We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get it”
Review of Bridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge House
Ranked #2 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Mona was lovely, and exceptionally helpful. However, I don't get the appeal this b&b seems to generate. The clutter defies dusting, and I woke up with burning eyes and a scratchy throat. The towels were skimpy and rough, and the price was high for a shared bath situation. Obviously, I'm in the minority, but to each their own. This place was not for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JFG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay and Mona is a wonderful host,she helped us so much. We had to scatter our mothers ashes in Skib and this lady went all the way to help us by telling us who to get the flowers from (which I must say were beautiful) she even went the extra mile and gave us some holy water to take with us. The breakfast was also so very special and her house is just a wonderful place to stay you must try it for yourselves and you will see this special place and lady.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Betty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We didn't book this a relative did .What a fabulous treat we were greeted by the warm and wonderful Mona.Who showed us to our rooms on the way we bumped into a few permanent residents dressed in Victorian attire.
The rooms were wonderfully wacky and OTT and its true there is a Bible tucked between 50 Shades of Grey and its Sequel everywhere you looked there was many a curiosity .After we chose which rooms which was quite simple really as the one we wanted the others couldn't handle the 70s style wallpaper we were shown the bathroom.Which was again full of beautiful furniture. A thoughtful but unobtrusive host .With the best Breakfast ever with fresh just made bread and local produce. Served with edible flowers from the amazing foliage that adorns the front of the Building. We went to take our Grans Ashes Home and Mona Helped us find the places we needed and even. Gave us some Holly water.

Room Tip: Just tell Mona What your in to .There will be one for you.Rooms at the back would be quieter but alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 615Lisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Mona set us up in one of her best rooms with only a couple of hours notice. The room was lovely and romantic. Mona is an excellent hostess serving a fabulous breakfast with her charm and hospitality. Her house is very intriguing and artistic. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: It is on a busy street so if noise bothers you, ask for one of the rooms that do not overlook the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room's were clean, the breakfast was delicious and filling, the decorations were intriguing and filled the house with character.

Best of all was the warm hospitality. We came for the food festival but stayed for Mona's great company! If you're lucky, you might get a glimpse of Ringo Star too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bridge House for an amazing weekend, made all the better because of Mona Best. We felt like we were visiting family and she was lovely. I loved the unusual decor and all the little touches she provided to make our stay with her enjoyable and memorable, not to mention the outstanding breakfast she cooked. I would recommend her bed & breakfast highly to anyone thinking of making a trip to Skibbereen. We hope to return very soon in the near future and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else but at Bridge House.
Dolores and Diarmuid

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ringo Star met us at the door with a warm welcome! Mona is absolutely amazing!!! The room was wonderful and very peaceful. I loved the fresh flowers but the Irish hospitality was by far the best!!!!! I wish we had time to stay here a week! Thanks for making us feel at home! Jim and Eileen

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skibbereen hotels
0.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#7 of 12 in Skibbereen
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Russagh Mill Hostel
Russagh Mill Hostel
#1 of 7 in Skibbereen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
47 reviews
1.5 mi away
PK Lodge
PK Lodge
#4 of 12 in Skibbereen
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Liss Ard Estate
Liss Ard Estate
#3 of 12 in Skibbereen
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Address: Bridge House 74 Bridge Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing