We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and staff”
Review of An Chistin Beag

An Chistin Beag
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and staff”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We were warned to book and it was obvious why, good food at good prices with lovely staff and over half the tables reserved for "in the know " locals. Take out also seemed to be an option for many.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank smurfyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    20
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smashing breakfast!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Simply gorgeous food, good coffee - we love going there for breakfast (usually brunch) ;-)
GF options available, and service with a smile. Small place but well worth the wait if required.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank afishcalledwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
316 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“a tiny little gem - be sure to visit it”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had one of the best seafood meals ever eaten in this little Gem. I would recommend booking, but we were lucky when we called on spec on July 14th - I would never visit that part of the country again without eating heret. Well done to the sisters who run this magnificent Restaurant - keep up the good work

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent food, service and price”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Myself and my husband had dinner here tonight. We both had starters, mains and dessert and it was all fab. The food was cooked to perfection and well presented. The waitresses were very attentive however not intrusive and always had a smile on their faces. This is a small restaurant but with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We were amazed at the good value, our bill came to €55, which is outstanding value for the quality of food and service we received, you would pay €80 for same in other restaurants. P.s Loved the hand basin in the ladies!!.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in west cork”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Small cosy cafe/restaurant with a lovely warm atmosphere that suits all the family. Food is proper Irish hearty wholesome food, they do a chicken and homemade potato stuffing warm bap which is to die for!!! The desserts are amazing and above all the staff cannot do enough to make you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible throughout your meal. Prices are also very reasonable! Anyone who has anything bad to say about this place would want to get their head checked because it is amazing!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 224racheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Chistin Beag also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
 

Been to An Chistin Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing