We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building”

The Church Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Skibbereen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Church Restaurant is located in the heart of Skibbereen Town in West Cork, it was originally a Methodist Church from 1833 to 2003. Steeped in history and character with lovely stained glass windows and high wooden ceilings, The Church Restaurant is open 7 days a week serving a variety of locally sourced produce. All beef & meat served in this restaurant is of Irish origin and purchased in the local butcher shop. Fresh fish comes from the local shores of Union Hall and vegetables are purchased daily for local suppliers.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The best thing about this Restaurant is the building. It appears to be Church that has been converted into a restaurant and the attention to the detailing of the decor etc. is excellent. The staff were friendly enough. The food was just ok, they have the potential to do so much more with the food. It was a pleasant place to see on our trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccalyons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    139
    35
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lots of character, food very good!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were attracted by the character of this restaurant which was once a church, lovely. We called in three times during our stay in the area, once just for hot drinks on a rainy day, once for tea/coffee and cake and once for lunch. It was all good and my husband was amazed at how good the stuffed lamb dish was: beautifully cooked, served with four different vegetables, generous, one of the best meals he's had in a long time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab first night meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We travelled to Skibbereen on a family holiday and had had the church recommended by the owner of the house we were renting. It didn't disappoint - fab setting, lots of choice, good portion sizes and we would have gone back but it is only open on certain nights.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiggytogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions. Today lunch -Fresh fish and chips with salad (divine dressing). Service prompt, polite, friendly. The fish, as always, cooked lightly to perfection. Meal hot. Wine excellent. I love the fact that this restaurant only serves fresh fish and can cook it far better than myself! Be careful if you go there- the meal may take away your attention to the beautiful surroundings including the jaw-dropping beautifully created Waterford Crystal chandeliers, never mind the colourful leaded windows and original confessional screen!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celticpoppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Laois, Ireland
2 reviews
“Sauce not authentic.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

For a place that looks and feels so nice with great service, a pity about the food. I had the chicken stuffed with feta on mashed potato which was fine but the sauce over it was not authentic --- it had a bisto taste..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Restaurant also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Skibbereen, County Cork
 
Skibbereen, County Cork
 

Been to The Church Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing