We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess makes this place shine!”
Review of The Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill
Ranked #3 of 26 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were met by Tosca with a very jubilant hello. We were greeted like old family members coming for a visit and that feeling never left. We stayed in a separate room from the home which was great for privacy. It was very spacious and very neat and tidy. There was a tin of biscuits in the room and coffee/tea available in the room. Not only that, but they had a small kitchen area in the home where you could have more tea and biscuits should you want and a beautiful sun room with games and lots of places to sit and read. Both Tosca and Kees were entertaining and wonderful to talk to! The breakfast was delicious and I hope that the rest of the B&B's we stay in in Ireland are like this! These two made my husband and me want to run our own B&B one day. Prefect!

Room Tip: If it's just a couple, ask for the separate room- very quiet, spacious, and private. Perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very colorful and comfortable. This bed and breakfast is one of a kind. There is a large dining room with a small room attached where you can make tea or coffee and there is a cookie tin filled with biscuits. Attached to the dining room is a sun room with comfortable furniture and games, books, etc. Everywhere you look is filled with colorful artwork of every kind. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and very comfortable.

We received a warm welcome from Tosca, who is as colorful as the beautiful artwork. We had come to Bantry to walk the Sheeps'Head Way which begins at the Town square. Tosca kindly kept a bag for us so we could lighten our backpacks and only take what we needed for the 4 day walk. When we returned after completing the walk, it felt like coming back to good friends. We had to leave very early the next morning, before breakfast, and Tosca left fruit, bread and cheese out for us as well as cereal, and milk in the fridge.

Tosca and her husband Cornelius are very good hosts, and this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzznznaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Tosca and Kees run the kind of B&B that makes me pick them over hotels whenever I can. They provide such hospitality and warmth, I cannot think of a single thing I would ask them to improve! They were so helpful and offered great suggestions on what to do, where to eat, and I encourage everyone to listen to them and tour the Beara Peninsula! It was beautiful! I am so looking forward to staying with them again on my next trip - for an even longer stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are behind a door separating the sleeping area of the house from the dining and sitting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The moment we arrived we were made to feel at home by the B&B owners. They were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and spacious. We enjoyed relaxing in the den in the evening, and enjoyed the quirky decorations at cat artwork. We especially enjoyed the alien statue!

The B&B is located just a short distance from the town of Bantry, which enjoys a delightful setting by a harbor. There are numerous restaurants and shops in town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschloesser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The minit we walked in, the owner gave us some good tips on what to see and where to eat.
The room was big and very clean with a beautiful bathroom. Tosca and Kees are very friendly people.The breakfast was the best of my holiday. This is a place to come back .

Room Tip: I had room nr1 which is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We enjoyed a fantastic night here! Our hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and they offered us some great advice. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was only a short walk into the town centre which was very convenient. Thanks to the Kramers for a great night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

An excellent choice, everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Very homely and the family who run the B &B are warm, friendly and very helpful. It is a short walk to the town,parking if you need it. The gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this B & B. Traveller from Australia

Room Tip: Any of the bedrooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.6 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#11 of 26 in Bantry
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill

Address: The Mill The Mill The Mill Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill, is a well established Bed and Breakfast. The Mill is a large bungalow, with all rooms on the ground floor. There is ample off road parking on site. We are recommended by many guides, including, The Lonely Planet, Le Guide Du Routard, Geo, The Michelin Guide, Dumont and more. It is a five minute walk to Bantry town, where you can enjoy nice seafood restaurants and bar food.Free WIFI available for you to use. All bedrooms are ensuite, with hairdryers and televisions.Separate kitchenette with coffee and tea making facilities. There is also a lovely conservatory where you can sit and read, or just relax and enjoy the views of the garden.The Mill is an ideal base for touring The Sheephead, Mizen Peninsula, Beara Peninsula, and for walking and cycling tours. We can provide a safe place to store your bicycles at night. It is also in a very good location if you are attending some of Bantry’s well known festivals, such as The Chamber Music Festival, The Masters of Tradition, or The Literary Festival.Breakfast is served in a comfortable dining room with nice art to see. There is also a buffet every morning which includes a range of mueslis, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and more, for those that prefer healthy options. We also offer a traditional cooked breakfast .(breakfast menu available)We hope that you will find The Mill, a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing