We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B with character”
Review of The Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill
Ranked #5 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great B&B with character”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped at this B&B as we travelled across the south of Ireland. Our host and hostess were brilliant and gave us all the local information we required. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also large but lacking in water pressure. The guest facilities were some of the best we have seen and the place has pzazz. We loved it. Gantry is an interesting place to hu ave a little look around as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickandMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
105
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spotless B and B run by charming couple.very friendly.nothing too much trouble.breakfast was excellent.full Irish with wide variety of fruit and cereals also provided.the rooms were immaculate and we had choice of room in the B and B or a separate apartment.we took the apartment which was good but our friends took rooms.all very good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parker_rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Well where to start - the use of the kitchen area for making tea and coffee and being able to sit in a lovely conservatory made a relaxing end to busy days. Our four night stay here was not long enough as Tosca and Kees made us feel so welcome - it was like visiting family. Breakfast's were great with plenty of choice and nothing was to much trouble. Rooms are clean, light and airy - and looked after every day. Our friends and ourselves really really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 teenage girls stayed for 2 nights, Tosca and Kees are
welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested in meeting their guests. Our rooms were
tastefully decorated and very clean. Towels were changed and beds turned after one
night . . . . very good service. The breakfast was just brilliant with such a choice of fresh
fruit salad, prunes, cereal before the delicious cooked meal. Kees artwork around the
dining room and through out the house is to be commended. We loved the garden also, it is well maintained with shrubs and flowers in bloom around a large lawn.
Our whole stay was so enjoyable, as I said 2 nights wasn't enough, we hope to be back
and encourage others to stay in The Mill. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familypKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and spent 3 weeks in Ireland at B&Bs and this was one of the best. Big and comfy bed, spotless room, modern bath, and a great breakfast with very large number of choices. A nice "conservatory" room to relax in. Thanks, Tosca!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have stayed at The Mill several times - rooms are very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Tosca is an excellent host and makes your stay very enjoyable. Highly recommended to anyone wanting to stay in Bantry.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathoriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We've had a lovely stay in The Mill in Bantry. Very clean rooms, superb 'yummie' breakfast and wifi provided. The Dutch couple Tosca & Kees Kramer maken sure that you feel at home, making The Mill the friendliest B&B of beautiful Bantry. Stay there and if you really have to leave, come back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-LotteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill

Property: The Mill
Address: The Mill The Mill The Mill Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill, is a well established Bed and Breakfast. The Mill is a large bungalow, with all rooms on the ground floor. There is ample off road parking on site. We are recommended by many guides, including, The Lonely Planet, Le Guide Du Routard, Geo, The Michelin Guide, Dumont and more. It is a five minute walk to Bantry town, where you can enjoy nice seafood restaurants and bar food.Free WIFI available for you to use. All bedrooms are ensuite, with hairdryers and televisions.Separate kitchenette with coffee and tea making facilities. There is also a lovely conservatory where you can sit and read, or just relax and enjoy the views of the garden.The Mill is an ideal base for touring The Sheephead, Mizen Peninsula, Beara Peninsula, and for walking and cycling tours. We can provide a safe place to store your bicycles at night. It is also in a very good location if you are attending some of Bantry’s well known festivals, such as The Chamber Music Festival, The Masters of Tradition, or The Literary Festival.Breakfast is served in a comfortable dining room with nice art to see. There is also a buffet every morning which includes a range of mueslis, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and more, for those that prefer healthy options. We also offer a traditional cooked breakfast .(breakfast menu available)We hope that you will find The Mill, a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing