We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Concha Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

La Concha Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Castletownshend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spacious, modern layout. V friendly service. Excellent menu and superb food. Loved the spicy calamari.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    14
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I must visit restaurant in Old Skibbereen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I called in for lunch on Thursday last, after having been told it was very good. We were not disappointed. From the moment we walked through the door, we were made to feel welcome, with attentive and friendly staff.

My wife had fresh prawns on brown bread, with a salad and seafood sauce. I had cod goujons, with fries, and a small salad. The cod and fries were beautifully cooked and the batter was perfect; light and crisp. We will be back - For dinner, next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terryc894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anybody who likes good seafood must go to this restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was staying in skibbereen for two nights with my family 3 young kids 8,6,8 months we seen a review and went to check it out as we all love seafood.Nicola was our waitress and could not be more helpful the children's menu didn't suit my little ones taste so we asked for half portions of the adult mains wow no problem it was done . We have been refused this in other places but not here fantastic service the food was amazing and the price was very good for the food we got this was the first night we went!! The next night we were 40 km away when my 8 yr old asked to go back as he wanted what mam had the night before the creamy seafood pasta so we drove back and this time myself and the wife got the seafood platter Omg 16 different fish plus crab, prawn etc crazy good what a night. The chef and owner came out to speak to us as it was our second night there.if you like good seafood and you have a car drive to this place you won't be sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macfamilyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had been dying to try this restaurant out since it opened. I had heard amazing reviews from friends, family and from the radio!! Fish was exceptional, wine was superb, service A1. Lived up to everything I had heard and you don't have to break the bank!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing night out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant on 20th August while holidaying in Skibbereen. We had always visited its predecessor, Le Voyage when in that neck of the woods and unfortunately La Concha is a poor replacement. Our waitress gave us the menus but didn't tell us that there were any specials - we subsequently spotted a specials board half obscured by another couple's table and apologised while we peered over them at it - there was another board in a different part of the restaurant which wasn't visible from our table. We ordered water and wine from our waitress, neither of which had appeared by the time our starters had arrived. We asked again and when she brought the wine it had already been uncorked, we weren't asked if we'd like to taste it and we had to turn our wine glasses the right way up. The starters of crab and smoked mackerel were fine but the bread accompanying them was let down by rock hard butter still wrapped in foil - surely a butter dish wouldn't be too much of a stretch? The main course, black sole was well cooked but was accompanied by frozen chips and a very bog standard green salad - very disappointing that there was no effort to make handcut chips. Desserts were edible but bland, in particular the dark chocolate marquise. The atmosphere was quite cold and unwelcoming and there was no background music. While prices were not over the top, the service was dreadful and food quality not up too scratch (other than the black sole). All in all a rather dull restaurant and dull food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire_Merrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Concha Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing