We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Garden”
Review of Glanleam House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glanleam House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Reviewed July 28, 2009

To visit Glanleam gardens is to experience a truly magical environment. The idea that its possible to grow such lush and exotic plants on one of Europe's most westerly inhabited island surrounded by the atlantic ocean is hard to imagine..............until you see it! Try walking around the gardens, take time to explore the many hidden treasures, water courses and pools, see the walled garden and then walk on to visit Valentia lighthouse and take tea at the lighthouse cafe overlooking this stunning place. Come prepared, you will be visiting the far south west of Ireland where the weather can and does vary by the minute. Bring good walking shoes and rainwear - enjoy the almost tropical athmosphere in the gardens, take time to breath it all in and when you finally leave say a big hello to the gentle dog.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reenellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2009

I am an avid gardener so you can imagine my delight when I recently went to Valentia Island County Kerry to find this attraction on the doorstep. However the experience of the visit to the gardens was a huge disappointment and extremely expensive.
The literature promises a magical sub tropical garden with various sections and wonderful walks. The reality is that for 20 euros (2 adults and 2 under 5's) you wander around and around overgrown paths which are so badly maintained that it is impossible to view or distinguish any of the plants or themes of the walks. The paths are actuially dangerous and some of the overgrown plants hazardous tskin and eyes. The visitor map highlights areas such as bamboo walk and orchard which in reality are completely overgrown and inaccessible. I could still be looking for the pond in the bog garden but had to call it a day!!
The directional signage is very poor if in existence at all - some missing and other signs lying on the ground. At the end of the visit I felt very ripped off and disappointed.This was made even worse when a few days later I visited Derrynane House and Gradens and paid 6 euros for the same family group to visit both the House and wonderful, accessible and maintained gardens.
Anyone taken in by the marketing literature should think twice before visiting.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
15  Thank carapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I stayed at Glanleam House with three friends and we all enjoyed our stay tremendously. The standards were very high, the surroundings beautiful and the owners were helpful and friendly. Our rooms were comfortable and luxurious with spectacular views over the bay to mountains on the mainland. The exceptional and historical gardens are fascinating and their ongoing restoration is the result of the brave and imaginative owner. Glanleam is a great and relaxing base for exploring Valentia Island and parts of Kerry.

It would have been a bonus to have tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, but that is the only thing that I would change in this comfortable and interesting family country house hotel.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank Travelhappy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Having just returned from Glanleam house, we were delighted to return to our own bed and the comforts of home. Given the expensive rates charged in this house, I cannot dissuade potential visitors strongly enough not to stay here.

We were greeted by an interrogation as to why we were so late arriving. The room we stayed in had a beautiful view, but not basic comforts like a tea/coffee making facilities. We were provided with one litre bottle of water for our three day stay. Our bed was covered in a duvet that was too small for the bed, which meant one of us woke up without blankets each night.

Every time we met the landlady she was complaining, (the gate had been left open, the gate was broken, guests due to arrive were making awkward requests etc)

One evening during our stay we were chatting to the landlady outside, as we had just returned from a lovely walk around the grounds. Suddenly one of her dogs appeared, barking angrily. The land lady tried to reason with the dog, but he came straight towards me, jumped up on me and almost knocked me over, growling vicously. I dread to think what might have happened had the landlady not been there to restrain him. She said he had reacted like that once before to another lady also dressed in black. I found this experience distressing, so make sure you dress in the appropriate colours when going walking!

This is definitely somewhere we felt we needed to go on holidays to recover from. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Eyelash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I think the reviews I read here were unfair. We had a lovely stay at Glanleam; our every comfort was thought of ; our hostess was gracious and attentive. She has restored a magnificent garden - no small feat on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean - and has saved a fine house from dereliction. Valentia Island itself is a place I have visited many times, and never grow tired of the it.
It's a real treat to stay in Glanleam House, but a trip to Valentia and a tour of the gardens is strongly reccommended for all visitors to Kerry

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CitygirlWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

Gardens and House are beautiful. Nice walk to the seaside and light tower. But the two household women are very unfriendly and finally aggressive to children. It is an expensive place to stay. The only lovely creature is the dog that was walking with us.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank matte306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

While the grounds of Glanleam House were beautiful, the unfortunate part of our visit was the owner was very unfriendly, unwelcoming and very abrupt. Constantly felt we were in the way. Would not recommend a visit to Glanleam House on Valentia Island.

Stayed: August 2006
20  Thank sod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
0.4 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
278 reviews
8.6 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
278 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
19.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glanleam House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glanleam House

Address: Knightstown, Valentia | Ireland, Valentia Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Valentia Island
Price Range: $114 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glanleam House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glanleam House Hotel Valentia Island
Glanleam Hotel Valentia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing