We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely setting and great base for West Cork”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Stall

Private garden and patio to the rear.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private garden and patio to the rear.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Private garden and patio to the rear.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Skibbereen, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lenal2120...
County Cavan, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely setting and great base for West Cork”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Mary, the owner was very friendly and helpful. Quiet location but close to the town and all its amenities. The kids loved Oreo the dog who lived on the farm and ran over to them when they were outside. The house had all we needed for our stay and was plenty big enough for the five of us. We visited Clonakilty - great farmer's market on a Friday, Rosscarbery - great fun at the Lagoon activity centre, crazy golf, pitch and putt and on the beach (Warren Strand). Mizen Head is definitely worth a visit and we were lucky enough to have a sunny day when we were there so the views were amazing!
Lots to see and do within an hours drive so a great place for a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thanks for the great review, delighted you had such a good time with us. Hope to see you all again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGL416
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fantastic Home and Setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Mary and Aidan, thank you very much for a wonderful stay. My wife and three daughters could not be more pleased. The place was immaculate with all the amenities of home. The setting is perfect and we really felt like we experienced a real piece of Ireland. We would definitely stay here again and enthusiastically recommend it to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gracious hosts and beautiful home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
It was lovely meeting you and your family. We are delighted you had such a good time. Hope to see you back again and for longer next time.

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenC348...
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fabulous place to stay really comfortable home away from home... very child friendly mine loved it can't wait to go back... They loved and miss dora and floppy...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Dora and Floppy are in great form.

See you again.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryButt...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, high quality accommodation and very warm welcome!”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

As a family we booked both The Stall and The Stable cottages at Abbey Farm Cottages and they were both wonderful. Very spacious and elegantly restored with excellent kitchen facilities, good TV + WiFi and very comfy beds and bedrooms! It provided us with a very comfortable home from home while we enjoyed the beautiful countryside of Skibbereen. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Excellent value. (The cows were nice and friendly too!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms and the very comfortable beds.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2015
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us. Hope to see you all again, maybe for longer next time so that you can experience more of what West Cork has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelaetic...
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy house”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I had bought the Stall for a night with friends and we all enjoyed it! The living room/kitchen is big, bedrooms are super nice and the 2 bathrooms are perfect to avoid cleaning queues! Mary is a very nice and hepful host. Overall the house is clean and very comfortable and cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thanks for staying with us hope you got to see all the sights, if not you are welcome back here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely place to stay. We had extra people in our party; no problem to Mary who immediately sourced an extra double bed for the living room!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2014
Barry we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and the kayaking, hope to see you all back again sometime. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing, well appointed and comfortable accommodation in a great location.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great location for visiting West Cork and surrounding tourist sights. Comfortable, well appointed and quiet accommodation. Mary and Aidan are wonderful hosts who also assisted us in things to see and do locally. Enjoyed our week very much and even the weather was kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage facilities, location and the quiet.
Liked least: nothing that comes to mind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2013
Malcolm,

It was lovely meeting you and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. You got to see a lot of West Cork while here.
Mary & Aidan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing