We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem by the Ilen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The West Cork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2011

First of all I have stayed here before and enjoyed the experience but just to warn you it is not glamouress. Who wants fluff and bother in the beautiful wilds of west Cork anyways? However it is imbued with west Cork hospitality and graciousness that cannot be bought in a Hilton, (in which I must stay frequently). It is wonderful to see the majority of reviews on this site agree. The front desk staff especially Adele Margaret and Karen are fantastic and very helpful in finding your way around or suggesting sites to see. Ann Marie is a godsend for sorting you out for things needed and always very happy to see you. It is wonderful to be remembered and appreciated and this little gem is the one to do it! A
special shout out to Lukas in the pub as he's your man for a well pulled pint. The food is wonderful and locally sourced for that extra lovely touch of authenticity. I and my family shall return. Again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCORK, Front Office Manager at The West Cork Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is nice to be appreciated I have passed your comments on to our staff - hopefully see you again soon!
Edel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 505 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

superb stay in this lovely hotel in january. Food was fantastic and staff were most helpful throughout our stay. will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Good clean place, staff friendly and welcoming prices are fair, will return again

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebel-guy-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We had stayed here ten years ago and not been impressed but on returning recently we loved it. The staff all very welcoming, the decor updated and the prices were lower than ten years ago. Alli in €59 euro for room with b&b for 2 and the breakfast was excellent. Very happy people.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanlpdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel is ideal with young children. Recently refurbished, this small town hotel has now a modern feel in the lounge, a good bar (with sofas- great for smallies!), lovely restaurant (huge portions though), very friendly staff from reception to restaurant. Breakfast is very well stacked for continental (fresh croissants, etc), and huge selection of cooked breakfast as well...you won't go hungry in this hotel! The best part for us was the room - best we've ever stayed in for our kids (4 and 1 years). Room 23 was a huge room with a partition wall in the middle, so one room had a huge double bed, cupboard, coffee facilities and TV for parents, and the other part of the room had a single bed, cot, another press and TV for the kids. This meant they could sleep while we could still read or watch TV after 8pm! Heaven for parents of young kids everywhere! Crisp white linen and fluffy towel, while it is not a very luxurious hotel, the right room IS a luxury for parents with small kids.. located right in town with lovery coffee places (Riverside Cafe), and Voyage Restaurant, both lovely food AND very child friendly (restaurant starts serving dinners at 5.30pm!). The only thing I would say is that on a Wedding week end, the hotel could probably get a bit noisy...but it is down to the guests, not the hotel. The whole week end felt very family friendly, from the hotel to the facilities in town (there is a playground as well in town).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbmIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

A very picturesque hotel, beautiful lobby, castleesque with magnificent paintings.
Very friendly and accomadating staff always smiling, which is a MUST when working in the service industry! Food was very tasty and full of choice, very good for vegetarians (as I am one) and had no qualms. Breakfast was also very good full of choice, wide range of hot to cold breakfasts. Excellent waitressing service.
Rooms were comfortable, only negative would be the decor, maybe slightly outdated, could do with a change of colour scheme, but all and all great sleep and no noise pollution.
Brilliant value and in a superb location.
Will definately stay again.
Oh and the free WIFI was the icing on the cake :)

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here in Sept 2010 with my wife and in-laws. It is in a decent spot in Skibbereen, which is not a bad base to see the rest of West Cork from. The town itself is okay and there are a couple of good pubs (Baby Hannah's was good fun and serves a good pint).

The staff in the hotel are very welcoming and good, the rooms less so. We had room 29 which is on the large-ish size but not good. It is very dark and looks like it is in need of a clean (we had chocolate stains on the bed and there was dust-created signature on the wall) There is a bed in the lounge area (for the 2+1 room occupiers) but it does get in the way. The bathroom was so tiny as to make it impossible to get in the bath with the shower screen closed.

It is situated above the kitchens and consequently hot in the room, yet should you want to open the window beware: being above the kitchen means that it stinks of food cooking and there is a dog that barks for 24hrs a day and that helps to keep you awake.

The food is passable, but makes up for a lack of quality with huge portions. It willl clearly suit some, but a little bit less for some improvement in cooking would be fine. Breakfasts are very good, though with some idiosyncratic service.

All in all, it is not bad, but it could be so much better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisAlner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
12 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,228 reviews
6 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
10.5 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
530 reviews
17.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
17.9 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Cork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Cork Hotel

Address: Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Cork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking full advantage of the peaceful River Ilen views, The West Cork Hotel offers the best of both worlds – tranquility and location. Situated in the town centre, with all that Skibbereen & the surrounding area has to offer on our doorstep, the hotel is more than ideal for a complete break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. 34 spacious, uniquely decorated guestrooms satisfy a variety of accommodation requirements, with many offering river views. The Ilen Bar is a place of relaxation, with luxurious leather seating and a delicious bar menu for a swift, casual snack. For those with more time to enjoy a leisurely bite – the Restaurant offers a carvery lunch by day, and full a la carte menu by night, featuring many of the local food producers on our menus.We are the ideal choice for those on business, those looking for an activity based holiday and those of you that just wish to kick back and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The West Cork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cork Skibbereen
Hotel West Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing