We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B to Be Experienced and Enjoyed”
Review of Bridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skibbereen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge House
Ranked #2 of 12 Skibbereen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This has the Today fm award for Irelands most unusual b&b and it is fully deserving of it. The exterior gives some hint to the treasures that are inside. All lovingly styled by the lady of the house Mona, this is her haven and her personality shines throughout the house. We stayed for two nights, in main room to the front which had fab pink ensuite. Very comfortable bed and fab feather pillows. The breakfast both mornings was gorgeous and Mona was very interesting and the perfect host. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise room to the back would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eva_Diva11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are tired of the tried and tested and are prepared to accept something decidedly different then the Bridge House is the place for you. Nothing could prepare you for the uniqueness that Mona, your hostess, offers in her quirky & very charming bed & breakfast conveniently located on the main street of the town. Look out for mannequins in full bridal regalia hanging out on the landing, note the fur coat casually hung on the stairwell, Venetian masks, hats, books, fox furs thrown over the back of a bedroom chair, cushions in odd places and really amazing wallpaper. All this and more - you will not be bored. Very comfortable beds reminiscent of what you might have experienced in your granny's house long ago and the rooms were spotless. Mona has a unique way of making you feel like you are one of her family - a charming, knowledeable & warmhearted woman who obviously loves life and celebrates it in a very individual way certainly not bowing to any conventional norms in the process! Breakfast was special too, everything you could ask for, fresh and plentiful. I really hate to raise the one small quibble which Mona can do nothing about and that is the traffic noise but we were in the front of the house & if you book in advance and request a back bedroom it should eliminate that problem. I only mention it because this is a review and it might matter to some people. Thanks Mona - we will be back.

Room Tip: If traffic noise is an issue for you try to book in advance and request a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleasure-seeker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thank you mona from trevor lynda and tadhg. we enjoyed every moment of our experience and we will be coming back to stay and to catch up with our friend mona who we think about all the time. the place was beautifull and the towns people were very friendly. thank you again mona and we will see you soon.

Room Tip: Just visit and be amazed thats all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevoroc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on a road trip around Cork, delighted we found this place! Welcomed by the very 1 and only Mona the Lady of the House!
Room was very comfortable and spacious with the decor from a different era! Especially the bathroom!! All good though..location wise its right in town and breakfast wss v good with fresh fruit a selection of bread and a fry!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGirls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow, what can I say? From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly by Mona, to the moment we left, we loved Bridge House. Mona has filled this place with treasures, and you find something new to catch your eye each time you look. Our room was fabulously decorated with lots of little touches that only Mona would think of. Her recommendation for an evening meal was brilliant - make sure you book 'la concha' in advance! Mona really is a fantastic host and her breakfast is worth the trip alone. We will return. Thanks Mona :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

fabulous victoriana with attention to detail and a genuine welcome. delicious breakfast that would put any hotel to shame . enormous bath tub with rose petals is just one example of the delights. and all at a very reasonable price. would highly recommend. thank you Mona !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samintoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Mona is the hostess with the mostest - a wonderful lady who has put her life and soul into this wonderful B&B and detail is everything. Very comfortable room and fantastic food - Mona is the secret weapon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanOK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skibbereen hotels
0.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilenroy House
Ilenroy House
#8 of 12 in Skibbereen
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Liss Ard Estate
Liss Ard Estate
#3 of 12 in Skibbereen
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marguerites
Marguerites
#5 of 12 in Skibbereen
47 reviews
0 mi away
Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse
Coolbawn Lodge Farmhouse
#6 of 12 in Skibbereen
30 reviews
1.3 mi away
Russagh Mill Hostel
Russagh Mill Hostel
#1 of 7 in Skibbereen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Address: Bridge House 74 Bridge Street, Skibbereen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Skibbereen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skibbereen
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing