We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever will deffo be back :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
Ranked #1 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here for one night only regret was not booking for longer. The hot tub was brill and the beds were so comfy . Complimentry bath robes and slippers just makes it even better. Theres even a food guide that allows money off etc. The only thing was we rang leslies diner it was on the food guide and after a very long time waiting on the phone we were spoken to by a rude man who just said no we wont deliver that far so i would recommnd dynasty chinese :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Grove House and Courtyard Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

For sheer bliss, leave the kids at home, turn your mobile off and enjoy each other's company......what could be better than finishing off your day in a nice hot tub, in the privacy of your own balcony......try it and see!

You're out in the country but near enough to a town in case you have essentials to buy. Far from the madding crowd in the peace and tranquility of your own little self - contained cottage.

Room Tip: For sheer value try Cottage 1 with its own hot tub
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I can only add to the previous comments in relation to cottages for couples. My partner and I stayed in Lassanroe Cottages and I can only say that it was fantastic. The cottage was amazing, not to mention the outdoor hot tube and bedroom Jacuzzi. The setting was serene, tranquil and very peaceful; a very relaxing break.

Prior to our initial booking, tragic circumstances occurred among our close circle of friends. We contacted Anna and Peter to inform them of the situation and to, with regret, cancel our booking. I cannot emphasise enough how accommodating and emphatic Anna and Peter were. I can only thank them for their understanding. We rescheduled our booking at a later date and must say that Lassanroe cottage is a credit to Anna and Peter. It is absolutely fabulous!

The facilities are second to none with sky tv, dvd player, cd player, Jacuzzi, hot tube, fully fitted kitchen with everything you need. In addition we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and a dinner card which entitled the recipient to a free bottle of wine if you dined at one of the various restaurants recommended. However we preferred to enjoy our surroundings and ordered a takeaway which was delivered from one of the eatery’s listed in the information brochure.

We thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our only regret was that we did not book for a longer stay! But we will be definitely booking Cottages for Couples in the very foreseeable future. We have highly recommended the cottages for couples to all our family, friends and work colleagues and cannot speak highly enough of Anna and Peter’s Cottages for Couples.

For anybody considering Cottages for Cottages, you will most definitely not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lougar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in Cottage no. 2 at Grove House. If you are looking for a luxurious and relaxing break then this is the place! Peter and Anna, the lovely owners kindly left us a bottle of champagne which we happily drank in the jacuzzi just off from our bedroom. They also gave us a Diners Card which entitled us to a free bottle of wine in some of the restaurants in town. Its a great set up and Peter and Anna have done a great job creating a fabulous getaway. We will certainly be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clareybells0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Just back from ANOTHER stay at the courtyard cottages, this time we stayed in Lassanroe Barn. It's so relaxing, romantic and private, perfect for those special occasions!!! Every time we visit one of the cottages it's so hard to leave, they are PURE HEAVEN!!!!!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SorchaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We booked to stay at Courtyard Cottage 1 after a week long stay in Spain where we got married. We wanted something more than a hotel room with character and comfort and thats exactly what we got.
When we arrived we were greeted by both Anna & Peter and Peter took us to our cottage and showed us around and how to use all the amenities. The cottage was so cosy, warm, clean and very comfortable. Everything we expected (including bathrobes, slippers, towels etc) and more were provided, we even got a very nice bottle of bubbly for use in the hot tub later!!!
On the first night we stayed we decided to have a quiet night in so made some dinner in the small but perfectly usable kitchen, its not a state of the art kitchen but we didn't expect anything more, as long as it was clean (which it was) and cooked food we were happy. We watched some movies on sky movies and used the hot tub which was so nice on the cool spring night to soak in the warm water. We both slept extremely well.
When we woke the following morning - to the sound of bird chirping, we trawled through all the information Peter & Anna had left for us and decided to take a trip to Lough Hyne, what a beautiful place but unfortunatly the weather wasn't so kind but we still managed to get the the peak of the hill to enjoy the spectacular views!!!
Home for a nice warm shower, granted its not the biggest most luxurious of bathrooms but again we realised this is a cottage full of character. We used some of the recommendations Peter & Anna had left us and ordered a taxi to take to town. We ate in Le Voyage and mentioned we were staying in the cottages and got a complimentary bottle of wine. We had a few drinks in what seemed like every pub in the town & have to say were treated like royality by the locals even if we were the city "blow ins"!!!
We had another very nice night of sleep and what was nicer is we were in no rush to check out the following morning as there were no guests checking in.
All in all we had a very lovely few days staying in these cottages and would recommend them to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We had a lovely journey to skibereen in cork. But on arriving at our cottage we only realised it was a semi cottage not a detached cottage as we thought. The bedroom was down stairs which was very cold we could really feel the cold on going in to the bedroom. The picture on the web site showed lovely slippers etc on bed, they were not new they had been used .The bathroom had at least a 18inch step up to it. There was double doors out to the green and had cars parked looking on to the bathroom not very private. In the other toilet room there was a shower but you would hit your head of it and It was very very small. Up stairs the opposite of cold the heat hit you and your could only open one window. Wine was left for us but there was a smell of smoke and it wasn't very fresh it had limited cooking area. It was very deceiving from the pictures on the website. There was no one there to greet us we asked to be changed to the owner over a phone call, he said he would try the next day.we had paid a deposit but we got a phone call to say a relation had died and we had to leave and rang the owners to tell them on the way home. . We didn't stay even one night and he said he would be in touch in a few days we didn't hear from them but they took the full money out of our account by card without discussing it they could have spoke to us.We felt it was diy standard and not value for money.
east told us they were going to do it not very business like I think they didn't believe us we would say don't rush here to compact and to close together as cottages not very romantic and not what the web showed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dyphna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghie, Owner at Grove House and Courtyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

We kindly ask all readers to read this response in full. This review is completely untrue. According to our records it originates from a couple who booked Courtyard Cottage no. 2 nearly 12 months ago. Due to personal reasons, the couple had to curtail their stay, making them liable for cancellation charges. For all cancellations we try and relet the property and, if successful, we waive any cancellation charges. At short notice this was not possible and, regrettably, as a small business we had to levy cancellation charges in this case. This is common practice in the hospitality industry. We advise our guests to take out cancellation cover on our website and on their confirmation. It would appear that a year on, the guests decided to take revenge for this by posting a highly negative review on Trip Advisor.

Lets examine the review in details.
Courtyard Cottage 2 was booked. As the name suggests this is in a courtyard with other cottages (namely Courtyard Cottage no. 1).
We notified the guests that we would not be present to greet them but that the cottage would be ready for their arrival. It was.
Freshly laundered robes and slippers were provided.
We can't comment on the weather for that day but it was June 2010. Upstairs, there are two windows and three skylights all of which open.
The cottage has a full kitchen with hob, oven, microwave, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.
The step from the bedroom to the bathroom is not 'at least 18"'. View the bedroom on the website and you will see this. From the bathroom, there are French doors that open out to a large expanse of private lawn. The bathroom is not overlooked and completely private.
The Cottage is completely private and self-contained. The website pictures are 100% reliable. What you see is what you get.
We asked Trip Advisor to remove this review but is refused on the grounds that it didn't break their guidelines. A review does not have to be truthful to comply as it is the opinion of the reviewer.
As owners we find this unfair but we can do very little about it.
Ironically, Trip Advisor has just awarded us a Plaque for Excellence.

Lets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
11.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
488 reviews
17.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
514 reviews
13.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
186 reviews
9.8 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House and Courtyard Cottages

Address: Skibbereen Retirement Village | Coolnagarrane, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Courtyard Skibbereen
Skibbereen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing