We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ticks all the right boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The West Cork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A nice quiet hotel with friendly staff,good food and a freshly cooked breakfast not a buffet "rubber" one so common in most hotels nowadays.I stay away from home on average once a week and this hotel gives you a home from home atmosphere.I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clonmelgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding the hotel was beautiful! The staff could not do enough for us! The food(at the wedding and for breakfast) was gorgeous fresh and really tasty! I really enjoyed the hotel and would definately recommend it as a weekend getaway(and obviously a hotel for weddings)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaze1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited the West Cork Hotel last weekend for a wedding. We booked in for the Friday and Saturday night as we were travelling from Wexford and booked it in February as we know that the hotel has a limited number of rooms and it would be quite a large wedding. I have to say that we were impressed from the moment we arrived by the friendliness of the staff and the warmth and comfort of the hotel. We were advised that there was a new owner in the last number of years who had added on to the hotel and redecorated but I have to say that the hotel still retains its old world charm and you wouldn't know unless told where the extensions had been added. The hotel serves breakfast until 12pm every day which was absolutely brilliant or you could have room service if you so desired. The bedrooms were plenty big and very nicely furnished with a large bathroom. It was so unique in this day and age to be given a proper key to open the bedroom door. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and on leaving the owner was passing and asked if we had a nice stay and if he could help us with anything else. Really enjoyed the hotel but the only downside was that it was slightly more expensive than any other hotel we would have stayed in in the last number of years. Would def stay again if we got a good deal. The wedding dinner was absolutely gorgeous and Kathleen (who seemed to be the head waitress) was a doll. The picture for the guests to sign on the way in was a lovely touch as was the duck race to clear the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evely016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The West Cork Hotel is a rare find - a four star quality hotel, presented to a high standard, but without the sterile atmosphere that so often pervades medium to large size hotels. The public rooms, reception, area, bar and restaurant are all comfortable and welcoming. The hotel enjoys a pleasant location overlooking the river Ilen, and is just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Skibbereen. We were upgraded to the Bridal Suite and enjoyed lovely, spacious accommodation, decorated to a high standard with period fittings and a generous balcony overlooking the river and former Railway Bridge. The heart of any business is its staff and the West Cork Hotel doesn't disappoint. From Manager Neil Grant down the team are friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. The West Cork Hotel offers great cuisine in both the bar and main restaurant. The breakfasts are terrific - and served until 12.30 - other hotels take note. We were there for the West Cork Food Festival, of which the hotel is an integral part. We had a great stay and found the hotel to be a great base for exploring the lovely West Cork region. We look forward to returning before too long!

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it it's worth opting for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laxeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visited this hotel again after many years. Used to come regularly when we were younger but having visited last week to see the hotel revamped, it had not lost its warmth or charm. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the room was very well presented and comfortable. We ate in the retaurant and can not say enough about how delighted we were. I love fish and I was thrilled with the variety and choices of fresh fish and it was lovely to think that the fish was was sourced locally also. My husband had steak and he was really pleased. We had the hotel starter which was a combination of starters and it got the meal off to a lovely start.
What i was really impressed with was the reception staff and the bar staff. They were just really lovely and chatty and so helpful. My husband forgot a really good pair of shoes when we left but we got a call from the hotel to say they had been found, in honesty we had not missed them but the hotel posted them to us. This is one of these things in my estimation that deserves a mention. its great to get value for your money and service with a smile and a bit of a chat thats not over the top. Im easily pleased most of the time but the tea and coffee making facities in a hotel room is one of my 'must haves' so we were on a winner from early on!!!This is a bit "thank you" from the Mc Carthys, we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittycosengas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Choose this Hotel initially for a number of reasons. Our first enquiry was responded to quickly & with great courtesy. Our questions were clearly answered, and confirmation given with the minimum of fuss. On arrival we were made to immediately feel 'at home'. Kennedy's Restaurant was a delight.Bedrooms excellent and the Riverside bar extremely relaxing. The management & staff work as a team to ensure you are made to feel as VIP as possible. The interaction between guests and staff was of the highest calibre.The location is well placed for exploring the town and environs. We were on our wedding anniversary weekend, and hope to return next year to coincide with The Taste of West Cork Food festival, and another Celtic Cook Off held in this hotel.
Well done to The West Cork Hotel

Room Tip: We had room 42, which had a nice view of the river & was well maintained with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for one night, and whilist the rooms are a bit on the small side and the walls are very thin, i have to say this hotel is very impressive. Staff were extremely nice and friendly from the minute we arrived. The hotel lobby and the bar and restaurant are furnished very well, old style furniture, so it has a certain grand feeling about it. The food in this hotel is in a league of its own, we had the fish pie for dinner and i have never tasted anything like it, it was divine, real hearty food, and came with a serving of delicious fresh vegetables.. Breakfast was another excellent meal, everything is cooked to order and they have an extensive menu to choose from, i had the french toast which was divine, Eggs Kennedy was yum too. Make sure to try the fresh crossiants, they were delicious. I would definately reccomend this hotel, and would definately stay again in a heartbeat. And the owner came to say hello to us at breakfast and was very helpful in giving us local info on where to head for next.. very nice touch!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skibbereen
12.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,210 reviews
10.5 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
713 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
104 reviews
13.8 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
188 reviews
18.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Cork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Cork Hotel

Address: Ilen Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skibbereen
Price Range: $91 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The West Cork Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taking full advantage of the peaceful River Ilen views, The West Cork Hotel offers the best of both worlds – tranquility and location. Situated in the town centre, with all that Skibbereen & the surrounding area has to offer on our doorstep, the hotel is more than ideal for a complete break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. 34 spacious, uniquely decorated guestrooms satisfy a variety of accommodation requirements, with many offering river views. The Ilen Bar is a place of relaxation, with luxurious leather seating and a delicious bar menu for a swift, casual snack. For those with more time to enjoy a leisurely bite – the Restaurant offers a carvery lunch by day, and full a la carte menu by night, featuring many of the local food producers on our menus.We are the ideal choice for those on business, those looking for an activity based holiday and those of you that just wish to kick back and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The West Cork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cork Skibbereen
Hotel West Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing