We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five stars is probably not enough, superb place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Croi na gCnoc

Croí na gCnoc  Valentia Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Croí na gCnoc  Valentia Island
View from Gallery window Upstairs triple bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Croí na gCnoc  Valentia Island
View from Gallery window
Upstairs triple bedroom
Comfortable lounge with stunning views
View from triple bedroom
Imposing entrance hall leading to 1st floor gallery
Upstairs x 2 single beds
Modern open plan kitchen
First floor gallery
Kitchen dining area overlooking patio
Downstairs Bathroom
Upstairs en suite
Croí na gCnoc House
Skellig Michael - Home to early Christian Monks and Luke Skywalker's hide away.
Views from Skellig Michael
Sunset over Valentia Island
Seasonal car ferry from Renard to Valentia
Stormy views of Valentia lighthouse
Evening sunset from Geokawn Mountain
Views from Croi na gCnoc
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Valentia Island, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hugh016
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five stars is probably not enough, superb place”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were uncertain of our arrival time so Marie (the property owner) had provided us with her number and we called when we arrived on Valentia Island. By the time we arrived at the property, Marie's mother was there with the keys. She was very helpful and talked us through the property details. Marie had also left two bags of turf for us as I'd previously asked where we could get some. I felt that this was very thoughtful and kind of her.

During our stay, we found Croi na gCnoc to be a very well equipped and comfortable property with good levels of kitchen utensils and crockery. We cooked in the house a great deal and found everything that we needed. There is a sitting area outside the house and we had a barbeque there on two occasions.

The property is in a somewhat secluded spot, which was perfect for us. However, it was only two minutes from the main road. All aspects of the property were clean. This included the bedding, the bathrooms and the kitchen. The layout of the house was an attractive one with generous bedrooms, a very large kitchen dining area and a large open entrance hall. The entrance hall has its own open fire which we used during our visit. It is unusual for such a modern property to boast such a large entrance hall and it provided an additional feeling of space to an already generously sized property.

This is a wonderful property in an idyllic location. We were also constantly impressed by how friendly and open the people on Valentia Island are. If you like the idea of being within minutes of the Atlantic and some stunning scenery, while being accommodated in a high level of comfort, this is probably the place for you.

Marie and her mother lived near by and any little details that we enquired about were answered immediately. However, the owner and her mother were not at all intrusive and we enjoyed complete privacy. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property, and its owner, as being a great way to enjoy the splendour and warmth of Valentia Island.

Hugh Grehan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great welcome, great property, great location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Hugh,
Thank you so much for your kind words it was a pleasure to meet you all and I'm delighted ye enjoyed Valentia Island and its surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleCat...
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic base for exploring”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely house, beautiful views and great base for exploring Valentia and Kerry. Welcome was very friendly and children adored the dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review it was a pleasure to meet you all and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An idyllic location and accomodating owner made this the perfect family holiday home.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very spacious and well appointed - and it needed to be! We stayed for two weeks with another family - 4 adults and 6 kids total. Four bathrooms, two baths and two showers meant nobody ever had to wait and getting out quickly [when we wanted to] was never a problem.
The house was clean, tidy and comfortable. We had a bit of bad luck with the weather, so the DVD player and satellite TV helped keep the kids occupied. When the weather was nice, there was plenty of room for all the kids to play outside.
But what made this house a home away from home was the kind and accommodating owner, Marie. She went out of her way to help us with any issues we might have and always went the extra mile. For example, when the kids went through all the DVDs in the house [the above-mentioned bad weather], Marie allowed them to choose from her own children's DVDs. She pointed us to many fabulous places of interest off the beaten path and the tourist guides [like the beach in Ballinskelligs - not to be missed!], and even gave us lifts into Portmagee in the evening.
Valentia Island is an absolutely fabulous place to to spend your holiday. It provides easy access to the fabled Ring of Kerry, but thankfully lacks the cheesy, touristy nature of many of the more well known towns.
There are plenty of things to do on the Island before you even cross the bridge or take the ferry. Our favourites were the Geokaun Mountain and Fogher Cliffs (stunning views!) and the secluded cove beach at Glanleam. We also had a fabulous night in the local pub in Chapeltown during the tradition music session on Wednesday.
All in all, I recommend both Valentia Island and Croi na gCnoc very highly. We certainly intend on coming back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
John,

Thank you so much for your very kind and generous review it was a pleasure to meet you all and have you in valentia and hopefully we will meet again. Please pass on my regards to all the family.

Marie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bill M
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Tremendous holiday home with magnificent views located on an Island with outstanding natural beauty!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Croí na gCnoc House is a large property with many attractive features including breath taking views of the Portmagee Channel and the picturesque mountains of the mainland beyond. located in its own extensive grounds means that there is ample room for larger groups or equally a romantic setting for two. During our stay we spent most evenings dining alfresco sipping wine and watching the sun go down from what must be described as some of the most spectacular views in Ireland. The owner lives next door and was on hand not only to answer any questions or concerns but living on the Island she has a wealth of local knowledge. Equipped with that she directed us to Valentia's very own secluded beach at Glan Leam where we spent time swimming, fishing etc. The house itself is a real treat with modern amenities including a Jacuzzi bath that once in you will not want to get out. Equipped to a high standard this offered us all the comforts of a home away from home. We were so impressed with our first stay that we actually returned for this second visit and already we are looking to book again! We have recommended this property to both family and friends who have all expressed the same sentiments. We found this to be the ideal base to tour the Ring of Kerry and nearby Watervile home to some great golf courses where we couldn't resist playing. All in all a great property in a great location with a friendly owner on hand nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the house and location coupled with a friendly owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S
Nittendorf, Germany
1 review
“best service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

very nice B&B house, very professional service and delicious breakfast, all over very recommendable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views & Jacuzzi
Liked least: Hard mattresses
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing