We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could Be Really Beautiful With A Bit More Love and Attention”

Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens
Attraction details
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could Be Really Beautiful With A Bit More Love and Attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited here with high hopes but were disappointed. These gardens were once magnificent I sure but appear to have fallen into disrepair. There are wonderful trees and plants here but it is hard to appreciate them because so much is overgrown. We paid 6 euros each to visit here and can only hope that all the money taken on entrance fees is put toward a gardener with a vision who can restore these gardens to their former glory. A good start would be to chop back plants from the paths so it is easier to travel thoughout the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    8
    2
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Appalling Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

There is no access to the house so it is unclear why there a house mentioned in the description. The gardens are completely overgrown. The paths are not maintained and extremely dangerous near sheer cliffs. Upon complaint the management were rude and unwilling to refund.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place, bad weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The "Gardens" consists of a main house, and a set of cottages in the area. There is access to the sea, but it's a long walk on a slippery path and the sea in Ireland is pretty rough, very cold and can be dangerous. Unless you're extremely confident in your swimming abilities and hypothermia is not an issue, go the local swimming pool in the nearby village.

We spent a week there in August 2012. It did rain a lot, however we did not allow rain to spoil our time there. We had a good time and good company. We were staying in one of the houses in the estate. 2 families each with 3 children. We made a good use of the fireplace.

The place is convenient if you have kids 'cause they can go around the garden w/o too much supervision. Of course they need to be careful 'cause there are farm animals (from dogs to goose and horses), but the kids loved the place. Once we equipped them with Wellingtons everything worked fine and the mud stayed out of the house (mostly).

Valentia Island is a nice location, basically "on" the "ring of Kerry" and you can take day-trips to several locations.

The only negative note was that we had several problem with the house appliances (stove, oven etc.) which were old and a leakage in one of the bathroom that requested the intervention of a plumber.

A note of caution goes with the fact that if you stay at one of the cottage like we did, you've to plan in advance what you gonna need, 'cause the nearest store is off the island. There is actually a very small one by the port/ferry, however they only have very basic stuff.

All other things equal, it's a place I would recommend especially to families (also large one) who wants to spend time together in a nice place w/o too many frills.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cisv-spiritXXcentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Subtropical Garden of healing & peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

While on our West Coast of Ireland trip we discovered a beautiful, lush & peaceful subtropical Garden on Valentia Island in Co. Kerry. My husband Bill & I walked the 5 km gardens & trail that the current German owner has been bringing back. In the process she has researched & discovered that At one time the house & property was owned by the Knights of Kerry. The house at that time didn't have running water because there were enough servants to to carry the water from outside. During the time of the famine it was used as a refuge by those who were ill. She's found a healing well & healing energy slate. It is hidden treasure created in the 1830's with plants from all over the world. There is a "safe forest"; a fairy tree & bamboo forest so many varieties of wild flowers. It's natural beauty is perfect for an unhurried afternoon stroll alone; with family; friends or as a couple. Bring your walking shoes & a camera

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellewm303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“locked in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My Family from wales come to Ireland every year and this year they decided to do some sight seeing and after hearing so much about the ring of kerry they decided on that trip,, Beautiful scenery and they met some lovely people they decided to take a ferry trip to Valentia Island it is a beautiful place but unfortunately they ended up taking a wrong turn and ended up in the grounds of Glanleam House there they took a picture of the beautiful lake and got back in their car suddenly a woman appeared from no where and started shouting at them her Mother who is 81 was with them was very frightened the woman continued to shout despite them apologising so many times. Her husband drove away and the woman ran back in the house as they got to the gates they started closing she locked them in and wouldnt let them out for at least 15mins,, Frightening and not a pleasant experience,,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank seamus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens also viewed

Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 
Valentia Island, County Kerry
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to Glanleam House & Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing