We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discover the history of Valentia in this Fact filled museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentia Heritage Centre

Valentia Heritage Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.82*
and up
Private Tour: Ring of Kerry from Killarney
Attraction details
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Discover the history of Valentia in this Fact filled museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was one visit we saved for a rainy day that was both informative and interesting. Housed in the old school, once through the door, you are transported back to a by gone era . A wealth of memorabilia, artifacts, written documents and photographs are displayed throughout. In the time I spent there I learnt about the first transatlantic cable that was laid enabling the first telecommunications between Ireland and the USA. Even in modern times this would still be deemed to be a marvelous fete of engineering and ground breaking technology. The story of Island life is depicted down the years giving the visitor a greater understanding of what surviving would have been like in hard times. One story I found to be of great interest was that of a local resident the famous Irish footballer Mick O'Connell. From humble beginnings the story of his rise to fame is mapped out. The staff here are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and the admission fee was nominal making my visit a worthwhile experience and value for money. I would even consider calling back again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ValentiaBM1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fascinating little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Being off season it was hard to find much open. Luckily for us this little gem of a museum welcomed us. This is not a slick and polished place but just chocked full of treasures and rememberances. School, sea life, celebrity and transatlantic cable. Worth seeing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing how much has happened in this little island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

A great example of the local community pooling all their knowledge and putting together an interesting little museum. Gives an insight into schooling, attempts at laying communication cables across the Atlantic, some local tragedies and living life in a remote part of Ireland. Worth supporting with a 20 minute visit.

Helpful?
7 Thank CarnmoneyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My wife is a teacher, so we stopped here to see an old classroom. The museum has only two rooms and is very small. If you are interested in Valentina’s history you will like this.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
6 Thank MikLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Birthplace of the Internet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

The Valentia Heritage Centre has one of its large display rooms dedicated to the first Atlantic Cable, laid in 1858, and subsequent cables from the island. The 1858 cable ran from Valentia to Newfoundland and was the beginning of transatlantic communications.

The Centre's new website at http://vhc.cablehistory.org/ has more photos and detailed visitor information.

Helpful?
6 Thank FTL-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentia Heritage Centre also viewed

Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Valentia Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing