfortable, and there were stains on the cushions and furniture. Only 3 thin pillows provided but they did kindly bring an extra one to our room.

The decor was maybe 30 years old but fairly well maintained. The bathroom was basic but clean. There were no plugs by the beds, which was inconvenient for phones/laptops. TV was tiny but worked fine. Tea/coffee facilities were fine.

Breakfast was a poor quality buffet and there seemed to be dozens of very pleasant but unnecessary staff running around.

This is not a hotel for couples. It was 80% retirees/pensioners, some of whom were sitting in the lobby in their nightclothes, one man with his feet up on the table, while other were blocking the main entrance dancing to a live band. Not a very welcoming environment for younger couples. The older guests seemed to like the place.

Felt very like a 2-star hostel for coach tour groups. We would not return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
92 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
164 reviews
12.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
446 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlodge Hotel

Property: Westlodge Hotel
Address: Seafield | N71, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westlodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westlodge Hotel & Estate is set on 25 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with intertidal pond, home to our ducks, we have nature trails, waterfalls, bridges & wooded walks to explore & enjoy. With superb relaxation and leisure centre & massage treatment rooms, we assure you a truly relaxing break. The Mighty Ducks Children's Club entertains our younger guests during school holidays with sports, games, planting, nature walks & feeding the ducks. Our longstanding reputation & commitment to serving locally produced food specialising in locally caught fish is guaranteed to delight every palette. West Cork awaits you at Westlodge.Something for Everyone at Westlodge.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westlodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westlodge Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing