We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best café in Skib!”
Review of Apple Betty's Cafe

Apple Betty's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Located in the heart of Skibbereen town. Offering Breakfast,Light lunches,Salads,Wraps,Panini,Open Sandwiches & Toasties.Home Made Soups, Quiche, Lasagne .Great coffee and speciality tea served.Delicious Home Baking. Gluten-free and spelt options.Meal Deals & Kids Menu. Daily specials on our chalk board.FREE WI_FI.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best café in Skib!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I ate in Apple Betty's a few times, and the food was always amazing.
I tried the open sandwich with goat cheese and vegetables, and it was absolutely delicious, I loved it (although I think it was a little bit overpriced). Then we came back several times to taste the wonderful desserts. I tried a lot of cakes but my favourite was the chocolate and raspberry one.
The location is nice, the girls who work there are kind and friendly, and you can enjoy your meal while listening to very good music.
I'm italian, so I'm kind of obsessed with good food, and I can totally say that this place is absolutely recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little Gem in Skibbereen”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a coffee & a toasties in here. It's very nice food at a good price. The coffee was very nice & the sandwich had a nice amount of filling in appose to other places. Nice & cozy. Very clean. I'd recommend this place to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mancobud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Yammi food and friendly staff. Perfect! Lovely sitting area outside.
Definitely will go over there again. Well run and clean, coffee was very tasty and hot, just as I like it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjjCork, Owner at Apple Betty's Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for Apple Betty's”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had been everywhere from Kenmare, all the way down to Clonakilty. And this was the best Coffee - No doubt. I had a lovely toasted panini with chicken and brie and it was very tasty.
Was so glad of the coffee after a week of being in "cafes" with no baristas and all machine coffee. Not like that here - The real deal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShamDela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjjCork, Owner at Apple Betty's Cafe, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for visiting our café and your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice food but the staff are not that clued up.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this little place whilst having a stroll through Skibbareen. The food was very nice and all home made, however my partner has a very serious allergy to nuts. The waitress told us there was no nuts in the rocky road, unfortunately there was! We had a bit of a nasty scare. They kindly refunded the money for the desert but we then heard the staff discussing/arguing trying to figure out which deserts actually contain nuts, we would have expected them to know. Still worth popping in for a pot of tea and a toastie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Betty's Cafe also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
Crosshaven, County Cork
 

Been to Apple Betty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing